Halo (Halo Trilogy) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Halo (Halo Trilogy) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Halo [Paperback]

Alexandra Adornetto
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 10.99
Price: CDN$ 9.89 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 1.10 (10%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, August 21? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $14.24  
Paperback CDN $9.89  
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged CDN $13.13  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Aug. 30 2011 Halo (Square Fish Quality) (Book 1)

Three angels are sent down to bring good to the world: Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, a teenage girl who is the least experienced of the trio. But she is the most human, and when she is romantically drawn to a mortal boy, the angels fear she will not be strong enough to save anyone—especially herself—from the Dark Forces.

Is love a great enough power against evil?


Frequently Bought Together

Halo + Hades + Heaven
Price For All Three: CDN$ 33.82

  • Hades CDN$ 9.50
  • Heaven CDN$ 14.43

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed


Product Details


Product Description

Review

“[Adornetto’s] dialogue feels fresh and real, pulled from the mouths of her peers without any cultural markers necessary to prove relevance. . . . If it were not for young adult readers like her, the Y.A. boom never would have happened and publishing would be much gloomier.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“These angels are the optimistic, hope-filled cousins of the tormented fallen angels in other paranormal romances. . . . Xavier is gorgeous, honorable and so protective of Bethany that you’ll be crushing on him after the first chapter.”—Justine magazine
 
“The 17-year-old author’s angel mythology is solid . . . there never seem to be enough lengthy tomes to satisfy the legions of paranormal-romance fans, and this first title of a planned trilogy fits the bill.”—Booklist
 
“This is the first book of a trilogy. The next installment is Hades, due in the Fall of 2011. Look for it. Doubtless it will be another winner.”—New York Journal of Books
 
Halo was absolutely brilliant! I am in complete love with Halo! The characters are so complex and the plot is a rollercoaster you will not want to get off of. The writing is so intricate yet it is read with an ease that one can truly appreciate. Adornetto has raw talent and I can’t wait for the next novel in the series to come out!”—Moonlight Book Reviews
 
Halo is addictive, passionate and coarse with vibrancy. Alexandra Adornetto has drawn a beautiful start to what I can only imagine will be an epic trilogy.”—Book Crazy
 
“I was swept away when I was reading Halo. The setting is beautiful and the characters quickly captured my heart.”—YA Book Addict
 
“It’s one of those stories you want to live in . . . feel what they feel . . . all of that. It’s just a beautifully written story.”—The Ninja Librarian

Review

“Her [Adornetto’s] dialogue feels fresh and real, pulled from the mouths of her peers without any cultural markers necessary to prove relevance. . . . If it were not for young adult readers like her, the Y.A. boom never would have happened and publishing would be much gloomier.”The New York Times Book Review

“These angels are the optimistic, hope-filled cousins of the tormented fallen angels in other paranormal romances. . . . Xavier is gorgeous, honorable and so protective of Bethany that you’ll be crushing on him after the first chapter.” –Justine magazine

“A compelling novel of good and evil that will find an audience among girls who can’t get enough of otherworldly characters and situations and heart-wrenching romance.” –School Library Journal

“The 17-year-old author’s angel mythology is solid . . . there never seem to be enough lengthy tomes to satisfy the legions of paranormal-romance fans, and this first title of a planned trilogy fits the bill.” –Booklist

“This is the first book of a trilogy. The next installment is Hades, due in the Fall of 2011. Look for it. Doubtless it will be another winner.” –New York Journal of Books

"Halo was absolutely brilliant! I am in complete love with Halo! The characters are so complex and the plot is a rollercoaster you will not want to get off of. The writing is so intricate yet it is read with an ease that one can truly appreciate. Adornetto has raw talent and I can’t wait for the next novel in the series to come out!" —Moonlight Book Reviews

 
"Halo is addictive, passionate and coarse with vibrancy. Alexandra Adornetto has drawn a beautiful start to what I can only imagine will be an epic trilogy." —Book Crazy
 
"I was swept away when I was reading Halo. The setting is beautiful and the characters quickly captured my heart." —YA Book Addict
 
"It's one of those stories you want to live in... feel what they feel... all of that. It's just a beautifully written story." —The Ninja Librarian

Praise for Alexandra Adornetto:
“A wonderful novel of the old-fashioned style that will have youngsters asking for more.”—Reading Time review for The Shadow Thief
 
“Adornetto writes vividly…As well as being humorous, the writing is often sophisticated…original and sparkling.”—Viewpoint for The Shadow Thief

“…an exceptional debut novel, it hurtles along in leaps and bounds, and sparkles with originality. Alexandra Adornetto’s flare for the English language is fast-paced and refreshing, and her story tell recalls that of J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan.”—Invernell Times (Invernell, AU) for The Shadow Thief

“Fans of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events will delight in a new Australian series, The Strangest Adventures, the offers a similar blend of adventure, fantasy, and humor…an accomplished first novel made all the more remarkable considering it was written when Adornetto was thirteen.”—Magpies for The Shadow Thief

The Lampo Circus has great charm not because it has been written by such a young person but because it actually has great charm.”— Sunday Age (Melbourne, AU) for The Lampo Circus

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way too childish... Jan. 12 2011
By Avery Greaves TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
***Contains Spoilers***

I found that the character development in this book was great; we really get to intimately know each and every character... But I felt like things were way too overdramaticized (a la Romeo and Juliet). Take for instance this little snippet from the book:

"You know," Xavier said, "not speaking to you for a few days was the hardest thing I've ever done in my life."
"I know what you mean," I said softy. "I just wanted to die."
"Never think that Beth, I'm not worth that."
"I think you are," I said and he sighed.
"I can't say I don't know what you mean," he admitted. "It feels like the end of the world, doesn't it?"
"Like the end of all happiness"... (p.411)

I don't know if I am turning into an unemotional cat-lady-in-the-making, but a few years ago had I read this, I know that I would have been falling head over heels for this book and its characters (like I was with the "Twilight" series- or at least with the first three books, "Breaking Dawn" is terrible), but I just can't seem to connect with this sort of stuff nowadays. Maybe it is because I am growing up and just realizing that these are books and not real life, or if I have just read so much of this sort of dealio and because so, I am just becoming desensitized to it...

I just can't see how two people can fall in love with someone within a matter of days of knowing one another, one reveals something major to the other that should completely change the way the other views them (as in, "Oh, BTdubs, I am an angel sent by God to look after the earth"), and the other (and normal person) just looks at them and says something along the lines of "I love you so much, and nothing can, nor ever will change that ".
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift May 21 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I got these books as a birthday gift for my wife. She has already started reading them, and if she likes them I am sure she will tell me that I must read them as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Just 1 word...Awesome!!! May 5 2013
By Neveda
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This book seemed interesting and really good. I love how the characters were written and their whole background. This book earned 5 stars. I was surprised that the author of "Halo" was a 18 year old!!! just very surprising. Awesome...just Awesome!
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than i thought it was going to be Oct. 17 2010
By amber
Format:Hardcover
it wasn't what i was expecting. It is a bit slow in the beginning but does tend to pick up through out the book..Its about finding love, resisting bad influences, and deciding for yourself is worth while to risk everything. I can't wait for the next book to come out
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Twilight-esque, but with Angels Nov. 6 2011
Format:Paperback
First impressions and thoughts while reading:

For the most part, I enjoyed Halo. I quickly became enamored with this book and wanted to continue reading and see what would happen. There were scenes I felt could have delved deeper to better lend themselves to character development and/or world building. At times I felt let down as a result of the limited accounts of what little world building this book contained.

There is backstory, and the protagonist does answer questions most readers would have; however, I simply craved more detailed explanations when these scenes took place, not necessarily concrete answers, but further dialog, or self-reflection, to generate more intrigue and more effectively peak my interest.

Post-read reflection:

There were flaws, mainly with respect to the protagonists' character growth and naivety. There were times I felt I had to suspend my disbelief in order to continue reading. It's never good when the reader figures everything out long before the protagonist even begins to get a clue. I rarely put the pieces of the puzzle together on my own, with this book, it was a piece of cake.

In addition, a couple of the secondary characters could have been further developed. Effective utilization of the secondary characters, as well as the antagonist, could have elevated this novel to the next level; the opportunity was there, but unfortunately, not capitalized.

All in all, Halo reminds me of Twilight (which I enjoyed). PG Romance, longing, and detailed descriptions of feelings of all consuming love.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback