Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Fulfillment Express CA Add to Cart
CDN$ 33.24
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

George Carlin: Complaints And Grievances

George Carlin , Rocco Urbisci    NR (Not Rated)   DVD
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
Price: CDN$ 19.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Friday, October 31? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Frequently Bought Together

George Carlin: Complaints And Grievances + George Carlin: Jammin' in New York + George Carlin: You Are All Diseased
Price For All Three: CDN$ 59.97

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Product Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars gone too soon Aug. 18 2008
Format:DVD
If you love George Carlin you will love this show. The only fall back as a fan, it isn't long enough
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars Sept. 15 2014
Format:DVD
Love George Carlin
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars George Carlin DVD Dec 28 2011
Format:DVD
Very happy with not just the product I was able to find, but the time in which I received it and also the DVD is in great shape, as promised.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars  39 reviews
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Jan. 28 2005
By Joshua Miller - Published on Amazon.com
Format:DVD
I had just heard of George Carlin about a month ago and I read his book "Napalm & Silly Putty"

I couldn't stop laughing. So, I rented this and this is one of the funniest things i've ever seen in my entire life. I was laughing so hard, if I had low bladder control, I probably would've pissed my pants. George Carlin takes your everyday thing from fungal growth to little kids on answering machines and turns them into deliriously funny stuff. His one liners are great and his monolouges are just hysterical. If you like crude humor, YOU NEED TO SEE THIS DVD. A+.
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Carlin's new assault comedy Jan. 8 2006
By Jonathan S. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:DVD
In Carlin's previous album, "You Are All Diseased", he unveiled a new, more hostile persona and unleashed a barrage of agression. Unfortunately, that album occasionally used played-out premises, or attacked the audience rather than society. This follow up has all the energy and viciousness, with less bitterness and cliches. It, along with its just-released follow up "Life Is Worth Losing", are the best and edgiest assault comedy there is. If Carlin's cynical side appeals to you, make this your first purchase.
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Carlin is at it again! Feb. 25 2005
By James Simmons - Published on Amazon.com
Format:DVD
George Carlin does an awesome job with this live show from the Beacon Theatre in New York. I laughed so hard through the entire movie. It is hillarious and I have found myself renting this movie over and over again. I am currently looking to purchase this movie now. It is a gurantee to have you rolling on the floor laughing.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely hilarious Jan. 25 2006
By Dorit Stone - Published on Amazon.com
Format:DVD
I have notheard of George Carlin for a verylong time but seems to have been in the comedy business for a good while. First off for a man of his age he is hysterical and much more hilarious than any comedy central or young comedian out there. He is also very dirty which makes his comedy even funnier, and some of the best reasons is because it actually makes sense. His comedy is full of sarcasm and nitpicky complaints that all seem to make sense which makes it all the funnier. I have watched this video constantly over and over again and have just bought it. I also highly recommend jammin in New York, it is also hysterical.

The topics George talks about vary between Guys named todd and Kyle and Tucker, A large bit about things that we do and come off our body, a list of people who should be killed due to little annoyances and stupid that george dislikes.

HE also shortens the ten commandments into two.

Highly recommended for a great laugh.

If you enjoy comedy with sarcasm and satire and funny facial expressions and gestures George Carlin is the comedian for you
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terrorists Have Won, They Ruined George Carlin Jan. 13 2009
By Dr. Christopher Coleman - Published on Amazon.com
Format:DVD|Verified Purchase
Let me start by saying that I think Carlin was one of the funniest, cleverest people around, and one of the smartest comedy writers around, with an uncanny ear for rhythm; and furthermore I have agreed with his political, religious, and social stances as portrayed in his comedy.

But this was apparently Carlin's first HBO special after 9/11. Every comedian in the world was treading on thin ground at the time--the death of so many people in such a horrifying way made comedy very difficult--even comedy that had nothing to do with any issue related to the catastrophe.

And Carlin has ALWAYS done social/political stuff.

What was he to do?

He confronts the issue right away, saying that he has to 'get something out of the way so we can have fun', and then goes into a comedic bit about how he would deal with bin Laden and his ilk. Unfortunately he literally can't be clever about it--the audience didn't want to hear what Carlin wanted to say, and he knew it.

So he made fart jokes instead.

Admittedly, when he gets going on his rhythmic lists of 'not just any guys, but...', he is very funny...but...fart jokes? It's not worthy of Carlin. That's a joke for 5th graders.

And I felt that the rest of the show suffered the same problems, and had the same strengths. When Carlin gets fired up on his variations on a theme (the "and here's another guy who should be strangled at birth with his own umbilical cord..." sort of thing), he's both outrageous and hilarious. But he lost the audience several times--and at one point he drops a bit before he's finished, saying "I sense I've lost you."

I did not care for his 'why you shouldn't stop after you've hit someone with your car' bit, although it had some good moments; and the end of the show was very weak. Now, this audience loved Carlin, they came knowing him and they were fairly positive even on some of his weakest material--you could tell they wanted to laugh. But there were a surprisingly large number of times when they just didn't.

Having said that, I must also give Carlin credit for having been one of the most polished comedians around--he knew his material backwards and forwards and upside down on fire, and there was never a stammer on the rhythmic delivery of some very lengthy and complex material. Any comedian would do well to study this performance to see how that is done by the master--ever since his "Seven Words You Can't Say on Television" bit, this has been Carlin's great strength.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback