Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden
Harmonious Blacksmith; Va... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Harmonious Blacksmith; Variati

Price: CDN$ 27.45 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
14 new from CDN$ 12.30 3 used from CDN$ 6.87

Product Details

  • Performer: Shura Cherkassky
  • Composer: Handel; Brahms; Berg; Prokofie
  • Audio CD (Aug. 19 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Bbcl
  • ASIN: B000PY4Y6W
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #166,071 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Air And Variations ('The Harmonious Blacksmith') From Suite No.5, HWV430
2. Aria - Variations I-IV
3. Variations V-VI
4. Variations VII-VIII
5. Variations IX-XII
6. Variations XIII-XVIII
7. Variations XIX-XXI
8. Variations XXII-XXVIII
9. Fugue
10. Piano Sonata, Op.1
11. Thema. Allegretto Scherzando - Var.I-XV
12. Allegro Marcato
13. I Allegro Maestoso
14. II Scherzo. Molto Vivace
15. III Largo
16. IV Finale. Presto Non Tanto

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
A Magnificent Disc Oct. 10 2007
By David A. Wend - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Another great recording from BBC Music of piano music played by Shura Cherkassky. These are studio recordings and were not made in recital but the pieces selected represent a typical Cherkassky program. The CD started with Handel's "Harmonious Blacksmith" played with elegance, and staying with things Handelian the next piece is Brahms Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel, op. 24. The Brahms is magnificently played giving attention to the nuance and detail of each variation and the concluding fugue is masterful. In a typical about-face, the next piece is the Berg Piano Sonata; Shura Cherkassky plays the piece nicely conveying the brooding intensity of the music. The 15 Little Variations by Nikos Skalkottas follow in a similar mood as the Berg Sonata and each brief variation flows into the next as a unified work; the Prokofiev Toccata is exuberantly played.

The Chopin Sonata No. 3 is beautifully phrased; the Scherzo played with a beautiful lightness of touch and the slow movement is expressively played without being overly solemn. The finale is not as bombastic as some performers with Cherkassky preferring a more lyrical approach.

The recordings were made in 1963 with the Chopin in 1964. The recordings are mono but have been nicely transferred to CD but the Chopin lacks the clarity of the earlier recordings. If you are a fan of Shura Cherkassky you will want this disc.