Geek Mafia (PM Fiction) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Geek Mafia Paperback – Feb 15 2006


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, Feb 15 2006
CDN$ 31.56 CDN$ 0.38

Best Canadian Books of 2014
Margaret Atwood's stunning new collection of stories, Stone Mattress, is our #1 Canadian pick for 2014. See all

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Blue King Studios (Feb. 15 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0977264904
  • ISBN-13: 978-0977264902
  • Product Dimensions: 21.6 x 17.8 x 2.2 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 440 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,370,788 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"The story is gripping as anything, and the characters are likable and funny and charming. I adore caper stories, and this stands with the best of them, a geeky version of The Sting." —Cory Doctorow, co-editor, BoingBoing, best-selling sci-fi author.
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

About the Author

Rick Dakan lives, writes, and plays in Sarasota, Florida, his home and native town. Prior to writing the Geek Mafia book series, he scratched out a rewarding if poor living writing role-playing game books for numerous product lines, including: Wraith: The Oblivion, Kult, Conspiracy X, Deadlands, Vampire: The Masquerade, and Dungeons & Dragons.
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

By Shelly Werewolf on Feb. 18 2011
Format: Paperback
I grabbed a free edition of this book online (not pirated) and had a lot of fun reading it. If you're into computers, scams and all that stuff, this book will remind you of the time when you thought you could become a hacker and hack your way through life. It's definitely not great litterature, but it's still enjoyable. Expect a slightly more serious version of the movie Hacker in litterature.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 35 reviews
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Ladies Love Outlaws, Feelings Mutual Jan. 17 2006
By Austin McKinley - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Fresh from his experience as a co-creator of the online hit City of Heroes, author Rick Dakan takes his knowledge of the video game industry and California counterculture and twists it into an elaborate revenge fantasy fueled by gen-x con-men; Lovable con men and women in the tradition of The Sting and Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.

Peopled with tech-heads, hippies and comic-book artists, Dakan's Mis-en-Scene is a fascinating fringe full of pop-culture infused societal dropouts who scatter like subversive cockroaches when he shines the light on them. But even more fascinating is that the author seems ready to crawl into the walls with them. He doesn't just romanticize their renegade guerilla lifestyle. He practically enshrines it.

Unapologetically liberal, Dakan finds time to get his digs in on the other side, glossing over the fact that con-men are, by definition, more ruthlessly capitalistic than even Republicans. Whether putting his politico in the mouths of criminals advances his cause is questionable. Whether it advances his story I leave to the reader. But if you're squeamish about broad, acerbic partisanism, be forewarned.

That aside, Dakan proves he can spin a thriller with the best of them, winning us over to his side, at least for the duration of the book. He doesn't shy away from the danger, ruthlessness, and often pettiness of his beloved cut-throat anarchy, and the series of capers, chases, fights and betrayals that ensue are hard-boiled enough to entertain any reader, regardless of their political stripe. And while they would perhaps be unlikable if brought to life, on paper Dakan's characters are charming enough to make an admirable addition to any collection of fictional friends. The sentiments may sometimes be divisive, but the storytelling never is, suggesting that nothing unites Americans like a good fiction.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Revenge of the Geeks!! Jan. 17 2006
By Joseph Jacco - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
"Geek Mafia" is one of the finest first novels I have ever read, and I have read a lot of them. You just gotta love a story where the geek gets the girl (maybe) and has more off-the-grid adventures that the rest of us chair-dwellers can only imagine in our wildest fantasies!!

Rick Dakan does a masterful job of drawing the reader into a madcap series of situations that just could possibly happen. His grasp of the gaming and comic book industries lend credence to the plot line and make the ensuing adventures believable. The main characters Paul and Chloe (if that's her real name. . .) are fully developed throughout the story and are picaresquely sympathetic to the point of leading us normally law-abiding citizens to cheer aloud (I don't get out much. . .) as they lead their band of miscreants afoul of the law as they fleece those unsuspecting marks that desperately deserve it.

I found the storyline to be quite original and the ultimate unfolding of the plot, though not a total surprise, was well enough concealed to hold my interest throughout the book. The end of the book was satisfying while leaving room for further adventures of the Geek Mafia.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from Mr. Dakan as this one was a great read!!.
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Not Worth it. Jan. 6 2012
By Keith A. McBride - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
It always amazes me that there is such an vast gap between professional and amateur writing. There is a decent plot and story, here, but it would have benefitted a great deal from an editor and a few revisions. LESS is definitely more. The characters are inconsistent, and the dialogue between them is plain awful, cliched, unauthentic, uninteresting and at times, lacking any semblance of conflict. The protagonist is the weakest I have ever read, and instead of driving the story, gets dragged around by his johnson while his love interest ignores, patronizes and condescends to him. How can I get on board with a hero who is merely a puppy dog, seemingly incapable of making a decision for himself? The author prefers to let his characters vomit out unnecessary and trivial details of their behind-the-scene contributions to the plotlines in the story. We get it - you've thought every detail through. That doesn't mean we want to know every detail, because the unnecessary detail KILLS the story's flow. Likewise, just because you think your character might have an interesting back-story doesn't mean you need to spend an entire chapter explaining it in detail. There are better ways to develop your characters. What's worse, he uses the OLDEST cliche in the book: the villian who goes into unnecessary detail explaining their sinister plan to the heros. Give me a freakin' break, Scooby Doo. I think I'll skip the sequel.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Original and fun, but with a few hitches July 3 2006
By J. Richardson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
As the other reviewers have mentioned, this is a fun, breezy and original book. Dakan did a fine job of creating a believable subculture and some well-rounded characters. I'm glad I read it.

That being said, the poor editing in this book drove me a little bit nuts. On virtually every page there's something that needs to be corrected. If I had to read about someone "hitting the breaks" in their car one more time, I would have screamed. I'm a big supporter of small publishers, but this stuff is far too common among them. Are competent copy editors really that hard to find?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
A Fast-paced, fun read April 2 2006
By danielle. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
This is a great novel-a must read for geeks and non-geeks alike. Rick Dakan brings his colorful characters to life and keeps the reader guessing about what will happen next. Chloe especially provides a new picture of a heroine; she is strong willed, beautiful, fearless, and feminine all in one. This is an amazing story that will keep you hooked and wanting more. Bring on the sequel!

Look for similar items by category


Feedback