CDN$ 114.14 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by TDiff

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Gunter Wand Edition, Pt. 2 [Import]

Price: CDN$ 114.14
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by TDiff.
3 used from CDN$ 113.13
Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Format: Box set, Classical, Color, DVD-Video, Widescreen, NTSC, Import
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region 1 (US and Canada This DVD will probably NOT be viewable in other countries. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 4
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Tdk DVD Video
  • Release Date: March 21 2006
  • Run Time: 305 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • ASIN: B000EBEH22
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9b468df8) out of 5 stars 1 review
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c6feaf8) out of 5 stars Terrific Brahms and Schubert Aug. 10 2006
By Robert Warren - Published on
Verified Purchase
After reading the reviews of Part I, I decided to invest in Set 2; however, it was not apparent exactly what music was presented. This set presents Bruckner's Fourth Symphony, coupled with Beethoven's Leonore Overture #3 on the first disc (1990); Schubert's Eighth and Ninth Symphonies on disc two (1995); Schubert's Symphony #5 and Brahms First Symphony on disc three (1997); the last performance, on disc four, is Bruckner's Symphony #7 (1999). As with Set I, all performances feature the North German Radio Orchestra (Hamburg) during summer concerts at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival. All discs have the same director, Hugo Kach. Three locations figure in the set: the Domi (a cathedral) in Lubeck, the Music & Assembly Hall, Lubeck, and the Scloss in Kiel.

By far the best performance is the Brahms First. There are some minor imperfections in the Bruckner symphonies and in the Schubert 9th (Great C Major). The Schubert 8th is very well done.

The problem is with camera angles and shot selection. The earliest concert recorded, the Bruckner 4th, is by far the worst. An oft-repeated shot is from the rear of the cathedral with a great white column blocking 40% of the view, but the orchestra is seventy yards away, so one can't see anything anyway! In addition, there are a host of "overlay" (double-exposure) shots that I found irritating. However, each subsequent recording improves progressively. The final concert recording, the Bruckner 7th, is very well done. Woodwind soloists who weren't featured in the earlier camera shots now are caught on film.

If the Bruckner 4th had been directed like the Bruckner 7th, this review would reflect the audience at the conclusion of the Brahms 1st, a standing "O."