Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Jurowski;V-London Phil Orch/Lo [Import]

 NR (Not Rated)   DVD

Price: CDN$ 29.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Wednesday, September 3? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Product Details

  • Format: AC-3, Classical, Color, Dolby, DVD-Video, Subtitled, Widescreen, NTSC, Import
  • Language: German
  • Subtitles: English, German
  • Region: All RegionsAll Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 2
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Ideale Audience Intl
  • Release Date: Feb. 26 2008
  • Run Time: 258 minutes
  • ASIN: B0012K53TU

Product Description


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars  3 reviews
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Upside and Downside...... April 21 2008
By Abert - Published on Amazon.com
Apart from the 'labelling problem' pointed out by the earlier reviewer, this double disc package containing the 'inaugurating concert' of Vladimir Jurowski as London Philharmonic's new principal conductor has its fair share of strengths and weaknesses.
The weaknesses lie not so much in the concert itself, which is a choice of a rather rare programme but nonetheless well-chosen.
The strength of this package is the addition of a 'conductor camera' feature that allows viewers to have a continuous view of how the concert was being conducted.
The weakness lies in the static camera shots in the two sections of the 50-minute interview of the orchestra's new principal conductor. The interviewer not being the most eloquent, the interviewee's long responses to each question posed were not aided by any visual modulations in the shots taken. The end-result is a deathly boring account of an otherwise in depth and interesting dialogue.
The Concert itself fared much much better.
Jurowski's greatest strength lies obviously in the choral piece that comes at the end, though the Parsifal Overture(s) and the three Berg pieces are by no means sub-par performances.
The orchestra and chorus (together with vocal soloists) give a dramatically-charged account of the Mahler composition. The boy-soprano who portrays the ghost of the dead brother gives a wonderful performance in this eerie piece of work. I don't think any mature female singer would be able to handle the role as competently as this lad, a part definitely reserved for boy sopranos or countertenors. The orchestra and the chorus responded splendidly to the conductor's directions, which are precise and economic, without lacking in one drop in musical and dramatic insight and instinct.
So, for the Concert itself, 5 stars, the interview, 3 stars.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent video - great sound - in little heard Mahler July 29 2008
By James Weaver - Published on Amazon.com
The sound on this video is excellent - particularly in the little heard Mahler. Video camera angles are good without being intrusive.
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WRONG NAME FOR THE DVD: it must be: Vladimir Jurowski and the London Philharmonic Orchestra March 22 2008
By Gonzalo Tello - Published on Amazon.com
This is a DVD featuring Vladimir Jurowski and The London Philharmonic in works by Wagner, Berg and Mahler.

Look for similar items by category