CDN$ 19.43 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Rarewaves-CA

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 19.42
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: moviemars-canada
Add to Cart
CDN$ 20.99
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: inandout_canada
Add to Cart
CDN$ 25.40
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: marvelio-ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Garrick Ohlsson Edition, Vol. 3 - Beethoven Piano Sonatas, Vol. 2 Import

Price: CDN$ 19.43
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Rarewaves-CA.
9 new from CDN$ 19.42 2 used from CDN$ 18.30

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 27 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: SRI Canada
  • ASIN: B000GDH8XI
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Piano Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 2, No. 2 - I. Allegro vivace
2. Piano Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 2, No. 2 - II. Largo appassionata
3. Piano Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 2, No. 2 - III. Scherzo: Allegretto
4. Piano Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 2, No. 2 - IV. Rondo: Grazioso
5. Piano Sonata No. 26 in E-flat Major, Op. 81A ("Lebewohl") - I. Das Lebewohl: Adagio - Allegro
6. Piano Sonata No. 26 in E-flat Major, Op. 81A ("Lebewohl") - II. Das Abwesenheit: Andante espressivo
7. Piano Sonata No. 26 in E-flat Major, Op. 81A ("Lebewohl") - III. Das Wiedersehen: Vivaccisimamente
8. Piano Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111 - I. Maestoso - Allegro con brio ed appassionato
9. Piano Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111 - II. Arietta: Adagio molto, semplice e cantabile

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9a1130f0) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99b86a2c) out of 5 stars Ohlsson plays Beethoven like Beethoven would like it played... Sept. 23 2010
By forwardintothepast - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Other reviewers, both on Amazon and elsewhere, describe GO's playing is such glowing terms that you have to shield your eyes from the fiery glow coming off the prose. GO can and does make great music, but this sort of hyperbole does not inform the potential purchaser/listener of any details as to what the CD sounds like, or any details about the actual playing. Here goes...
The recordings in this series are generally a bit dry sounding, close-miked, without much ambience. This took a little getting used to, as most modern piano recordings have a considerable sonic cushioning, usually from a large hall. GO's playing is very straight-forward, clear, clean and precise, which is certainly not to say that he is lacking in poetry or artistry in the Romantic sense. It is just that he takes a general approach that is very similar to Artur Rubenstein, in that his playing could be described as "healthy" as Daniel Barenboim says in the video Art of Piano, a worthwhile addition to any piano fans' video collection, available on Amazon, of course.
He makes the music present itself, which is such a great complement to the composers. Simple passages or difficult ones come and go with equal aplomb and dispatch. These three sonatas are described elsewhere, so I will not duplicate that information here.
Mr Ohlsson's repertoire is probably the largest since Rubenstein, and this vast knowledge and background can be heard in his treating these Beethoven pieces with both the respect they have earned, as well as the perspective that there is a lot of other music out there, which GO also knows and respects. The recording is worth having, but remember, it is just great music, not nectar from the gods, or new revelations from on high, just an artist doing what artists are supposed to do, that being to share their talents and experience with the world.
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a796f24) out of 5 stars Garrick Ohlsson is superb Aug. 18 2013
By Santa Barbara Jim - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Garrick Ohlsson does a superb job in his 9 volume series of Beethoven Sonatas. Volume 2 contains one of his earliest sonatas (No. 2) and his final sonata (No. 32). All his performances are 5-star, but I particularly enjoy his performance of No. 32.