Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools
CDN$ 53.95 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 72.98
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Prestivo3
Add to Cart
CDN$ 72.98
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Gray Fox Canada
Add to Cart
CDN$ 97.85
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: KELINDO²
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

For the Left Hand 1 Import

Price: CDN$ 53.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
4 new from CDN$ 53.95 1 used from CDN$ 53.94

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 29 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Labor Records
  • ASIN: B00005YEQV
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Piano Concerto in D major (for the left hand)
2. Nocturne for piano in D flat major (for left hand alone), Op. 9/2
3. Études (6) for piano, left hand, Op. 135: Prélude: Allegretto moderato
4. Études (6) for piano, left hand, Op. 135: Alla Fuga: Allegro non troppo
5. Études (6) for piano, left hand, Op. 135: Moto Perpetuo: Allegretto - Doux et tranquille - sans vitesse et très également
6. Études (6) for piano, left hand, Op. 135: Bourrée: Molto allegro
7. Études (6) for piano, left hand, Op. 135: Élégie: Poco adagio
8. Études (6) for piano, left hand, Op. 135: Gigue: Presto
9. Studies (5) for piano, Anh. 1a/1: Chaconne

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
Pretty Lame Jan. 16 2005
By J Scott Morrison - Published on
João Carlos Martins has been an interesting pianist over the years. He recorded much Bach perhaps forty years ago (since reissued) and it was worth some attention although quite individualistic and a good bit out of the mainstream. This disc is newer and shows Martins's technique to have diminished considerably. There is, frankly, nothing here that hasn't been recorded better by others. Probably the best thing here is the familiar short Scriabin Nocturne, Op. 9, No. 2. The Saint-Saëns études, however, are awkwardly cautious. The Bach/Brahms Chaconne has some expressive depth but has been better done by such pianists as Leon Fleisher.

The Ravel D Major Concerto is simply a throw-away. Accompanied by Boris Spassov leading the Bulgarian National Symphony, this performance is really dreadful. The orchestra is bush-league and Martins's playing includes bunches of wrong notes.

Avoid this one.

Scott Morrison