How Will You Measure Your Life? and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading How Will You Measure Your Life? on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

How Will You Measure Your Life? [Hardcover]

Clayton M Christensen
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 31.99
Price: CDN$ 20.05 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 11.94 (37%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, October 2? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $20.05  
Paperback CDN $13.36  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

May 7 2012
From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The Innovator’s Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen’s A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen’s How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader—student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child—forge their own paths to fulfillment.

Frequently Bought Together

How Will You Measure Your Life? + The Innovator's Dilemma: The Revolutionary Book That Will Change the Way You Do Business + The Innovator's Solution: Creating and Sustaining Successful Growth
Price For All Three: CDN$ 57.55


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

“[A] highly engaging and intensely revealing work….Spiritual without being preachy, this work is especially relevant for young people embarking on their career, but also useful for anyone who wants to live a more meaningful life in accordance with their values.” (Publishers Weekly)

“The book encapsulates Christensen’s best advice to keep high achievers from being disrupted in their own lives....[P]rovocative but reassuring: Peter Drucker meets Mitch Albom.” (Bloomberg Businessweek)

“[M]ore genuinely a self-help book than the genre it disparages. Instead of force-feeding readers with orders on how to improve, it aims to give them the tools to set their own course” (Financial Times)

“[W]ell researched and thought through material. (Forbes)

“…a gripping personal story with lessons from business mixed in.” (Bloomberg BusinessWeek)

“…Clayton Christensen’s new book has the business world buzzing.” (Deseret News)

“Recommend the book to friends and family who have no connection to the business world. They will thank you for it.” (Harvard Business Review)

‘’A Business Student’s New Required Reading’’ (Huffington Post)

“[R]evealing and profound.” (Inc. Magazine)

“I wish this book was around when I started my carreer. I bought copies for my kids and other young adults I know. $16 is not a lot to spend to get them thinking about their future and how to live responsible, ethical and successful lives.” (Small Business Labs)

From the Back Cover

In 2010 world-renowned innovation expert Clayton M. Christensen gave a powerful speech to the Harvard Business School's graduating class. Drawing upon his business research, he offered a series of guidelines for finding meaning and happiness in life. He used examples from his own experiences to explain how high achievers can all too often fall into traps that lead to unhappiness.

The speech was memorable not only because it was deeply revealing but also because it came at a time of intense personal reflection: Christensen had just overcome the same type of cancer that had taken his father's life. As Christensen struggled with the disease, the question "How do you measure your life?" became more urgent and poignant, and he began to share his insights more widely with family, friends, and students.

In this groundbreaking book, Christensen puts forth a series of questions: How can I be sure that I'll find satisfaction in my career? How can I be sure that my personalrelationships become enduring sources of happiness? How can I avoid compromising my integrity—and stay out of jail? Using lessons from some of the world's greatest businesses, he provides incredible insights into these challenging questions.

How Will You Measure Your Life? is full of inspiration and wisdom, and will help students, midcareer professionals, and parents alike forge their own paths to fulfillment.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christensen focuses on life's essentials Sept. 18 2012
By Rodge TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Christensen deploys a lot of learning in this book, similar to how other books might approach the subject. The secret ingredient here, though, is wisdom. The book isn't breezy, is not difficult to read although not necessarily entertaining, and deploys illustration and example in a way that certainly matches the level of any business writer. Christensen sees to the heart of things here, examining what it takes to have a fulfilling career (hint: not money), fulfilling family life, and how to live up to your values. Christensen is a Christian, but boils down his life principles in such a way that they are accessible to anyone, using the help of 2 cowriters who do not share his faith to achieve this.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Donald Mitchell #1 HALL OF FAME TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
"But indeed for this purpose I have raised you up, that I may show My power in you, and that My name may be declared in all the earth." -- Exodus 9:16 (NKJV)

For those without faith in God, choosing and adhering to a life's purpose can be challenging. Highly talented people in business will find "How Will You Measure Your Life?" to be a helpful secular guide to selecting a life's purpose, finding happiness in a career, and enjoying happy relationships with family and friends. Professor Christensen and coauthors James Allworth and Karen Dillon draw heavily on business theories and examples to show the principles that can lead toward or away from accomplishment, satisfaction, and fulfillment. Professor Christensen generously sprinkles in examples from his personal experiences to make it easier to understand the theories and principles.

The material grew out of Professor Christensen's habit of using his last class of each course to explore these fundamental questions. In 2010, after he contracted a challenging cancer, he was invited to speak on the same subject to the whole graduating class at Harvard Business School.

Even if you don't apply all of the lessons to your personal life, your business results should be helped by appreciating the business theories and stories in the book as they relate to:

1. Why theory can be more helpful than looking for best practices in areas where all performance is poor.
2. Find meaningful work.
3. Optimal strategy should combine planning and being open to serendipity.
4. To understand your strategy, focus on your behavior, rather than what you say you do.
5. Your family and friends need your involvement all the time, not just when you want to give it.
6.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insights Jan. 4 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful book to read. It helps put goals in life into perspective and the examples Clayton Christensen gives based on his experiences help reinforce the points he is making. It was also interesting how he took various business management truths and applied them to running a person's life.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great May 15 2012
Format:Hardcover
I loved this book. One of those books you wish you had read when you were 30. Really a must read.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Oct. 23 2012
Format:Hardcover
I was expecting a book that would help the reader evaluate which lifestyle choices are likely to add value to his or her life.

Instead this book preaches that life is all about career, faith, and procreation.

There is no acknowledgement that different individuals are likely to be energized by a different experiences, and certainly no help in trying to find what works for you.

The book cites very little research and is generally just anecdotes and opinions from a group of people who have never set foot outside the boardroom and never really experienced life.

If you are not sure what kind of life you wish to lead, you would do better to spend a few hours wandering the blogisphere.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback