Der Freischütz Overture; ... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Der Freischütz Overture; Symph

Price: CDN$ 21.17 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 16.72 2 used from CDN$ 25.38

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Performer: Carlo Maria Giulini
  • Composer: Weber; Schubert; Britten
  • Audio CD (Aug. 19 2011)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Bbcl
  • ASIN: B0001IN0PI
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #297,227 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Adagio - Molto Vivace
2. I Andante - Allegro Ma Non Troppo
3. II Andante Con Moto
4. III Scherzo. Allegro Vivace
5. IV Finale. Allegro Vivace
6. The Building Of The House - Overture, Op.79
7. Carlo Maria Giulini In Conversation With Alan Haydock

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa366abb8) out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3bfacfc) out of 5 stars Another fine live tribute to Giulini Feb. 28 2007
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
BBC Legends released this live CD for Giulini's 90th birthday, and the musicmaking on it is typically heartfelt, warm, and genuine. The dates range from 1968 to 1975 but only the latest recording, the Schubert Ninth, is in stereo. Luckily, the two mono recordings are clear and listenable. The opening Der Freischutz Over. is gentler and less dynamic than most; even so, it is natural and flowing.

Then follows the main work, the Schubert C major with the London Phil. (the rest is with the New Philharmonia). Giulini's way wth the music is modern only to the degree that he adopts a fast empo for the opening Andante. After that the Allegro section is broad and flowing. He doesn't emphasize dramatic contrasts, sharp accents, or haromic struggle. His is a romantic, old-fashioned view, but Giulini carries it off beautifully. You feel his sincerity in every bar, and even though the performance doesn't add up to greatness, it's very fine. The BBC's stereo sound is as good as many studio recordings of the day.

Giulini felt a greater affinity for Britten's music than any other foreign conductor, and he adds to a heartfelt War Requiem, also on BBC, this Building of the House Over. It was written, as I remember, for the Maltings at Snapes concert hall that was the center of the Aldebrugh Festival, which Britten presided over. The opening is a moto perpetuo reminiscent of Vaughan Williams's The Wasps, but with a hymn-like choral part and updated, ambiguously tonal harmony--a very engaging work that Giulini performs tenderly.