Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

I Spit On Your Graves [Paperback]

Boris Vian

List Price: CDN$ 17.00
Price: CDN$ 12.41 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 4.59 (27%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Tuesday, October 21? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback CDN $12.41  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Oct. 31 2013
Written under Vian's famous "Vernon Sullivan" pseudonym, I Spit on Your Graves tells the story of a "white negro" who avenges his murdered brother with a series of killings in a small town in the deep south. A bestseller in France, the book was notoriously used as a model for a copycat killing.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Paperback: 177 pages
  • Publisher: TamTam Books (Oct. 31 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 096623460X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0966234602
  • Product Dimensions: 21.6 x 14.1 x 1.1 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 227 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #710,913 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"In the tradition of Karl May and Franz Kafka, Boris Vian imagines an America even more amazing than the land he has never visited...A vivid and startling performance." -- J. Hoberman

"To Americans Boris Vian has long been one of the hidden glories of French literature...[I Spit on Your Graves] is a singular book, not for the squeamish, and not to be passed by." -- Jim Krusoe

About the Author

Published in Paris in 1946 as a thriller loaded with sex and blood,allegedly censored in the US and "translated" into French, J'irai cracher sur vos tombes --I Spit on Your Graves-- was a pure mystification, but also a direct homage to American literature and movies, by a young author, Boris Vian (1920-1959).

More deeply, it was also a violent attack on racism by a jazz fan who had already befriended many black musicians and was to become the closest French friend of Ellington, Davis and Parker.

The novel became a best seller in France and established a scandalous reputation for Vian. But for the past forty years, Vian has become one of the most famous witers of the mid 20th Century, as his hoax of 1946 is only one example --provocative and outrageous, though powerful and meaningful -- of his prolific production: novels and short stories, plays and songs.

Gilbert Pestureau


Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
Nobody knew me at Buckton. Read the first page
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.4 out of 5 stars  11 reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Oddment for Aficionados of the Hardboiled April 8 2005
By Chris Ward - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
If you've read James M. Cain and David Goodis and Jim Thompson and Charles Williford and like the dark, tough-as-nails paperback original fiction of the forties and fifties, pick this up. It's a postwar Frenchman's take on the dark underside of America, a place he'd never been-- so his imaginary America is even more corrupt than the stuff the Americans were writing. It's sleazy "realism" (that is: fantasy), with all the teenaged girls panting nymphos and all the men racist pigs. The jargon is just "off" enough to raise a smile (though the translation is probably fine-- I read it in English), and the behavior of our "hero"-- a black man passing as white named Lee-- is completely reprehensible. He hates _everybody_. Due to the odd nature of its authorship and its aspirations, this is an entertaining read: not necessarily a good novel, but an intriguing and entertaining one.
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Boris July 8 1998
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
It's the book I always advice to people who read too little or who don't like litterature. And at each time they like it very much. It's really easy to read, the style is quick and accurate. A lot of action, a bit of sex... with the Boris' style which is different as usual, it's the Vernon Sullivan style less intricate but just as good. Now it's not still censored so everyboby should take the opportunity to read it.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different Style of approaching the subject Dec 10 2000
By OZGUR - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This book is one of most important mile stones in Boris Vian's literal life, and a must read for B.V. fans. The book is banned in many countries because of its direct approach to sexuality and racism. It is a short book and one may read it in couple of hrs, I recommend it to viewers. I dont want to state my personal thought about the book not to effect th readers about the book. My advice would be to read it and attain some knowledge about the life of the writer to have a structural thought for the book
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAW POWER July 10 1998
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Boris vian was the lightest spirit of the french thinkers. This book sarcastic to death can reveal such aspects of life and human behaviour that you remain breathless.
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge...plain and simple... Oct. 16 2008
By R. Robinson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Im going to spare you all the pretense that this is a great book for its structure, narrative, theme, subtext, etc (the usual literature hype) its a classic book about a classic topic, REVENGE. A black man who can pass as white performs the horrid to correct the wrongs he has been dealt (and his brother). If you wanna read a psychological thriller then read this. The nay sayers seem to be under the assumption that there are more realistic books written about the topic or perhaps they themselves have published something better and see fit to rate it so poorly.

Look for similar items by category


Feedback