Gloria/Magnificat has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Gloria/Magnificat
  • Sorry, this item is not available in


Price: CDN$ 17.63 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Usually ships within 1 to 2 months.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
26 new from CDN$ 12.82 7 used from CDN$ 11.71

Product Details

1. Gloria In Exelsis
2. Et In Terra Pax
3. Laudamus Te
4. Gratias Agimus Tibi
5. Domine Deus
6. Domine Fili Unigenite
7. Domine Deus, Agnus Dei
8. Qui Tollis Peccata Mundi
9. Qui Sedes Ad Dexteram Patris
10. Qouniam Tu Solus Santus
11. Cum Sancto Spiritu
12. Magnificat
13. Et Exsultavit Spiritus Meus
14. Quia Respexit Humilitatem
15. Omnes Generationses
16. Quia Fecit Mihi Magna
17. Et Misericordia
18. Fecit Potentiam
19. Deposuit Potentes
20. Esurientes Implevit Bonis
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Fine authentic instruments crushed by Soloists Feb. 18 2006
By Teop Tnomrev - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
As with his recording of Dido, Pearlman's instruments may be authentic, but he instructs or allows his soloists to belt out their lines with all the tact of opera in the full throes of Wagner. For those who swoon at the sound of the full throttled, warbling operatic voice, this is the recording for you, otherwise, stay far, far away.

The voices entirely overpower any sense of ensemble -- which is to say, the "authentic instruments" are thoroughly dominated by the soloists.

Besides that, these performances really add nothing new. They are conventional in every sense of the word.
Tube recording. Don't spend your money and time on this CD Jan. 28 2011
By capezio - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
My interest on this CD grown as I listened to it's samples on Amazon and considered it's low price and nice classic repertoire.
Listening to it as soon as the CD arrived my expectations have changed and I don't recommend it.

Martin Pearlman have received some accolades for some of his readings and he has a good team of players.
For the Vivaldi he used a reduced choral group and a small ensemble with gut strings.
The Vivaldi reading is good but not the best around. I recommend you to get Vittorio Negri's readings with the John Aldis Choir. They are reference on Vivaldi choral music (on redbook CD) but with a great sound.

The Bach Magnificat is not good and the first track of the piece shows that the group isn't in the mood to praise God for the promise of the Redemptor incarnation. You should go to Gardiner with the Monteverdi Choir that, although a redbook CD, is far better technically and have a nice spacious sound.

The worse on this CD is the recording.
It's difficult to understand why Telarc mastered it as we are listening to the group through a great tube. There is no sound stage and the volume is very low, as we are listen to the players singing in a kind of a bathroom-acoustics.
I have some SACD, some other 300 CD and I'm comparing the sound played on a Magnepan 3.6R planar speaker.
I even didn't't listen to the complete CD and I'm just thinking on someone to give it to.

Don't spend your money on this, try the options listed, they are far better.
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Yeah, not so good. Aug. 15 2006
By DAK - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I'll give it some points for good recorded sound, but the performance really isn't what I was looking for. Some of the soloists aren't bad, but one at least (in the Bach exsultavit movement) sounds just amateurish. Not to mention a one oboe line where the player is essentially inaudible except for the dissonant note in the melody, making it sound like a really bad mistake. I'll stick with the Gardiner recording for now.