Lucy and Danae: Something Silly This Way Comes and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 14.40
  • List Price: CDN$ 19.95
  • You Save: CDN$ 5.55 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Lucy and Danae: Something Silly This Way Comes Paperback – Apr 1 2005


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 14.40
CDN$ 10.17 CDN$ 11.34

2014 Books Gift Guide
Thug Kitchen is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas



Product Details

  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing (April 1 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0740750992
  • ISBN-13: 978-0740750991
  • Product Dimensions: 21.6 x 0.8 x 22.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 272 g
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #249,945 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

About the Author

Wiley Miller began his career as a political cartoonist in 1976, and his incisive drawings have won him several honors, including, in 1991, the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award. He moved to Iowa City, Iowa, in 1992 to devote his full-warped attention to Non Sequitur. Non Sequitur is the only cartoon to win National Cartoonists Society awards in both the comic strip and comic panel categories, and Wiley Miller is the only cartoonist to win a Reuben in his first year of syndication.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

By Parka HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on Feb. 12 2009
Format: Paperback
Length: 0:10 Mins
Lucy and Danae is a series that spin out of Non Sequitur by Wiley Miller. They are two of my favourite characters. A conceited little girl named Danae with her incredibly sarcastic donkey friend Lucy.

The jokes are hilarious. The chemistry between those two are just amazing. Life is almost always wacky with them around.

Included are the collection of comic strips, dailies and Sunday coloured panels, that have appear on the daily strips.

For fans of Wiley Miller, I have no hesitation recommending this book. It's brilliant.

Visit my Amazon profile for other reviews.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 17 reviews
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
"Death Before Conformity!" April 29 2005
By wiredweird - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Danae, the queen of attitude.

She's the one who wraps herself in an American flag, so that any offense against her whim of iron is an offense against all that America stands for. She's the one who feels that explosives, combustibles, and Ken dolls have a natural affinity for each other. She's the one who wants to preach the pleasures of the Taliban to the Jehovah's Witnesses, which she describes as "enlightening the deserving."

Then there's Lucy, the pygmy pony. I'm not sure what to say about Lucy, except that she's the best critter in comics since Calvin's Hobbes went off to that "Best Of" collection in the sky.

Wiley's cartoons always present a warped, cynical, and utterly accurate view of the world. He keeps Danae around as the voice of his most thoroughly warped accuracy. I gues that's part of what earns her a whole branch of her own in Santa's "naughty or nice" division - the branch that keeps putting in for overtime and hazard pay.

This collection brings over a hundred pages of dailies and Sunday color funnies. I could wish that the Sunday strips were a bit bigger - some are small enough to interfere with easy reading. And, as with every other Wiley collection I've seen, the back cover comes way too soon.

Still, this one is worthwhile for every comics fan and essential for Wiley fans. In fact, it might even turn youinto a Wiley fan - but then you'll have the book already and be way ahead of the game. Go ahead, enjoy Danae in all her dark-clad glory.

//wiredweird
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Lucy and Danae rock, but this compilation doesn't March 16 2006
By J. Yabut - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I've been following Danae's antics in the Nonsequitur strip for the past 3-4 years. In fact, she was the reason why I started reading Nonsequitur, period. She reminds me of a smarter (though she also gets poor grades) female version of Calvin (you know, the boy with the stuffed tiger).

Introducing Danae to Lucy was one of the best things to happen to that strip. Danae found her match in a smart-talking horse, who also managed to temper Danae's cynicism a *little*. Even though Lucy happens to be a talking horse, she isn't totally "humanized" like other talking critters. She retains many animal-like characteristics, like her tendency to "drop a load" in not-so-appropriate settings - like Danae's classroom (it isn't possible to housebreak a horse, right?)

On to this first compilation: I must say, I was a bit disappointed. There seems to be many strips that are missing; stories stop and start without any rhyme or reason. If I remember correctly, though the strip is called "Nonsequitur", the Lucy and Danae stories were actually a bit organized. Part of the problem is that this collection only includes panels that feature both characters - when during the course of the strip, a lot of action happened in the absence of either Lucy or Danae. Maybe if this was a collection focusing on Danae - with Lucy as a bonus - it would've been a little more coherent.

My other complaint is that this collection is too darn short, and they tried to hide the lack of content by spreading a single strip over a whole page. It's not $12 worth of dailies.

I'm still a fan of Lucy and Danae, and will continue to follow their exploits. I just hope that the next compilation (if there is one) is a bit more substantial. Two out of five stars.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Great collection! June 4 2006
By beanbug - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Wiley Miller has become one of my favorite cartoonists. He's one of those unusual cartoonists who uses both continuing characters with a storyline and non-character gags in the same strip. He's also more than a little political, which may not be to everyone's tastes.

This book gathers the strips featuring Danae, cunning and willful daughter out to get her own way, and her horse, Lucy. Laugh out loud funny social satire at its best! (A personal favorite: Danae trying to shock her father by wanting to go door to door to Jehovah's Witnesses and preach the joys of joining the Taliban.)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Brilliant characters Dec 31 2008
By Parka - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Lucy and Danae is a series that spin out of Non Sequitur by Wiley Miller. They are two of my favourite characters. A conceited little girl named Danae with her incredibly sarcastic donkey friend Lucy.

The jokes are hilarious. The chemistry between those two are just amazing. Life is almost always wacky with them around.

Included are the collection of comic strips, dailies and Sunday coloured panels, that have appear on the daily strips.

For fans of Wiley Miller, I have no hesitation recommending this book. It's brilliant.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Share a giggle Sept. 1 2008
By Mrs. S. M. Mcintosh - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
If you enjoyed Calvin & Hobbes, this will really tickle your funny bone.


Feedback