Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Glorious Nemesis Hardcover – Nov 1 2011


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 19.20 CDN$ 33.51

Valentine's Day Gifts in Books

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Hardcover: 123 pages
  • Publisher: Twisted Spoon Press (Nov. 1 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 8086264394
  • ISBN-13: 978-8086264394
  • Product Dimensions: 13.5 x 1.2 x 19 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 340 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,210,652 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xb577ec54) out of 5 stars 1 review
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb6714950) out of 5 stars Terrible Destiny Nov. 30 2012
By Anthony B. Cline - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
I kept thinking of Hoffmann while I was reading Glorious Nemesis, because, like Hoffmann, here is a tale of constant overlap, recurring image, and an absolute sense of being untethered from the world. The Golden Pot is the closest comparison texturally, except that in Klima's work there is a different thematic overlay. His world is certainly tangled in the fantastic, but everything is given over to a much more sobering, pessimistic end. We understand that our protagonist can't affect any change; he's going to slip right in to the dirty bed he's made. That is fate. We like to see its sunlit side, in movies and novels where couples bump into one another in front of a coffee shop. Here is its other half, a full moon illuminating a man's life as he retraces the nightmarish residue of abuse. As he climbs after apparitions, loses them, and wanders aimlessly. As everything ebbs toward death and loss, toward the landscape he designed.

This novella is a revelation. Dark, fractured, and finally cosmic, it should find a special place in weird literature. It is also a perfect example of why we need publishers like Twisted Spoon, who are constantly unearthing little known gems. Fans of Hoffmann, Kleist, Perutz, and Leppin pay special attention.


Feedback