Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden
J.S. Bach: The French Su... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

J.S. Bach: The French Suites, BWV 812-817, selected Preludes, BWV 923, 999, 815a, and three Preludes from the Well-Tempered Clavier, performed by David Cates, harpsichord

1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 27.06 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 15.99 4 used from CDN$ 20.76

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 28 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: SRI Canada
  • ASIN: B0000AYL3N
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #333,507 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Prelude In B Minor, BWV 923
2. Allemande
3. Courante
4. Sarabande
5. Anglaise
6. Menuets 1 & 2
7. Gigue
8. Prelude
9. Allemande
10. Courante
See all 22 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Prelude In E-Flat Major
2. Allemande
3. Courante
4. Sarabande
5. Gavotte
6. Air
7. Menuet
8. Gigue
9. Prelude
10. Allemande
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

Format: Audio CD
Recordings of Bach's French Suites have not been common in the catalogue; it's wonderful to find one so expressive, intimate, and soulful. The harpsichord sound is lovely, and the playing very free and flexible without being at all eccentric. I especially liked the singing lines, and the not overdone but imaginative ornaments. Having preludes in front of each suite was a real bonus; they set the atmosphere for the suites in a way I've never heard before. I'll listen to this over and over. So much better than Davitt Morney's bland, emotionless version, and Koopman's eccentric and almost hyperactive interpretation.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Beautiful recording and energetic interpretation May 15 2014
By Bob K - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The French Suites are not my favorite set of works by JSB for harpsichord (Partitas and Goldberg Variations hold down that place), but this performance may make me rethink my evaluation. The recording is also demonstration quality, including little squeaks and harpsichord eccentricities that do not detract from the music at all.
If you like JSB and the harpsichord, this performance is definitely worth the purchase.