Love Comes Softly (Love Comes Softly Book #1): Volume 1 and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Love Comes Softly (Love Comes Softly Book #1): Volume 1 on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Love Comes Softly [Large Print] [Paperback]

Janette Oke
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $9.99  
Hardcover --  
Paperback CDN $10.93  
Paperback, Large Print, March 1988 --  
Audio, Cassette --  
Unknown Binding --'s 2014 Books Gift Guide
2014 Books Gift Guide
Yes Please is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Book Description

March 1988 Love Comes Softly (Book 1)
A Hallmark Channel Film -- Janette Oke's signature first novel, the beloved classic story of loss and love that launched an inspirational fiction phenomenon!Introduced in 1979, Love Comes Softly established an enduring and endearing genre of fiction that has captivated readers of all ages and interests. Millions have laughed, wept and rejoiced with Marty and Clark Davis, whose tragic circumstances threw them together on the frontier prairies of the late 1800s.
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

Product Description

About the Author

Janette Oke pioneered inspirational fiction and is the leading author in the category today. Love Comes Softly, Janette's first novel, has sold over 1 million copies. Janette is now the best selling author of over 40 books, 32 of which have been translated into fourteen languages. Janette receives fan mail from all over the world and answers each letter personally She received the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association for her significant contribution to Christian fiction, and has been awarded the coveted Gold Medallion Award for fiction. Janette and her husband, Edward, have four grown children and nine grandchildren and make their home in Canada. size : 5.2 x 8 --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4 star
3 star
2 star
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! May 22 2001
I loved this series. After the first book, I couldn't wait to read the next... and the next... and so on. I devoured all 8 in less than a month. Each book chronicles the lives of various members of the Davis Family, beginning with young Marty, a recent widow, who marries Clark Davis to take care of his young daughter. They live on the plains in the 1800s, and times aren't easy, but community support helps their little town to thrive. And Marty, deep in grief over the loss of her first husband (and carrying his child!), soon finds that love can happen at the most unexpected times. Each book in this series is great. Don't be upset by the fact that the second book claims to have Missy (Clark's daughter) all grown up. That happens eventually, but there will be plenty more children to read about, along with marriages and adventures. This series is a real treat.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Really Does Come Softly April 25 2004
I read the first edition of Janette Oke's series (Love Comes Softly)not long after it came out. I think there was probably two in the series when I first started reading the series. Love Comes Softly is wonderful. I loved it and all the remaining books in the series. As I was reading the series I couldn't wait until the next one came out.
Clark and Marty find love in a very difficult situation. I love the part about the biscuts, chicken and the disapointment Marty felt when her Christmas was taken by the snowstorm.
This is a wonderful read. I've loaned my books out to numerous friends and family, so that they can enjoy the story too. I think it would make a wonderful movie (I heard that Michael Landon Jr. may produce a movie from this series OH! I hope it is true).
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Christian Fiction Series! Book one July 11 2003
Marty is a young pioneer woman, recently widowed and pregnant with no place to live and no means to go home. Clark Davis asks her to be his wife of "convenience" since he needs a caretaker for his young daughter, Missie, and Marty needs food and shelter. Not at all interested, but desperately in need, she accepts. This first book explains the first 6-8 months of this strange marriage. Marty is determined to pull her weight and do her time until Spring when Clark has agreed to pay her way home. The book is wholesome, funny, suspense filled and holds the reader's interest from cover to cover. After watching a recent movie made from this book, I am reading the series for the third time and would still recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The best series that I have ever read! Nov. 15 1999
By A Customer
Janette Oke writes a beautiful Christian series about families...the good times and not so good times. I got the series 3 years ago when I was 15. I've reread it many many times! Mrs. Oke does a beautiful job of writing not only a Christian novel, but a realistic series. She pulls you right into the books by using language of the times, and wonderful descriptive language. They are so easy to get in to, and so hard to put down. I laughed, I worried, and I cried along with the other characters. So sit back, relax, and enjoy living with Marty and Clark Davis. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
By A Customer
Janette Oke strikes me as a person desperate to get her name into the hall of fame in American historiacal literature... The books says as part of the review: "Cast in the mould of Little House on the Prarie"... which was not true... it was horribly unrealistic, the description of the setting didn't match the time frame.. and the whole story was just a romantic way of preaching christianity. Janette Oke needs to do more research and fill her strories with less romanticism if she wants it to be as well loved as Little House on the Prarie.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming in an age of Heartache Dec 17 2002
By A Customer
I started reading the "Love Comes Softly" series when I was 15 years old. Now 24, I can say that I love these books more than ever. As I've grow up, there are more and more ways for me to identify with characters in the series. Many reviewers have said that Janette Oke portrays real life with all the joy and pain. Well said! The collection is a wonderful gift to give a young teenager as example of what to expect with Christian romantic love and will be treasured for many years.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL May 21 2003
By A Customer
Marty and her new husband are moving west, when disaster strikes. Marty is forced to marry a man she scarcely knows (Clark), who has just lost his wife. The deal is, he takes care of her, if she takes care of his baby daughter. The book tells about Marty's new life, and how she gets through it. In the end, Clark and she fall in love, a perfect ending. I absolutely loved this book. I read it last summer, and was sorry to put it down for good! I would definately reccommend it!!
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category