The Fraternity of the Stone: An Espionage Thriller and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Fraternity of the Stone Hardcover – Large Print, Apr 1 1987


See all 22 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Large Print, Apr 1 1987
CDN$ 16.06

Join Amazon Student in Canada


--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 560 pages
  • Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books; Large Print edition edition (April 1987)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0708983979
  • ISBN-13: 978-0708983973
  • Product Dimensions: 22.9 x 15.2 x 3.8 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 794 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 23 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Konrei on Feb. 20 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
THE FRATERNITY OF THE STONE is quality writing, right up there along with all the earlier Morrell books, THE BROTHERHOOD OF THE ROSE and THE LEAGUE OF NIGHT AND FOG, with which it forms a loose trilogy.
In THE FRATERNITY, Drew MacLane, an antiterrorist agent, renounces his former vocation and becomes a Carthusian monk. After six years of hermitage and isolation he finds himself at the center of a complex plot, when all his monastic brethren are killed in a search and destroy mission focused upon him.
Drew leaves the monastery and reenters the mundane world in order to hunt the hunters. What results is a tautly written book with enough action and fascinating details on tradecraft to keep any reader fascinated.
The plot is not quite as engaging as THE LEAGUE, which had some truly O. Henry elements. However, it is a dynamic story which moves at a strong pace throughout. Particularly entertaining are Drew's reactions to the outside world after so many years as a recluse. Morrell is not only observing here; he is making social commentary.
Definitely worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Deanna Beckett on Jan. 5 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
David Morrell has not lost his touch. The story kept
your interest all the way through the book, suspense great,
and didn't know the end half way through as with most books
lately. Thank you David and keep them coming.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
the rose, the flame, the stone, the fog, these are four of the best creations that morrell has achieved. i've read all of morrell's books until his 'burnt sienna' and 'double image' totally crashed my expectation of his new production. yes, after his 'extreme denial', i have given up his new books, but never never denied his early genius levelled works, i have to remind myself and strongly suggest to others that sometimes if you picked a recent work of some famous writers that disappointed you a lot, maybe you have to go back at least 5 to 10 years to search out their earlier works. people getting old, writers too. like robert ludlum, stephen hunter, fredrick forsyth, morrell's best works were before his 'double image', every one and all of them were(i should use present tense, are) great gifts to human civilizaion. we should read them without any prejudice, without any religious craziness like a reader gave this book just one star and spitted on morrell's great work. that's not fair and not even worthwhile as a unbias open-minded reader.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
this book was written a few years back,its about the opus dei
the catholic intelligence org. its the best fiction book of its kind ever written.its a real thriller, that begins in a monastery and becomes a chase book like no other ever written.
the story ,the characters, the pace of the book is non stop.
morrell, has written a book that far out paces the da vinci code.both are about a secert org.that no one knows about.
in and out of the catholic church.but that where the secert ends.this book is so much better in every way than the da vinci
code, that you want be able to wait to tell your friends to buy
this one !! the fraternity of the stone.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
David Morrell is without question my favorite author, and it is books like this one that put him in the top spot. For readers of "The Brotherhood Of The Rose", this is the follow up. The lead character, Drew MacLane, is according to Morrell a "reinvention" of Chris from 'Brotherhood'. Drew has entered a monastery after a life as an assassin, but is tracked down after six years and is now on the run. Just like 'Brotherhood', this book is full of authentic spy craft as well as action on every page. A new copy isn't available through Amazon, but it is worth whatever you pay for a used copy because you'll get your money's worth and then some!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By A Customer on April 26 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Fast delivery, for the price I paid, its great, would use again
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
No matter what order you read his books in, each is complete in itself and explains history and the Catholic church in relation to the the current book. A priest finally explains the origin of the ring with the ruby, sword and crucifix and who wears it. Drew is living in a monastary to escape from those who would kill him. Everyone thinks he is dead for he has tied up all the loose ends and entered the hermit order to redeem his soul. But after six years his location is found out and he escapes only by a twist of fate. Now he must seek revenge on those who violated the Church. Contains a lot of violence, killing and has a lot of action but it is a good read.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
David Morrell does it again! This is a great story about a well trained assassin, Drew MacLane, who has had enough of the killing. Seeking to be forgiven of all of his sins, he withdraws from the world as he new it and lives the life of a hermit in a monastary. After six years, someone from his past who knows all about him will stop at nothing to see that he is terminated. Being pulled back into a life of lies, betrayl, and murder, Drew is forced to return to his old ways just to survive. The chase is on and the body count rises as Drew desperatly tries to find out who is behind this. Action packed and fast paced.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Product Images from Customers

Search


Feedback