Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools
Instrument of the Devil has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 8-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Instrument of the Devil

Price: CDN$ 26.52 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 11.69 4 used from CDN$ 11.67

Product Details

  • Performer: Barton; Sinozich; Schrader; Rozendaal; Yeh
  • Composer: Saint-Saens; Tartini; Liszt, Mi
  • Audio CD (May 1 2009)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ced
  • ASIN: B000026AOM
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #247,509 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Danse Macabre (Op. 40)
2. Sonata in G minor, 'The Devil's Trill': I. Larghetto Affectuoso
3. Sonata in G minor, 'The Devil's Trill': II. Tempo guisto della Scuola Tartinista
4. Sonata in G minor, 'The Devil's Trill': III. Sogni dellautore: Andante
5. Mephisto Waltz
6. Round of the Goblins (Op. 25)
7. Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14: Dream of a Witches' Sabbath (Op. 14)
8. El Amor Brujo: Dance of Terror
9. Grand Caprice on Schubert's Der Erlkonig, Op. 26
10. The Witches, Op. 8
11. L'Histoire du Soldat: The Devil's Dance (trio version)
12. Faust Fantasy

Product Description

Œuvres de Saint-Saëns, Tartini, Liszt, Bazzini, Berlioz, De Falla, Ernst, Stravinski, Sarasate... / Rachel Barton, violon - Patrick Sinozich, piano

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 8 reviews
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Truly Devilish! Aug. 28 2008
By ricardo_guerrero - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is my favorite of the Rachel Barton discings. While her playing has definitely 'softened up' over the years as she has ventured out beyond the technical stuff and into new musical territory. This discing (done in 1998, when she was still in her early 20s) is superb. Barton has always had a very wide range, and has excelled in her interpretations of all of the musical periods. She has also proven herself to be an excellent transcriptionist.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Best of the "Devilish" violin compilations. Oct. 11 2011
By J. R. Lewis - Published on
Format: Audio CD
There are three thematically similar violinist's collections available: this one, Gil Shaham's "Devil's Dance"(DG), and Angele Dubeau's "Infernal Violins"(Analekta). All three are well-played and entertaining and share some core material (Danse Macabre and The Devil's Trill). I find Rachel's collection to be superior to the others for three reasons: Greater energy and intensity in her playing, a better overall choice of material, and the outstanding support she gets from her pianist, Patrick Sinozich.

For virtuoso violin fans: give this one a spin at Hallowe'en time!
Excellent musicianship Nov. 1 2013
By Tom Fields - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I admit to being a fan of Rachel Barton Pine's violin playing. I am also a new convert to her accompanist on this album -- Patrick Sinozich is outstanding. Far too many fine pianists forget that their job with as an accompanist is to accompany, and it ends up sounding like a competition. Patrick does the very difficult thing of making a world class violinist sound even better by providing outstanding accompaniment. I was rather impressed.
What a Tour de Force! June 5 2013
By Ann Fairhurst - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is Rachel Barton-Pine at her absolute best. Although there is no question about her considerable gifts, it's her innate understanding of the nuances of the works she chooses that really distinguish her performance. She and her wonderful accompanist manage to make this particular offering both exciting and well....creepy.
Unusually competent "look at me" compilation Jan. 30 2013
By Birdo - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Rachel Barton is the real deal in the world of classical violin. That keeps this CD from being merely the usual ego statement. Her brilliance, clarity, and terrifying intelligence give this collection depth and make it worth many listenings.

Look for similar items by category


Would you like to update product info or give feedback on images?