The Fraternity of the Stone: An Espionage Thriller and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading The Fraternity of the Stone: An Espionage Thriller on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Fraternity of the Stone [Large Print] [Hardcover]

David Morrell
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $6.00  
Hardcover --  
Hardcover, Large Print, April 1987 --  
Paperback CDN $13.68  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $9.89  
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged CDN $18.87  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

April 1987 Charnwood Library
Drew MacLane was once an assassin. Then he withdrew from the world. For the past six years he has lived alone in his hermit's cell with no contact outside the monastery walls. But someone has tracked him down, at bloody cost. And now Drew must relearn his old killing instincts and go out to confront the deadly organisation that has destroyed his last hope of peace...
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

“[David] Morrell (best known for First Blood) returns to his favorite revenge theme in [this] thriller, which focuses on a hit man who renounces violence only to be flushed out of his monastic retreat back to the counterterrorist circuit.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Those who appreciate a good spy novel are going to have to clear more space on the shelf. David Morrell’s Fraternity of the Stone . . . establishes Morrell as a force to be reckoned with. . . . The plot works marvelously and should not be missed by anyone who enjoys a good spy thriller.”—Sunday News (Ridgewood, N.J.) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

From the Inside Flap

The Bookcassette® format is a special recording technique developed as a means of condensing the full, unabridged audio text of a book to record it on fewer tapes. In order to listen to these tapes, you will need a cassette player with balance control to adjust left/right speaker output. Special adaptors to allow these tapes to be played on any cassette player are available through the publisher or some US retail electronics stores. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Heart of Stone Feb. 20 2004
By Konrei
Format:Mass Market Paperback
THE FRATERNITY OF THE STONE is quality writing, right up there along with all the earlier Morrell books, THE BROTHERHOOD OF THE ROSE and THE LEAGUE OF NIGHT AND FOG, with which it forms a loose trilogy.
In THE FRATERNITY, Drew MacLane, an antiterrorist agent, renounces his former vocation and becomes a Carthusian monk. After six years of hermitage and isolation he finds himself at the center of a complex plot, when all his monastic brethren are killed in a search and destroy mission focused upon him.
Drew leaves the monastery and reenters the mundane world in order to hunt the hunters. What results is a tautly written book with enough action and fascinating details on tradecraft to keep any reader fascinated.
The plot is not quite as engaging as THE LEAGUE, which had some truly O. Henry elements. However, it is a dynamic story which moves at a strong pace throughout. Particularly entertaining are Drew's reactions to the outside world after so many years as a recluse. Morrell is not only observing here; he is making social commentary.
Definitely worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic Jan. 5 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
David Morrell has not lost his touch. The story kept
your interest all the way through the book, suspense great,
and didn't know the end half way through as with most books
lately. Thank you David and keep them coming.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best works ever created by morrell Jan. 4 2004
Format:Mass Market Paperback
the rose, the flame, the stone, the fog, these are four of the best creations that morrell has achieved. i've read all of morrell's books until his 'burnt sienna' and 'double image' totally crashed my expectation of his new production. yes, after his 'extreme denial', i have given up his new books, but never never denied his early genius levelled works, i have to remind myself and strongly suggest to others that sometimes if you picked a recent work of some famous writers that disappointed you a lot, maybe you have to go back at least 5 to 10 years to search out their earlier works. people getting old, writers too. like robert ludlum, stephen hunter, fredrick forsyth, morrell's best works were before his 'double image', every one and all of them were(i should use present tense, are) great gifts to human civilizaion. we should read them without any prejudice, without any religious craziness like a reader gave this book just one star and spitted on morrell's great work. that's not fair and not even worthwhile as a unbias open-minded reader.
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Mass Market Paperback
this book was written a few years back,its about the opus dei
the catholic intelligence org. its the best fiction book of its kind ever written.its a real thriller, that begins in a monastery and becomes a chase book like no other ever written.
the story ,the characters, the pace of the book is non stop.
morrell, has written a book that far out paces the da vinci code.both are about a secert org.that no one knows about.
in and out of the catholic church.but that where the secert ends.this book is so much better in every way than the da vinci
code, that you want be able to wait to tell your friends to buy
this one !! the fraternity of the stone.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Two words...classic Morrell June 8 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
David Morrell is without question my favorite author, and it is books like this one that put him in the top spot. For readers of "The Brotherhood Of The Rose", this is the follow up. The lead character, Drew MacLane, is according to Morrell a "reinvention" of Chris from 'Brotherhood'. Drew has entered a monastery after a life as an assassin, but is tracked down after six years and is now on the run. Just like 'Brotherhood', this book is full of authentic spy craft as well as action on every page. A new copy isn't available through Amazon, but it is worth whatever you pay for a used copy because you'll get your money's worth and then some!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Fraternity of the stone April 26 2002
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Fast delivery, for the price I paid, its great, would use again
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars MORRELL GETS BETTER AND BETTER Feb. 20 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
No matter what order you read his books in, each is complete in itself and explains history and the Catholic church in relation to the the current book. A priest finally explains the origin of the ring with the ruby, sword and crucifix and who wears it. Drew is living in a monastary to escape from those who would kill him. Everyone thinks he is dead for he has tied up all the loose ends and entered the hermit order to redeem his soul. But after six years his location is found out and he escapes only by a twist of fate. Now he must seek revenge on those who violated the Church. Contains a lot of violence, killing and has a lot of action but it is a good read.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thrill ride from beginning to end Aug. 15 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
David Morrell does it again! This is a great story about a well trained assassin, Drew MacLane, who has had enough of the killing. Seeking to be forgiven of all of his sins, he withdraws from the world as he new it and lives the life of a hermit in a monastary. After six years, someone from his past who knows all about him will stop at nothing to see that he is terminated. Being pulled back into a life of lies, betrayl, and murder, Drew is forced to return to his old ways just to survive. The chase is on and the body count rises as Drew desperatly tries to find out who is behind this. Action packed and fast paced.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback