Last Romance has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Last Romance

Price: CDN$ 12.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 12.54 8 used from CDN$ 9.41

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 21 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sony Music Canada
  • ASIN: B000BUW0TI
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #101,282 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Stink
2. (If There's) No Hope For Us
3. Chat In Amsterdam, Winter 2003
4. Don't Ask Me To Dance
5. Confessions Of A Big Brother
6. Come Round And Love Me
7. Speed-Date
8. Dream Sequence
9. Fine Tuning
10. There Is No Ending

Product Description

Product Description

The Scottish rock and post-emo duo Arab Strap return with The Last Romance. This is the band's most aggressive album and retains the abrasive lyrics and stunning melodic beauty. Mega Force. 2006.


Dependably laconic, Arab Strap follows the drum machine-clatter and slightly less than typical sneer of 2003's Monday at the Hug and Pint with this, The Last Romance, an instantly thorn-pricked tale 'o' woe. Arab Strap stands proudly here as icons of Scottish miserablism in the throes of love's labors lost. Despondent and furious by turns, Romance opens with the "Stink," a rawly delivered post-coital narrative about burning the now-dirty sheets--of course a metaphor for forceful dissolution, heartbreak, and, ahem, a last romance. Aidan Moffat and Co. conjure a wild, wall of noise here, immersing the vocals in squalling guitars that vie for pre-eminence with Moffat's unmistakable accent. That tangle of guitars and voice recalls Arab Strap's role in the famed "Scottish Guitar Army" (along with their fitful pals, Mogwai) and is fitting for Moffat's lovelorn narrative, written out as if on notebook paper in the liner notes. The story moves from the frothy, post-love bed sheets through squalid settings for drunkenness and tousled lust, to this: "If you can love my growing gut, my rotten teeth and graying hair, then I can guarantee I'll do the same as long as you can bear." Now if that's not a declaration of love's possibility, what is? --Andrew Bartlett

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa31f8600) out of 5 stars 9 reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
By M. Callazzo - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Their past CD's are abrasive, yet not catchy. This one is still on the edgy side, but very tuneful and melodic. The songs are brilliant. All the songs are varied, but all are strong. I like 'There is no ending' and 'Speed Date' and 'Dream sequence.' It's their best CD and the best CD of 2006!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2c91534) out of 5 stars Cuts through July 8 2006
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I tend to judge bands by the vocalist's delivery. In this case it's a five star affair. Arab Strap bring a world weary, cold, clear, get down to it feel to songs that would be dirges if not for their skipping pace. It's certainly an acquired taste, but one worth the price of acquisition.

"Stink" is possibly the greatest song.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2dc5714) out of 5 stars Bets of 2006: the darkness sees the light... April 24 2006
By Manny Hernandez - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
There is always a first time for everything in life. Getting to know Arab Straps is no exception to this. And was it a good time! Arab Straps' "Last Romance" arrived in a moment when the music scene seemed to have slowed down compared to the abundance of amazing works that had been released by the same time the previous year, making this one of the best albums to have come out so far in 2006.

The lyrics in this release by the Scottish duo are not as rough as in their previous productions, probably due to the fact that their lyricist is "happier with life" and going through a promising relationship that keeps him a bit more positive than in previous records. Their sound at times makes me think of Travis, but a little less bright, with hints of the darkness of Bauhaus' Peter Murphy and the guitar work one would expect from the likes of R.E.M.

The album as a whole is a jewel, an impeccable production that you will find yourself listening to repeatedly. Even though it has a bit of an eighties edge to it, it doesn't get old and I can see it aging fairly well.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
By Travis Dubya McGee Bickle - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
These are some miserable bastids - that much is hard to dispute...but, they must be the only artists plowing this particular lyrical domain in the same way. Nobody else is giving musical voice to this particular brand of ugly romantic despair...not to give the wrong idea,though: they are very talented musicians and the musical settings contained herein make the whole enterprise slide down like your favorite brand of cough syrup...the narcotized, semi-depressive thrill you'll get is much the same, too....
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2c953e4) out of 5 stars Confessional Masterpiece Aug. 17 2006
By Carrie McGath - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I have been an Arab Strap fan for years, but this is their pure and true masterpiece in my opinion. The cohesieness of the album is captivating and the songs themselves are completely realized and poetic. This is an artistic undertaking of emotions that have been dwelling in a dark corner for a long time.

A lot of the songs are very catchy too ... like "Speed-Date," all are melodic and fascinating in their nudity.

Look for similar items by category