Il Trionfo De Tempo E Del... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Il Trionfo De Tempo E Del Disi Import

Price: CDN$ 38.15 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 34.16

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 13 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion
  • ASIN: B0016J9P64
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Premiered in 1707, Il trionfo del tempo e del disinganno is a landmark in baroque music. "The triumph of Time and Enlightenment" is Handel's first oratorio, a product of his astonishing blossoming in Italy in his early twenties, suffused with the youthful vigor and virtuosity of his early works. The libretto, by the well-connected Benedetto Pamphili, is a highly crafted composition drawing on a rich mix of artistic forebears. It is both a moral-religious allegory dramatized in music and a pattern book of human psychology. Thirty years later, living in England and producing seasons of both English-language oratorio and Italian opera, Handel revised and expanded "Il trionfo" to a three-section work under the new title "The Triumph of Time and Truth" (HWV 46b). The featured soloists here are soprano Roberta Invernizzi, mezzo Kate Aldrich, countertenor Martin Oro and tenor Jörg Dürmüller. This is the second Hyperion disc from the Academia Montis Regalis and Alessandro de Marchi, who have garnered great acclaim for their recording of Stradella's San Giovanni Battista.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa4b39054) out of 5 stars 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bf30c54) out of 5 stars Sit back and relax May 14 2015
By Arnout Koeneman - Published on
Format: Audio CD
When you do a quick comparison between this recording and the ones by Emanuelle Haïm and Rinaldo Alessandrini you would easily dismiss this one as the 'boring' one. The orchestra isn't always very sharp and articulate, sometimes rather hesitant and the tempi are moderate.
A decade ago I already would have made up my mind, skip the 'boring one'. But this day Baroque music is generally played loud, fast and with exaggerated dynamics. I clearly must be getting older, because I'm getting tired of this forced excitement. Give me some air and subtlety.
I have my Rene Jacobs' and Marc Minkowskis and (for now) I don't need another Handel performed like this, give me some variation in performance.
Alan Curtis is a likely candidate, and I own several recordings by him which thoroughly enjoy, but still I find him a bit sober and 'dry'...not academic per se, but rather 'literate'? for lack of a better description.
No, if I have to choose my favorite Handel conductor it would be William Christie. I think he finds the ideal balance between drama and sweetness, excitement and subtlety and does not shy away from lyricism and pure sentiment.

This recording by Alessandro de Marchi with Academia Montis Regalis isn't exactly a Christie recording, because it lacks sharpness and clear articulation, but it is lyrical, has warmth and doesn't go for cheap thrills, like super fast virtuosic tempi (or unnatural slow) and big dynamic contrasts. Just what the doctor ordered (...ehm, for now that is, "fast virtuosic tempi" and "big dynamic contrasts" may well be my next diet)
Vocalists, especially Roberta Invernizzi are great and thanks to director Alessandro de Marchi the music has an ideal, gentle flowing pacing.
Alessandrini and Haim are excellent in their own way (Haim's recordings of Aci, Galatea e Polifemo and La Resurrezione are simply outstanding) and to be honest maybe they 'beat' de Marchi when it comes to orchestral play and a clear musical and dramatic view. But I enjoy the recording by de Marchi just so much more.