Forgotten and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 14.43
  • List Price: CDN$ 19.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 5.56 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Forgotten Paperback – Apr 23 2012


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, Apr 23 2012
CDN$ 14.43
CDN$ 5.85 CDN$ 2.56

2014 Books Gift Guide
Thug Kitchen is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Frequently Bought Together

Forgotten + Arranged + Spin
Price For All Three: CDN$ 39.61

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 376 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd; 1st Edition edition (April 23 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 144340991X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1443409919
  • Product Dimensions: 14.6 x 2.5 x 21.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 458 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #189,623 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“Imagine if Bridget Jones fell into a million little pieces, flew over the cuckoo’s nest, and befriended Lindsay Lohan along the way....” (Leah McLaren, Globe and Mail columnist, author of The Continuity Girl)

“For fans of The Good Wife, Catherine McKenzie’s Forgotten is a pure page-turning pleasure that combines a clever premise, a compelling character, and law-meets-life to keep you entirely entranced. ” (Gwendolen Gross, author of The Orphan Sister)

“From her big city legal career to earthquake-battered Africa and back again, Emma’s whirlwind of location, circumstance and emotion involves many an unexpected twist. By turns hilarious and heart-tugging, we follow her on her most important journey-that of self-discovery. A thoroughly enjoyable read!” (Juliette Fay, author of Deep Down True)

“Forgotten is a clever, satisfying diversion of a book, but where McKenzie really excels is in the pacing....send[ing] the reader headlong through the pages to see if Emma gets to live happily ever after, near-death experience or not.” (Globe and Mail (Toronto) on Forgotten)

“An engrossing novel from start to finish, Forgotten explores what happens when starting over isn’t exactly up to you.” (SheKnows.com) --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

From the Back Cover

Emma Tupper is a dedicated lawyer with a bright future. But when she takes a month-long leave of absence to go on an African vacation, she ends up facing unexpected consequences. After she falls ill and spends six months trapped in a remote village thanks to a devastating earthquake, Emma returns home to discover that her friends, boyfriend, and colleagues thought she was dead—and that her life has moved on without her.

As she struggles to re-create her old life, throwing herself into solving a big case for a client and trying to reclaim her beloved apartment from the handsome photographer who assumed her lease, everyone around her thinks she should take the opportunity to change. But is she willing to sacrifice her job, her relationships, and everything else she worked so hard to build?

In Forgotten, Catherine McKenzie tweaks a classic tale of discovering who we really are when everything that brings meaning to our lives is lost.

--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Luanne Ollivier #1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on April 25 2012
Format: Paperback
Forgotten is the third book by author Catherine McKenzie. I've read the first two - Spin and Arranged, but I have to say, this latest book is my favourite. (so far!)

I always stop and look at a cover before reading and wonder - what does the picture have to say about the story? Where could this woman be going?

Well, Emma Tupper goes on more than one journey. When her mother dies, she leaves Emma a ticket for a journey she wished she could have taken herself - a month in Africa.

"Her death was a fractional thing. One moment she was still and pale, but alive. The next she was gone. It seemed like almost nothing had happened, but that almost nothing changed everything for me."

Emma is a lawyer and has been working towards partnership for many years. When her firm strongly discourages her taking a month long absence, she surprises herself by going anyway. The trip starts out well, but within a few days, Emma is seriously ill. The safari leader leaves her with volunteers in a remote village with a promise to send a doctor. But then an earthquake decimates the country. Emma recovers, but there is still no way for her to contact anyone from her remote village. Six months later, she is finally able to return, ready to step into her life again. But, that life is no more - the key to her apartment doesn't work, there's a strange man living there, she can't reach any of her friends by phone, someone else has her job...and more. When Emma googles herself, she discovers the truth - she's been declared dead.

McKenzie has concocted a great premise that just opens up so many avenues. As one supporting character advises Emma - to "treat what happened to me like an opportunity to change the things in my life I didn't like.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Lydia - Novel Escapes TOP 500 REVIEWER on July 17 2012
Format: Paperback
Forgottenis a novel about starting over amidst unusual circumstances and illustrates that the impetus for change can come in many ways regardless of whether you want it or are ready for it. Emma's life is altered forever when she returns home from what was supposed to be a three week trip to Africa - her mother's last wish before her untimely death - but due to a natural disaster, she unexpectedly ends up remaining for six months. Returning home, Emma discovers everything she had was gone - her apartment, all her belongings, her bank account, even her boyfriend has moved on. Labeled missing and presumed dead, Emma finds that nothing normal remains of her perfect and orderly life. Watching Emma fight and then ultimately accept and adapt to her unexpected circumstances leads to a unique, fast paced and absorbing read.

In typical McKenzie style, the premise of Forgotten is just as unique and original as the storylines of her previous two novels and is one I found incredibly intriguing. To suddenly show up after several months expecting your life to go on as usual when it's anything but because you've been declared to be missing and presumed dead was fascinating. How would I react if that was me? Would I expect everyone and everything to fall back into place, even if I wasn't aware -as Emma was - that this assumption had occurred? Who could I go stay with? How would I be received? What if I wasn't fortunate as I am to have friends and family that would take me in? What then? These were just a few questions inspired by reading Forgotten. It really made me think. And I like that.

McKenzie's main characters usually grow on me over the course of her novels as I initially seem to have a hard time warming up to them.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Louise Nielsen on May 20 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The story grabs you right from the start and holds your interest to the end. I found the writing style to be similar to the author's other book, Spin, which I also enjoyed.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Janice Darlington on Jan. 18 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed this book.The writing grabbed hold of my attention and the plot was interesting. I wanted to keep reading it. I am enjoying the younger , newer Canadian writers more than the old one.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By C. Hadad on Nov. 5 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed reading this book, interesting story-line. Will definitely look into more books by this author, especially as she is from Montreal, like me:)
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Buggy TOP 100 REVIEWER on Aug. 9 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Emma Tupper never imagined herself going to Africa that was always her mother's dream. All she's ever wanted was to be a lawyer and now through eighty hour work weeks to make partner at the firm. So when her mother falls ill and dies, leaving Emma a ticket to the (made up) country of Tswanaland, it might be grief forcing her decisions or an anguished sense of wanting to connect with her mother but Emma suddenly finds herself taking (an unheard of) month off work and boarding a flight to Africa.

Six months later... We join Emma on a dirt road attempting to get home; it seems her 30 day safari hasn't gone exactly according to plan. Falling ill early on the tour Emma was left in a remote village to recover only to get stranded by a massive earthquake. Completely cut off to the outside world and any form of communication, her ordeal has finally come to an end. Now she can just slip back into her old life, or can she?

These early chapters were my favourite parts of the book as we watch no nonsense Emma naively return home expecting to pick up where she left off. It quickly becomes apparent though that everything has changed. To start with someone forgot to tell her that she was missing -presumed dead.

The fact that no one meets her at the airport should have been her first clue something was wrong, then her bank cards won't work, her accounts frozen. When she discovers some (cute) guy living in her apartment everything falls apart. She's also been replaced at work (that biotch!) her boyfriend has found someone else (awfully fast don't ya think?) And her car and all her possessions have been disposed of. It seems that everyone has just moved on and that Emma has been "forgotten."

This was a great read I loved the original storyline.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Look for similar items by category


Feedback