Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden
CDN$ 59.95 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 64.33
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: thebookcommunity_ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ivan Susanin Import

Price: CDN$ 59.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
2 new from CDN$ 59.95 3 used from CDN$ 54.18

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Dec 23 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Capriccio
  • ASIN: B000001WUM
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Ov - Sofia Nat Opr Orch/Ivan Marinov
2. Act One, Intro: Drauet Sturm Der Flur - Sofia Nat Opr Chor
3. Act One, Antonida's Cavatina And Rondo: Tagelang Schau In's Feld Hinaus - Elena Stoyanova
4. Act One, Scene And Chor: Nicht Von Hochzeit Traume - Elena Stoyanova/Nocola Ghiuselev
5. Act One, Scene And Trio: Soll Es Denn Wahrheit Sein - Elena Stoyanova/Roumen Doikov/Nocola Ghiuselev/Sofia Nat Opr Chor
6. Act One, Finale: Mit Dem Schwert In Heissem Ringen - Roumen Doikov/Elena Stoyanova/Nicola Ghiuselev/Sofia Nat Opr Chor
See all 11 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Act Three: Entr'acte - Sofia Nat Opr Orch/Ivan Marinov
2. Act Three, Vanya's Song: Da Vogeleins Mutter Hinsank - Hristina Angelakova
3. Act Three, Scene And Duet Of Vanya And Susanin: Lasst Mich Horen, Guter Vater - Hristina Angelakova/Nicola Giuselev
4. Act Three, Chor Of Peasants: Wir Ziehen Zur Arbeit Hinaus - Hristina Angelakova/Roumen Doikov/Nicola Giuselev/Sofia Nat Opr Chor
5. Act Three, Qt: Teure Kinder - Elena Stoyanova/Hristina Angelakova/Roumen Doikov/Nicola Giuselev
6. Act Three, Scene: So Lasst Der Himmel Mich Erleben - Elena Stoyanova/Hristina Angelakova/Nicola Giuselev/Sofia Nat Opr Chor
See all 9 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. Act Four: Entr'acte - Sofia Nat Opr Orch/Ivan Marinov
2. Act Four, Chor And Sobinin's Aria: Kein Menschliches Wesen Ist Rings Zu Erspah'n/Bruder! Im Sturm... - Roumen Doikov/Sofia Nat Opr Chor
3. Act Four, Vanya's Recitative And Aria: Liess Im Feld Tot Mein Ross - Hristina Angelakova
4. Act Four, Chor And Vanya: Nicht Der Sturmwind Ruttelt Am Eisentor - Sofia Nat Opr Chor/Hristina Angelakova
5. Act Four, Scene And Chor: Wie Mud Wir Sind - Nicola Ghiuselev/Sofia Nat Opr Chor
6. Act Four, Susanin's Recitative And Aria: Sie Ahnen Die Wahrheit - Nicola Ghiuselev
See all 12 tracks on this disc

Product Description

3 cd set

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
The best "Life for the Tsar" that we can get Feb. 17 2009
By Eric S. Kim - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
There are basically three recordings of Glinka's classic opera "A Life for the Tsar". They are:

*Conductor Alexander Melik-Pashayev's mono recording with the Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra & Chorus
*Conductor Alfredo Simonetto's live mono recording with the Italian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Chorus
*Conductor Ivan Marinov's studio recording with the Sofia National Opera Orchestra & Chorus

This recording by Marinov is the best that we can get. It's uncut, and it has decent stereo sound. But the downside here is that the orchestra and singers don't give out very excellent performances: they don't sound very passionate enough. Plus, there is no libretto whatsoever (I can't seem to find any "Life for the Tsar" libretto anywhere!). But conductor Marinov doesn't miss a step, and the orchestral & choral sound are truly Russian-like.

I'm hoping there will be a brand new recording with a better orchestra, better singers, and a perfect digital sound. Either that or a re-release of the Sony recording with Emil Tchakarov and the Sofia Festival Orchestra. But in the meantime, I can only wait.