Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
CDN$ 0.01
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow 14-21 business days for delivery. This copy shows very minor wear. Free State Books. Never settle for less.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Janette Oke: A heart for the prairie Hardcover – 1993

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
CDN$ 24.00 CDN$ 0.01

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Bethany House Publishers (1993)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1556613261
  • ISBN-13: 978-1556613265
  • Product Dimensions: 1.9 x 14 x 21.6 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 454 g
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,170,393 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

About the Author

Laurel Oke Logan is the daughter of Janette Oke, awarding-winning author of Christian fiction, whose bestselling books have sold over eleven million copies, and Dr. Edward Oke. Laurel grew up in a small town on the Canadian prairie with three brothers who kept life exciting and eventful.

She married during her college days and soon after began writing her first novel, Gillian. She and her husband, Marvin, are the parents of four children and Laurel has been able to resume writing on a part-time basis while she homeschools her children.

Laurel Oke Logan has joined with her mother, in the writing of Janette's life story. This biography has its origins in the humble beginnings of the little farmhouse that belonged to Laurel's grandparents. In this country home she learned as a child to treasure the heritage, simple values, and family ties that shaped the life of Janette Oke. Laurel and Janette spent many hours laughing and crying as they put together the research for this biography.

Laurel continued her education at Bethel College in Mishawaka, Indiana, and Purdue University. She has taught writing seminars to high school students, as well as assisting Janette Oke with her writing projects. She and her husband and children make their home in Indiana.

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") pioneered inspirational fiction and is the leading author in the category today. Love Comes Softly, her first novel, has sold over 1 million copies. Janette is now the bestselling author of over 70 books, 32 of which have been translated into fourteen languages. Janette receives fan mail from all over the world and answers each letter personally. She received the 1992 President’s Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association for her significant contribution to Christian fiction, the 1999 CBA Life Impact Award and has been awarded the Gold Medallion Award for fiction.

Janette and her husband, Edward, have four grown children and enjoy their many grandchildren. They make their home in Canada. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

Format: Paperback
janette is a wonderfull writer and helps me visualize the world and Gods teachings in a better light. after reading heart for the prarie i understand far bettr how janette became who she is today the book written by daughter laurel and janette has brought me close to my walk with God God Bless you and your whole family lavon laurel edward lorne terry and all the men and wivies in there lifes and the beautiful garand children God Bless you all in our fathers name penny dean
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 6 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
An Inspiration Dec 17 2000
By Donald L. Meseraull - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
I was thoroughly inspired by reading this book. It seemed to me to be a little slow developing at the beginning, due to a fairly complex family history. Even this should be interesting to people who like history from the perspective of people who lived it. It is well organized, and provides a good description of the environment that nurtured this God-inspired writer. Janette Oke's life experiences are so easy to identify with, and her dependence on God so well portrayed that it is an inspiration to me. It is also fascinating to learn how one of my favorite writers arrived at her mission in life.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Simply Told Oct. 29 2006
By Julie Norman - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
The story of Janette Oke's life told through snatches of stories. This book is packed with little stories and references to events in Janette's life. It reads almost as a family history or a remembrance book. Illustrated with a few pictures in the middle, it gives a good overview. The book is simply told, as most of her fictional books are. I only wish there had been more information about her as a writer.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VERY NICE BOOK July 1 2013
By regina cuogo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
It's a real very nice example of life from a person who trusts in God and let Him guide her life,I think this book helps us to walk with God and trust Him always, it enhances our lives.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Excellent June 18 2008
By miv1914 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Simple, written with love, interesting, good pictures. It is amazing her life and dedication. READ IT!!!
Trust March 8 2014
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
Love the trust in God throughout the lives good & bad times of the lives of the family and their choice to follow His guidance wherever it may take them.