Start reading Five Days in Summer on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Five Days in Summer
 
See larger image
 

Five Days in Summer [Kindle Edition]

Katia Lief
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: CDN$ 1.15 What's this?
Print List Price: CDN$ 10.99
Kindle Price: CDN$ 0.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 10.00 (91%)

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $0.99  
Paperback, Large Print CDN $11.23  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $9.89  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

In this tightly plotted debut thriller, seasoned FBI profiler John Geary teams up with young detective Amy Cardoza to track down a particularly clever killer. As the title suggests, the story takes place over five days, starting when Emily Parker, devoted wife and mother of three, disappears without a trace from a supermarket parking lot in Cape Cod. Precious hours are wasted as Emily's husband Will tries to convince the local police to waive the 24-hour waiting period for missing persons and start looking for his wife. But when John, now retired and writing a book on serial killers who were never caught, identifies a connection between Emily's kidnapper and a killer who resurfaces every seven years, the search shifts into high gear. Pepper wisely restrains from giving the killer his own voice and instead focuses on the frustration and anguish that Emily's family must cope with, as well as the entertaining dynamic between the veteran behavioralist John and his smart, gutsy partner, Amy. Although the final showdown smacks of an action-packed B-movie (with Will and his son David, both skilled in aikido, facing off against the killer), Pepper's finely drawn characterizations and taut, clean storytelling make this an enjoyable read.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Product Description

A serial killer is loose on Cape Cod. Retired FBI profiler John Geary has five days to stop him--before it's too late for a mother and her son.

USA TODAY AND INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

“Mesmerizing…Your heart will be pounding long after you’ve turned the final page.” --Lisa Gardner, New York Times Bestselling Author of Love You More

“Taut, clean storytelling.” –Publishers Weekly

“I put Five Days in Summer aside only once...to make sure my doors were locked.” --Barbara Parker, New York Times Bestselling Author of Suspicion of Betrayal

“A gripping, poignant portrait of an innocent family caught in a nightmare of evil.” –Anne Frazier, Author of Play Dead

“Five Days has it all—an attractive female detective, a crusty FBI profiler, and the scariest killer you’ll never want to meet.” --Leslie Glass, Author of Sleeper
“Strikes terror into a lazy summer day." --Donna Anders, Author of In All the Wrong Places

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 382 KB
  • Print Length: 297 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0983499071
  • Publisher: Blue Table Books (Nov. 17 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004Z205Y0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #57,792 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting thriller July 6 2004
Format:Mass Market Paperback
She went out to buy some groceries as a way of thanking her mother in law Sara for allowing her and her three children to stay in their Cape Cod home. While she was putting some groceries in the car and then slammed the trunk shut, someone stealthily moved behind her and slipped her something to cause her to lose consciousness. At first nobody is concerned but as the hours slip away Sara called the police and her son Will to let him know that Emily was missing.
Ordinarily, it would be treated as an ordinary missing person's case but retired FBI agent and expert profiler Dr. John Geary is working on a very similar case. Over the last two decades, on a certain date mothers have been kidnapped; five days later a son is abducted, a piece of a boy's body the only thing ever found. Dr. Geary thinks this same person kidnapped Emily because the date fits. The police wants the family to keep the boys close to them. Unfortunately one of them is kidnapped by someone they all trust and time is running out for Emily and her son.
New talent Kate Pepper provides thriller readers with an exciting tale that will leave fans wanting to read any future books she writes. The pacing is swift, the actions scenes leave the audience breathless and the suspense is at a high level. FIVE DAYS IN SUMMER is a very frightening book because the victims could be anyone, anywhere since the perpetrator chooses them at random. The killer is hiding in plain sight but no one would ever suspect him until the end.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner May 30 2005
By Moe
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Awesome book. Total surprise ending. For the last chapter of the book, I could not turn the pages fast enough to find out how this was going to turn out. I was engaged throughout and the author did a fabulous job of keeping you guessing. I cannot imagine this happening to me. I will read more of her books.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars  63 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Countdown Begins for the Righteous Jan. 15 2006
By dessert - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
A chilling and disturbing plot. The torture and mutilation of humans is vividly captured through the analytical thoughts of a retired behaviorial scientist, Dr Geary, who interprets his findings to the police whom he is helping in hunting down the perpetrator.

What sets this thriller apart from those in the genre is the sudden life and death claim on a typical American family set in the calm and solutide of Cape Cod. Here, time is suspended in space as vacationers take their hard earned break but is savagely turned into an hour sand glass with just 5 days to identify & track the perpetrator. Any normalcy is rudely cast aside for a typical American family thrown to live in a surreal world as the mother, Emily Parker, mysteriously disappears while out shopping at a supermarket.

Lots of red herrings planted so that the plot turns 180 degrees but cleverly steers readers back to think thru who we know so far could have done the hideous crime.
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Debut March 25 2007
By Thriller Lover - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
FIVE DAYS IN SUMMER is an enjoyable suspense story, in the tradition of Mary Higgins Clark and Wendy Corsi Staub. The story involves a young mother getting kidnapped by a deranged serial killer, and the group of people racing against time to find her.

Kate Pepper is a good writer and the quality of the prose in the story is quite high. My major problem with this book was with the pacing, which was surprisingly languid in the middle. I didn't feel too much suspense in this novel until the very end. Also, there are too many major characters in FIVE DAYS IN SUMMER -- the beleaguered husband, the retired FBI profiler, the young female detective, and several others. All of them were interesting, but I felt like I barely got to know any of them, given the short length of the novel and the rapid shifts in viewpoint.

Overall, though, FIVE DAYS IN SUMMER was a decent debut with several surprising plot twists. If you're looking for entertaining procedural that you can finish in a few sittings, this is a good choice.
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teriffic read! June 19 2005
By dandysmom - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This author is going to go far! Likeable characters, suspense...hard to put down. Can hardly wait for the next one from this talented new author. Read it!
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great. May 30 2012
By Tim Black - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the book for the most part. The story itself was good, suspenseful and had some nice twists and turns. My biggest problem with the book is I hate when the lead characters make the most idiotic decisions that you know any real parent would never make. If your wife has been kidnapped by a maniac and you know for a fact that he is coming after your children next, would you leave your kids at home with only their old grandma to watch them? Of course not. No one would be that stupid. There are a few other idiotic decisions made that just kind of ruined the book for me. I shouldn't say ruined because I did like it but it could've been a great book if the author developed more sophisticated ways for the killer to strike, rather than making it easy for him because the parents are morons. Again, I'm not trying to be too hard because despite these flaws it was a good read.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terror on the Beach Aug. 27 2004
By Peter Behrens - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Wait until your summer beach vacation is over to read Kate Pepper's debut novel. This is no Jaws; the horror and cringe-worthy torture scenes happen right in the harbor. Pepper does a brilliant job of investing the detective-suspense genre with a genuine sense of writerly compassion (for her characters) and respect (for her readers' intelligence). A must-read for all fans of Mary Higgins Clark, Sue Grafton, et al. I hear a new book is already in the pipeline. Can't wait!!!
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category