CDN$ 17.57
  • List Price: CDN$ 18.50
  • You Save: CDN$ 0.93 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
How to Be Black has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 4 images

How to Be Black Paperback – Oct 30 2012

5 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 17.57
CDN$ 7.18 CDN$ 6.63

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Paperbacks; First Paperback Edition edition (Oct. 30 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062003224
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062003225
  • Product Dimensions: 13.5 x 1.5 x 20.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 159 g
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #121,650 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Review

“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.” (Fast Company)

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.” (Booklist)

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black. (The Root)

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.” (Christian Lander (via Twitter))

From the Back Cover

  • Have you ever been called "too black" or "not black enough"?
  • Have you ever befriended or worked with a black person?
  • Have you ever heard of black people?
  • If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you. Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has more than over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be the Black Friend" to "How to Be the (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month."

    See all Product Description

    Inside This Book

    (Learn More)
    Browse Sample Pages
    Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
    Search inside this book:

    What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

    Customer Reviews

    5.0 out of 5 stars
    5 star
    3
    4 star
    0
    3 star
    0
    2 star
    0
    1 star
    0
    See all 3 customer reviews
    Share your thoughts with other customers

    Top Customer Reviews

    Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
    As it is patently obvious that far too many BLKs are marginialised in our society, for totally illogical reasons, it is great to read a book which strives to restore the balance. This book does precisely that. Clearly written, well-phrased, and often witty it ought tom be read by a wide range of people, one covering the spectrum of races, but that is probably a forlorn hope as far too many, ensconced as they are in a racial/racist pigeon-hole, are satisfied with the status quo.
    1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
    Report abuse
    Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
    I bought this for one of my white wanna be black guys as a joke. But when it actually came in the mail (1week early, which was great) I started to read it. I won't put any spoilers but it is the funniest book I have ever read!
    1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
    Report abuse
    Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
    I bought this book as a Christmas present for my white friend who married a black man. She said it saved her marriage!!! She now understands him better and they connect on a much deeper level. Their bond has never been stronger!!!
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
    Thank you for your feedback.
    Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
    Report abuse

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

    Amazon.com: HASH(0x9c52db4c) out of 5 stars 248 reviews
    54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0x9c381768) out of 5 stars It's OK, I have black friends. Jan. 31 2012
    By kaimac - Published on Amazon.com
    Format: Hardcover
    This is the book that every lover of all things black (hip hop, basketball, being a good dancer, being a wide receiver in the NFL etc) has been waiting for. Those of you that have stood on the edges, desperately wanting to be more black but have been too scared to take the first step... this book is for you.

    The book answers important questions like:

    * Once you've gone black, can you in fact, go back?
    * What's up with those funny handshakes?
    * Can white men really not jump?
    * How can Obama be black AND Hawaiian? Confusing.
    * What sort of rims should I get on my Escalade?
    * What exactly is Grape Drank?

    Not really, but it is super funny, very touching, and an all round bloody smart read. Baratunde is the guy from the Onion who gave Donald Trump one of the best smack downs in internet history (Google it). His first book doesn't disappoint in the slightest.

    Bottom line: read it if you like funny things, are interested in race in America, or just want to raise eyebrows on the subway a bit (the last one doesn't work for the kindle version, unfortunately).
    56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0x9c3bf708) out of 5 stars Great satire, great commentary Jan. 31 2012
    By Jessica - Published on Amazon.com
    Format: Hardcover
    I've followed Baratunde on Twitter for a couple years now, and I've been anticipating this book for a while. He's hilarious, and the book is proof of it. With chapters on things like How to Be the Next Black President, how could it not?

    While the book is funny - and mostly satirical - it also comments on what it actually means to be black in the U.S. today. The personal stories that Baratunde shares are heartening, informative, allegorical and more.

    The interviews with people like Elon James White and Cheryl Contee are fantastic, too. Basically just a fantastic book.
    47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0x9ca75210) out of 5 stars Race is Hilarious--Seriously Jan. 31 2012
    By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
    Format: Hardcover
    Race is a tough topic to discuss in the U.S. Baratunde Thurston makes it a whole lot easier with the humor in this book. Both a memoir of growing up black in the late 20th century and a sharp social commentary--not to mention a handy instruction manual--"How to Be Black" is a funny and thought-provoking read.
    28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0x9c2e49f0) out of 5 stars Blackness for White People Feb. 8 2012
    By AykonSilvers - Published on Amazon.com
    Format: Hardcover
    I am a white guy who was born and raised in rural southern Oklahoma where racism was still quite prevalent. I never considered myself racist... I had black friends, dated a few black girls and now my family and I have a foster baby who is black. This book is an amazing insight into the world that I never knew but somehow felt. I greatly enjoy listening to Baratunde describe his life and experiences mixed with a little humor and a healthy dose of satire. This is a must read for any one who has ever wondered about blackness but was too afraid to ask.
    14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
    HASH(0x9c37e264) out of 5 stars Not An Angry Black Man June 21 2012
    By Linda Mitchell - Published on Amazon.com
    Format: Hardcover
    I finished reading HTBB a few weeks ago and enjoyed it thoroughly, except for all the profanity. I realize nowadays people spread profanity around like confetti. There is no shame to their game when it comes to cursing. However, being a non-curser, it still jars me somewhat when all of a sudden it is in my face. That said, I waited until now to write a review to see what still resonated with me after a few weeks. First of all, it is an easy read. I read HTBB in eight to nine hours on a road trip. Second, Baratunde is so smart, honest and funny. How do I know? Just read the chapter about 'How to Be The Black Employee.' I laughed so hard about the watermelon dilemma. This book shows Baratunde's great intellect. Baratunde reminds me of comedian Jerry Seinfield, in how he can take a seeming innocuous subject like swimming and give it such a hilarious look from the Black perspective. Third, I think including the Black Panel was a clever idea. What I am taking away with me from HTBB is that we all need to take the time to understand each other better. We are all different and quirky. When we realize that, we can have so much fun together laughing at ourselves.


    Feedback