Glorious Nemesis and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Glorious Nemesis on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Glorious Nemesis [Hardcover]

Ladislav Klima , Pavel Rut , Marek Tomin


Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $9.10  
Hardcover --  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 123 pages
  • Publisher: Twisted Spoon Press (Nov. 1 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 8086264394
  • ISBN-13: 978-8086264394
  • Product Dimensions: 13.9 x 19.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 340 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #966,262 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Destiny Nov. 30 2012
By Anthony B. Cline - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I kept thinking of Hoffmann while I was reading Glorious Nemesis, because, like Hoffmann, here is a tale of constant overlap, recurring image, and an absolute sense of being untethered from the world. The Golden Pot is the closest comparison texturally, except that in Klima's work there is a different thematic overlay. His world is certainly tangled in the fantastic, but everything is given over to a much more sobering, pessimistic end. We understand that our protagonist can't affect any change; he's going to slip right in to the dirty bed he's made. That is fate. We like to see its sunlit side, in movies and novels where couples bump into one another in front of a coffee shop. Here is its other half, a full moon illuminating a man's life as he retraces the nightmarish residue of abuse. As he climbs after apparitions, loses them, and wanders aimlessly. As everything ebbs toward death and loss, toward the landscape he designed.

This novella is a revelation. Dark, fractured, and finally cosmic, it should find a special place in weird literature. It is also a perfect example of why we need publishers like Twisted Spoon, who are constantly unearthing little known gems. Fans of Hoffmann, Kleist, Perutz, and Leppin pay special attention.

Look for similar items by category


Feedback