Add to Cart
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.

More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Koussevitsky Conducts

Price: CDN$ 52.29 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
2 new from CDN$ 52.29 2 used from CDN$ 32.66

Product Details

Disc: 1
1. I. Adagio Cantabile; Vivace Assai
2. II. Andante
3. III. Menuetto: Allegro Molto
4. IV. Allegro Di Molto (Take 3)
5. Alternate Take Of Fourth Movement (Take 1)
6. I. Largo; Allegro Vivace
7. II. Adagio
8. III. Menuetto: Allegro
9. IV. Presto
10. I. Allegro Moderato
See all 13 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. I. Allegro Vivace
2. II. Andante Di Molto
3. III. Allegro Vivace
4. I. Adagio Molto; Allegro Con Brio
5. II. Andante Con Moto
6. III. Allegro
7. IV. Allegro
8. I. Allegro Vivace E Con Brio
9. II. Allegretto Scherzando
10. III. Tempo Di Menuetto
See all 11 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
astonishingly good recorded sound, given the vintage, and a collection of first-rate performances Aug. 19 2007
By D. Jack Elliot - Published on Amazon.com
I expected to find old-fashioned readings on this Classical program: slow, plodding tempos and long, arching phrases per Böhm's Mozart. Much to my surprise, then, these 1920s and 1930s performances proved to be lithe and animated, with quick tempos to match those of today's authentic performance practice.

The old Boston Symphony sounds magnificent in these remasters. The only one that has any noticeable hiss and crackle at all is the first piece on the first disc, the "Surprise" Symphony of Haydn, and even there you stop noticing the hiss almost immediately, as you become absorbed in such an excellent performance. The orchestra is in fact remarkably well-served by the aural picture presented in these early recordings, with the only exception being the Beethoven 2nd. The high levels of compression demanded by primitive recording technology rob the 2nd of the dynamic contrasts it needs: you don't get much of any loud-soft effect, and the sforzandos have no punch to them. Throughout the rest of these two discs, though, you'll simply be astonished at how good these very old recordings sound, and delighted to acquaint yourself with Koussevitzky's warm, energetic readings and the singular sonorities of one of America's great orchestral institutions, before the age of the record largely homogenized the timbres of the world's orchestras.