Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Frida Music From The Motion [Enhanced, Soundtrack]

Elliot Goldenthal Audio CD
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (36 customer reviews)
Price: CDN$ 16.59 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, July 31? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

1. Benediction and Dream
2. The Floating Bed
3. El Conejo
4. Paloma Negra
5. Self-Portrait with Hair Down
6. Alcoba Azul
7. Carabina 30/30
8. Solo Tu
9. El Gusto
10. The Journey
11. El Antifaz
12. The Suicide of Dorothy Hale
13. La Cavalera
14. La Bruja
15. Portrait of Lude
16. La Llorona
17. Estrella Oscura
18. Still Life
19. Viva La Vida
20. The Departure
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Description


She was famous as both artist and model, infamous as political revolutionary and social libertine, and Frida Kahlo's controversial life couldn't help but seem the stuff of great musical theater. Her story is brought to the screen by director Julie Taymor, whose musical compatriot here is also her husband; Elliot Goldenthal, student of both Copland and Corigliani, shrewdly sublimates his modernism in service of the rich, evocative music and songs of Mexico and Central America. Utilizing performers that range from the contemporary (Lila Downs) to the folk-classic (Costa Rican legend Chavela Vargas; Brazilian star Caetano Veloso) and traditional (Los Cojolites, El Poder Del Norte, Trio Huasteca, Caimanes de Tanquin, and others), Goldenthal generously displays the true breadth of Mexican folk music, while seamlessly infusing it with the minimalist corners of his own underscore and some winning songwriting of his own. The result is one of 2002's most compelling soundtracks. The enhanced CD features include musical film excerpts, as well as a video conversation between Goldenthal and star Salma Hayek and text interviews with the composer and director Taymor. --Jerry McCulley

Product Description

1 x CD Album, Enhanced
Europe 2002

1 - Benediction And Dream (2:31)
2 - The Floating Bed (1:29)
3 - El Conejo (2:29)
4 - Paloma Negra (3:17)
5 - Self-Portrait With Hair Down (1:09)
6 - Alcoba Azul (1:36)
7 - Carabina 30/30 (2:43)
8 - Solo Tu (1:22)
9 - El Gusto (2:18)
10 - The Journey (2:56)
11 - El Antifaz (2:28)
12 - The Suicide Of Dorothy Hale (0:48)
13 - La Calavera (1:40)
14 - La Bruja (1:57)
15 - Portrait Of Lupe (2:13)
16 - La Llorona (2:22)
17 - Estrella Oscura (1:48)
18 - Still Life (1:31)
19 - Viva La Vida (2:16)
20 - The Departure (2:13)
21 - Coyoacan And Variations (2:34)
22 - La Llorona (2:20)
23 - Burning Bed (1:08)
24 - Burn It Blue (5:28)

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars July 10 2014
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Just great.
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars Frida Music April 17 2014
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
It wasn't what I was looking for in guitar music - I ordered hoping it was, others may just like it
and enjoy listening.....the movie itself I saw ages ago was o.k. and a story line of Frida and her life
and loves.....But the music, wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars hmm, not what you'd expect... Feb. 23 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
Of course Goldenthal would win accolades for a film score which is pretty atypical for his body of work. Gone are the driving basses, the thunderous percusions, the Strussian strings. They're replaced with latin flavors and some great songs which, while wonderful, are not what a true fan of Goldenthal's work would expect. Perhaps he got the Oscar for his work the previous year for FINAL FANTASY, a much better work and vastly more representative of Goldenthal's style.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Jan. 4 2004
Format:Audio CD
This is a great soundtrack. The tracks are dynamic and energetic, perfect for any day (or night). Would highly recomend for any lover of latin music. Very beautiful.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars would stand out even without the film Oct. 18 2003
By Ulven
Format:Audio CD
Soundtracks are usually mood music, and would not stand out without attachment to images of their film.This music would stand out anyway.The compositions are impressive enough to be traditional mexican favourites(of the yurning kind), which is why it is hard to believe that a relatively young/modern-world or 'non-mexican village old man' person wrote them.
The instruments are crystal clear (some are actually made of glass)and combine well together.Modern ones fit emotionally satifyingly with the old ones.No culture is lost in the process.The singers are excellent at crying whilst still hitting the notes. As sadness and tragedy is its motif, this cd is "emotionally very heavy".
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars WOOOWWWWW BUY IT!!!!! Sept. 11 2003
Format:Audio CD
The entire CD is amazing. So passionate, it pains. The very last track, Burning Bed, sung by Caetano Veloso and Lila Downs is just so beautiful and what a way to end an album! This is a LIFE CD! BUY IT! Although I bought mine thru my CD club, BMG, it was cheaper, at $5 no s/h. Try [...]
The enhancements on the CD were great too. It showed the tango scene as well as Salma in the recording studio.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A life of it's own Sept. 10 2003
Format:Audio CD
While this award winning score exists on one level in a symbiotic relationship with the film (also HIGHLY recommended), this album stands on it's own beautifully. In fact, it was the album that brought me to the movie! And while much of the music is very evocative of its subject, it also has an arc of its own. I find it difficult to skip songs while listening, although I am still (after many months) mesmerized by "Burn It Blue", sung by the incomparable Caetano Veloso (with Lila Downs). What makes this album magnificent for me is it's repetitive appeal, combined with it's ability to lead me to other places...next stop for me: the other film music of (the prodigious and brilliant) Elliot Goldenthal, and more Caetano Veloso! BUY this CD...you'll LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A Deserving Oscar Winner Aug. 16 2003
Format:Audio CD
Although I am a huge fan of Philip Glass' work, and I was very disappointed that his score for _The Hours_ did not win an Oscar, Eliot Goldenthal's score is a worthy competitor. Unlike many film scores, this one bears repeated listening. "Burn It Blue" in particular is a breathtakingly dramatic piece of work and the highlight of this score. If the rest of the score lived up to "Burn It Blue" then there would be no question in my mind that this score was the most deserving of the Oscar. Some of the weaker numbers, in contrast to the consistently strong work of the score for _The Hours_, make this a less compelling work. However, the members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences are notoriously conservative, and, in the final analysis, the score for _Frida_ is more accessible than that for _The Hours_. Given the difficulty of Glass' music, it is no surprise that the score for _Frida_ won the Oscar.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category