CDN$ 278.99 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Prestivo3

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

History of the Organ V1-4 from

Price: CDN$ 278.99
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Prestivo3.

Today Only: "Prime Suspect: The Complete Collection" for $36.49
Today only: Prime Suspect: The Complete Collection is at a one day special price. Offer valid on December 20, 2014, applies only to purchases of products sold by, and does not apply to products sold by third-party merchants and other sellers through the site. Learn more

Product Details

  • Format: Box set, Classical, NTSC
  • Language: English, German, French
  • Subtitles: Spanish
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 4
  • Studio: Arthaus Musik
  • Release Date: June 28 2011
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B004YHBB0I
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #25,351 in DVD (See Top 100 in DVD)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

Verified Purchase
This video features exceptional European instruments and artists playing the best repertoire. There's no fluff here. Classical music lovers will appreciate this purchase.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
I purchased this for my eighty year old Mother a couple of years ago and she has nothing but glowing remarks to say about it. When she opened the package and viewed the whole series back-to-back, she viewed it again the next day, and keeps watching it as she introduces it to friends.

She said that the quality of the picture and the sound is very good, the story kept her enthralled, and would recommend it to anyone, young and old, as an introduction to the instrument, or as a delightful journey for those who are familiar.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
History, not really Nov. 13 2012
By Larry Hinds - Published on
Verified Purchase
I must say I was so excited to receive the Dvd's "History of the Organ" How disappointed I am now that I've seen them. There's not much displayed as far as history goes. Most of the 221 minutes is of film of various organist performing pieces from the organ literature on historic instruments. A treatise on Organ History this does not make. If you are really looking to learn about the history of Pipe Organs I guess it's only to be found in books. There are some great ones! If you just want to watch film of people playing historic instruments, this is for you. On a positive note, the filming is professional and the audio as well. I expected more.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
First 2 disks are great Feb. 23 2013
By Bryan Booth - Published on
Verified Purchase
I bought this for my partner. And he says the first 2 disks are all about the history. And the rest are nothing but people playing different types of organs. Only enjoyed the first 2. If they van just divide the set up they may do better
A good representation of the organ. July 2 2014
By Philip S. Taylor - Published on
Verified Purchase
This is a superb series on the organ. It, in a very compact manner, demonstrates the history of the instrument from its Mediterrean origins (Ctesibius, 3rd. C. BC) through the organ's evolutionary path in Europe (where it flourished). Italy, Spain, France, Germany, and the Low Countries are represented as major centers of organbuilding. The organ is well represented with playing examples by the greatest organists and scholars of the era in which the series was made (1997). Suitable for all (3.5 hrs. total on 4 DVDs).