Handel: Messiah has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 8-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Handel: Messiah
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Handel: Messiah Original recording remastered

Price: CDN$ 24.50 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 17.28 8 used from CDN$ 17.26

Product Details

Disc: 1
1. No. 1 Sinfonia (Overture)
2. No. 2 Recitative (Tenor): Comfort Ye My People
3. No. 3 Air (Tenor): Every Valley Shall Be Exhalted
4. No. 4 Chorus: And The Glory Of The Lord
5. No. 5 Recitative (Bass): Thus Saith The Lord
6. No. 6 Air (Alto): But Who May Abide The Day Of His Coming?
7. No. 7 Chorus: And He Shall Purify
8. No. 8 Recitative (Alto): Behold, A Virgin Shall Conceive
9. No. 9 Air (Alto) And Chorus: O Thou That Tellest GoodTidings To Zion
10. No. 10 Recitative (Bass): For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover The Earth
See all 23 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. No. 24 Chorus: Surely He Hath Borne Our Griefs
2. No. 25 Chorus: And With His Stripes We Are Healed
3. No. 26 Chorus: All We Like Sheep Have Gone Astray
4. No. 27 Recitative (Tenor): All They That See Him Laugh Him To Scorn
5. No. 28 Chorus: He Trusted In God
6. No. 29 Recitative (Tenor): Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart
7. No. 30 Air (Tenor): Behold, And See If There Be Any Sorrow
8. No. 31 Recitative (Soprano): He Was Cut Off Out Of The Land Of The Living
9. No. 32 Air (Soprano): But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul In Hell
10. No. 33 Chorus: Lift Up Your Heads, O Ye Gates
See all 30 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 24 reviews
49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
Finally!!! Oct. 22 2004
By Neaklaus - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Finally RCA has released on Compact Disc Robert Shaw's first

recording of Handel's Oratorio Messiah. This is a classic

performance of this work. It stands head and shoulders above

both of the Sony (Columbia Masterworks)(Ormandy and Bernstein)

recordings from the same decade. It has something a number of

other Messiah recordings lack heart and soul and feeling, the

performers aren't just singing this work, they are participating

in it.
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
Finally on Compact Disc! Nov. 29 2004
By Paul Bunkerr - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
This was the first recording of Messiah I ever purchased, back in 1966. This Shaw performance was a big deal back then, as it represented the first real "period" performance practice version with its scaled down instrumental and choral forces - compared to the overblown Ormandy version, for example. The original vinyl discs imparted a muted dynamic range as I recall, so this splendid digitally-remastered release is truly stunning compared to the original. Of particular note is the gorgeous vocal work of soporano Judith Raskin, one of the most beautiful voices to appear on any recording of Messiah, and contralto Florence Kopleff whose vocal agility and sheen are something to behold. This is one of the best modern instrument Messiahs available today.
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
Hallelujah! March 8 2005
By G P Padillo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
As a kid I begged and begged my parents for this recording (and what a weird kid I was). I wish they'd retained the original art work, but this was Messiah as I'd always dreamt it should be. Interestingly, this was the first time a recording attempted to duplicate what is (was) believed to be something resembling the original performances of Handel's masterpiece. The results were jarring and startling to those who'd known the piece as the massive work it had become.

Since then of course historically informed performances (HIP) have become almost commonplace and it seems like every year new recordings and versions of Messiah make their way into the market. With this in mind, it is fascinating to hear Shaw's tempi - considered by many at the time to be too fast.

The solo quartet is wonderful. Judith Raskine's clean, shimmering soprano delights and Florence Koploff is nothing but thrilling in "But who may abide the day of his coming" - her voice depicting a refiner's fire as no man had up til this point.

Shaw's tempi and phrasing are remarkable throughout and the recording remains something of a revelation.

To its finally being released on CD all I can say is Hallelujah!

This remains a remarkable performance and for it
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
HALLELUJAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Nov. 18 2004
By Irvin H. Murrell, Jr. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I SAW the Shaw Chorale perform this, 4/7/66, at Winthrop College, Rock Hill, SC. (They received a 15-minute standing ovation at the end.) This is the best Messiah recording to date,and will continue to be for many years to come.
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
One of the most moving experiences Oct. 7 2006
By Likes regular stuff - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I remember listening to this recording as a child, from my father's collection in the 1960s. The LP set has been long lost, and I've spent 40 or so years looking for a satisfactory recording of the Messiah, to no avail. The only thing I remembered about this one was Shaw, and to my surprise I discovered it recently while searching on Amazon. This recording is a revelation and a beauty to behold. There is a purity and cleanliness, combined with fervor and urgency, that makes it a rare experience. The spare instrumentation is unforgiving, and intonation among the strings is sometimes wobbly, but this is a relief after the digitalized (fake) perfection of more modern recordings. The heaviness and miscasting of famous opera singers in the solo parts of other recordings of the Messiah have been unfortunate. In the Shaw recording, the orchestra and chorus are "right-sized" to the music and text. Most of all, the soloists live up to the music and the text. The contralto Florence Kopleff is especially moving, with minimal mannerisms and perfect diction; her performance here must be among the best in the classical repertoire, which makes it strange that she has left so few recordings. Listen to her "He was despised...." Soprano Judith Raskin's singing has an urgency and a wonder about it. Thomas Paul (bass) is equally moving in the substantial solos, as is Richard Lewis (tenor). With this recording of the Messiah, I feel like I've returned home.