Let's Pretend This Never Happened and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Let's Pretend This Never Happened on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) [Hardcover]

Jenny Lawson
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 27.50
Price: CDN$ 17.24 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 10.26 (37%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Monday, August 25? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $17.24  
Paperback CDN $12.27  
Audio, CD, Audiobook CDN $26.46  

Book Description

April 17 2012

Amazon.ca Editors' Pick: Best Books of 2012

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

Frequently Bought Together

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) + How To Be A Woman + Bossypants
Price For All Three: CDN$ 44.31

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

  • How To Be A Woman CDN$ 14.43
  • Bossypants CDN$ 12.64

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

"Even when I was funny, I wasn't this funny."  —Augusten Burroughs, author of Running With Scissors and This is How

“There’s something wrong with Jenny Lawson—magnificently wrong. I defy you to read her work and not hurt yourself laughing.” —Jen Lancaster




“The Bloggess writes stuff that actually is laugh-out-loud, but you know that really you shouldn’t be laughing and probably you’ll go to hell for laughing, so maybe you shouldn’t read it. That would be safer and wiser.” —Neil Gaiman


“Jenny Lawson is hilarious, snarky, witty, totally inappropriate, and ‘Like Mother Teresa, Only Better.’” —Marie Claire magazine


“Jenny Lawson’s writing is nothing less than revolutionary. . . . I say this without a hint of exaggeration: She may be one of the most progressive women’s voices of our time.” —Karen Walrond, author of The Beauty of Different


Let's Pretend This Never Happened won Goodread’s Best Humor Book of 2012 and was chosen as one of Hudson Bookseller’s Best Books of 2012

About the Author

Jenny Lawson is a columnist and one of the most popular bloggers on Twitter (hundreds of thousands of followers). Her blog, www.thebloggess.com, averages between 2-3 million page views per month. Jenny lives in the Texas Hill Country with her husband and daughter.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, I cried. May 29 2012
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This book was hilarious. I laughed out loud, I also cried in parts. It almost feels like you are sitting down and having an honest conversation with the author. If you are a fan of the bloggess, you will love this book.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should I really be laughing?? July 27 2012
Format:Hardcover
I bought this book based solely on a brief description. I had never read any of Jenny Lawson's blogs prior but really enjoyed this glimpse into her quirky, hilarious, and sometimes slightly horrifying day-to-day. Reading this book was like having a glass of wine (or a bottle) with girlfriends. I laughed out loud. A lot.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F*****...fantastic! April 23 2012
By Agnes J
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This book is beyond hilarious. It's clever, witty and simply a breath of fresh air. Love the style, and how easily the story flow, you will never find yourself bored.
And just a warning - you will find yourself bursting out loud laughing.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over the top fun Jan. 11 2013
By Urbano
Format:Hardcover
Wacky, hilarious, and true – similar to Aleesa Sutton’s Diary of a Single Mormon Female. I sat down to check out the first chapter and got up two hours later -- for Kleenexes to staunch the tears of laughter. This is one of the weirdest and funniest books I’ve ever read. I wish Jenny Lawson could come and spend a day at my house
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because I'm a nerd and I totally get this! Jan. 13 2014
Format:Paperback
I rank this book a five out of five. It was awesome. Although near the end I did start to kind of wonder what the point of the book was but then I remembered it was her telling her life story and I was ok again. I am also incredibly jealous of her. I have often considered writing my "memoir" or autobiography but I never can. I always find myself not sure of what approach to take: funny like Jenny did, but I'm really not that funny and I don't think anyone would enjoy hearing it, plus my life story doesn't just have horrible tales of really ridiculous things. Or, I could approach it all serious like and be a victim speaking out and bringing issues into awareness, but I'm also not that serious and I feel all pompous every time I try. And then I also get stuck on the whole, where the hell do I start? because the beginning is not really the beginning and there are a thousand things that were happening all at once and it's really hard to explain it all. Also, I could never have the courage that Jenny and many other authors who have written their story have had. I am really too afraid that my family would read it when it was done and I would basically be disowned because no one wants to hear the truth or the truth at least, from my point of view. So I envy Jenny and I also respect her immensely for being so brave and amazing at writing her story and for doing it so well. I feel inspired and also slightly like a copy cat because I'm all like, now I want to write my story in a funny, horrifying way. But I won't because I'm not a copy cat and also, there's really no way of doing it like that. But I can totally related to her and understand where she's coming from. I admire people who can take their life stories and all the horrible, embarrassing shit and share it with us and do it so gracefully and proudly. Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good laughs June 26 2014
Format:Paperback
A decent book to get through a boring workout I guess. Some pretty funny parts, but then some not so thrilling.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars I truly enjoyed this book. June 15 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book made me laugh out loud many times---unlike any book I have read before. The language was a bit raw but once I got over it, I couldn't put the book down.
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny June 2 2014
By melanie
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Some of my favourite types of books are those along the lines of Chelsea Handler, Ellen, Tina Fey and any author that can really make me laugh out loud. While the book is funny, I didnt enjoy it as much as the other authors but still a great read. Be warned: I am a vegetarian, some of the chapters were a little rough for me to read!
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars funny and
it's one of the books in fiction that I would certainly read again! funny and hilarious
Published 10 days ago by a pascual
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious book
This is a great book, and especially if you are a fan of her blog it is a must read and if you aren't a fan of her blog, you will be after reading this book!
Published 2 months ago by Melissa
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should come with a warning!
Truly the funniest thing I have ever read. Everyone should be warned not to read this in public. I had one person actually come over to me to make sure I was okay because I was... Read more
Published 4 months ago by Philippa Sumsion
5.0 out of 5 stars I've Never Laughed So Hard
This is hands-down the funniest book I've ever read. I rarely ever actually laugh out loud when I'm reading, but this book had me laughing so hard that I started crying not once,... Read more
Published 5 months ago by craftygirl
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best use of her comedic talents
** This book review, as well as many more, can also be found on my blog, The Baking Bookworm (www.thebakingbookworm.blogspot.ca). Read more
Published 5 months ago by Ethan Prentice
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny
I thought this book was really funny so I ordered it on amazon.ca so I could send to my sister in Canada. The book arrived when promised, although it took a long time. Read more
Published 7 months ago by Beth Macfarlane
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a wonderful romp
All I can say is how refreshing it is to meet up with an author who is as crazy-minded as I am. I love this book and laughed my way through it with delight.
Published 8 months ago by AMR
4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny
I've never laughed so much reading a book. I laughed so much my whole family thought I was going crazy.
Published 9 months ago by Stephanie Clarke
1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid
One of the dumbest reads I've picked up in a long time. Lawson's tries to be funny and cute by making odd and weird comments throughout, and rather than sounding natural, she comes... Read more
Published 10 months ago by BethVancouver
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback