Halo (Halo Trilogy) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 9.92
  • List Price: CDN$ 10.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 1.07 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Halo Paperback – Aug 30 2011


See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 9.92
CDN$ 4.83 CDN$ 0.57

Best Books of 2014
Unruly Places is our #1 pick for 2014. See all

Frequently Bought Together

Halo + Hades + Heaven
Price For All Three: CDN$ 34.27


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Square Fish; Reprint edition (Aug. 30 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312674368
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312674366
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 3.6 x 21.1 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 476 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #194,556 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“[Adornetto’s] dialogue feels fresh and real, pulled from the mouths of her peers without any cultural markers necessary to prove relevance. . . . If it were not for young adult readers like her, the Y.A. boom never would have happened and publishing would be much gloomier.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“These angels are the optimistic, hope-filled cousins of the tormented fallen angels in other paranormal romances. . . . Xavier is gorgeous, honorable and so protective of Bethany that you’ll be crushing on him after the first chapter.”—Justine magazine
 
“The 17-year-old author’s angel mythology is solid . . . there never seem to be enough lengthy tomes to satisfy the legions of paranormal-romance fans, and this first title of a planned trilogy fits the bill.”—Booklist
 
“This is the first book of a trilogy. The next installment is Hades, due in the Fall of 2011. Look for it. Doubtless it will be another winner.”—New York Journal of Books
 
Halo was absolutely brilliant! I am in complete love with Halo! The characters are so complex and the plot is a rollercoaster you will not want to get off of. The writing is so intricate yet it is read with an ease that one can truly appreciate. Adornetto has raw talent and I can’t wait for the next novel in the series to come out!”—Moonlight Book Reviews
 
Halo is addictive, passionate and coarse with vibrancy. Alexandra Adornetto has drawn a beautiful start to what I can only imagine will be an epic trilogy.”—Book Crazy
 
“I was swept away when I was reading Halo. The setting is beautiful and the characters quickly captured my heart.”—YA Book Addict
 
“It’s one of those stories you want to live in . . . feel what they feel . . . all of that. It’s just a beautifully written story.”—The Ninja Librarian

Review

“Her [Adornetto’s] dialogue feels fresh and real, pulled from the mouths of her peers without any cultural markers necessary to prove relevance. . . . If it were not for young adult readers like her, the Y.A. boom never would have happened and publishing would be much gloomier.”The New York Times Book Review

“These angels are the optimistic, hope-filled cousins of the tormented fallen angels in other paranormal romances. . . . Xavier is gorgeous, honorable and so protective of Bethany that you’ll be crushing on him after the first chapter.” –Justine magazine

“A compelling novel of good and evil that will find an audience among girls who can’t get enough of otherworldly characters and situations and heart-wrenching romance.” –School Library Journal

“The 17-year-old author’s angel mythology is solid . . . there never seem to be enough lengthy tomes to satisfy the legions of paranormal-romance fans, and this first title of a planned trilogy fits the bill.” –Booklist

“This is the first book of a trilogy. The next installment is Hades, due in the Fall of 2011. Look for it. Doubtless it will be another winner.” –New York Journal of Books

"Halo was absolutely brilliant! I am in complete love with Halo! The characters are so complex and the plot is a rollercoaster you will not want to get off of. The writing is so intricate yet it is read with an ease that one can truly appreciate. Adornetto has raw talent and I can’t wait for the next novel in the series to come out!" —Moonlight Book Reviews

 
"Halo is addictive, passionate and coarse with vibrancy. Alexandra Adornetto has drawn a beautiful start to what I can only imagine will be an epic trilogy." —Book Crazy
 
"I was swept away when I was reading Halo. The setting is beautiful and the characters quickly captured my heart." —YA Book Addict
 
"It's one of those stories you want to live in... feel what they feel... all of that. It's just a beautifully written story." —The Ninja Librarian

Praise for Alexandra Adornetto:
“A wonderful novel of the old-fashioned style that will have youngsters asking for more.”—Reading Time review for The Shadow Thief
 
“Adornetto writes vividly…As well as being humorous, the writing is often sophisticated…original and sparkling.”—Viewpoint for The Shadow Thief

“…an exceptional debut novel, it hurtles along in leaps and bounds, and sparkles with originality. Alexandra Adornetto’s flare for the English language is fast-paced and refreshing, and her story tell recalls that of J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan.”—Invernell Times (Invernell, AU) for The Shadow Thief

“Fans of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events will delight in a new Australian series, The Strangest Adventures, the offers a similar blend of adventure, fantasy, and humor…an accomplished first novel made all the more remarkable considering it was written when Adornetto was thirteen.”—Magpies for The Shadow Thief

The Lampo Circus has great charm not because it has been written by such a young person but because it actually has great charm.”— Sunday Age (Melbourne, AU) for The Lampo Circus

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Avery Greaves TOP 1000 REVIEWER on Jan. 12 2011
Format: Hardcover
***Contains Spoilers***

I found that the character development in this book was great; we really get to intimately know each and every character... But I felt like things were way too overdramaticized (a la Romeo and Juliet). Take for instance this little snippet from the book:

"You know," Xavier said, "not speaking to you for a few days was the hardest thing I've ever done in my life."
"I know what you mean," I said softy. "I just wanted to die."
"Never think that Beth, I'm not worth that."
"I think you are," I said and he sighed.
"I can't say I don't know what you mean," he admitted. "It feels like the end of the world, doesn't it?"
"Like the end of all happiness"... (p.411)

I don't know if I am turning into an unemotional cat-lady-in-the-making, but a few years ago had I read this, I know that I would have been falling head over heels for this book and its characters (like I was with the "Twilight" series- or at least with the first three books, "Breaking Dawn" is terrible), but I just can't seem to connect with this sort of stuff nowadays. Maybe it is because I am growing up and just realizing that these are books and not real life, or if I have just read so much of this sort of dealio and because so, I am just becoming desensitized to it...

I just can't see how two people can fall in love with someone within a matter of days of knowing one another, one reveals something major to the other that should completely change the way the other views them (as in, "Oh, BTdubs, I am an angel sent by God to look after the earth"), and the other (and normal person) just looks at them and says something along the lines of "I love you so much, and nothing can, nor ever will change that ".
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Vanessa M. Dow on Jan. 24 2011
Format: Hardcover
This is such a pretty book. Sigh. It's really too bad that this book didn't live up to that promising cover.

My problem with this book is the main character, Bethany. The girl is a limp noodle. She spends all her time micro-analyzing and self-reflecting to the point where I'm not sure there was page time for anything to actually happen. And let me tell you, social analysis conducted by someone with no social experience gets boring quickly. Bethany does have an innocence that is mildly charming, but I just couldn't get over her constant navel-gazing.

I have to say I'm extremely impressed with Australian author Alexandra Adornetto for completing her published novel at the tender age of seventeen. Her writing style is strong and descriptive, which is why I kept reading for so long when I really felt no connection to the characters. I have no doubt that HALO will find a large appreciative audience. Just sadly not with me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Hardcover
This book is AMAZING! The characters are great, the storyline is amazing! Xavier, in the book, HE seems so real I actually started to have a crush on him. IF you like Fanasy romance you'll LOOVE LOVE LOOOOVE this book!! Great for any teen you likes Twilight... the only flaw :P BEST BOOK!!!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By amber on Oct. 17 2010
Format: Hardcover
it wasn't what i was expecting. It is a bit slow in the beginning but does tend to pick up through out the book..Its about finding love, resisting bad influences, and deciding for yourself is worth while to risk everything. I can't wait for the next book to come out
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Robert Simmons on May 21 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I got these books as a birthday gift for my wife. She has already started reading them, and if she likes them I am sure she will tell me that I must read them as well.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.


Feedback