Lucy and Danae and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Lucy and Danae on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Lucy and Danae: Something Silly This Way Comes [Paperback]

Wiley Miller
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
List Price: CDN$ 19.95
Price: CDN$ 14.40 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 5.55 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Tuesday, September 23? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $4.34  
Paperback CDN $14.40  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

April 1 2005
It is a rare cartoonist who can introduce new characters into a successful strip without upsetting readers. But since Wiley introduced Lucy, the lovable Pygmy-Clydesdale-with-an-attitude as the companion to Danae, Non Sequitur's cynical anti-heroine, fans have been clamoring for more of the pair. Now readers can enjoy the adventures of Lucy and Danae in the Non Sequitur collection dedicated to their exploits, Lucy and Danae: Something Silly This Way Comes.

Lucy's lovable equine goofiness tempers Danae's overdeveloped cynicism as Danae struggles with school, her father, and her sunny little sister, Kate. World-weary beyond her years, Danae sports a skull-in-heart T-shirt and perpetual scowl, while Lucy embodies unbridled optimism with her horsey grin. From their first meeting at summer camp, to Danae's "sneaky yet noble" plot to train Lucy as a guide horse for the blind (they do exist!), to an unplanned expedition to Santa's Workshop (in Maine, not the North Pole), Danae and Lucy turn the cliche of a sentimental girl and her horse upside down and inside out. With Lucy and Danae, Wiley Miller has found a winning combination that readers can't resist.


Product Details


Product Description

About the Author

Wiley Miller began his career as a political cartoonist in 1976, and his incisive drawings have won him several honors, including, in 1991, the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award. He moved to Iowa City, Iowa, in 1992 to devote his full-warped attention to Non Sequitur. Non Sequitur is the only cartoon to win National Cartoonists Society awards in both the comic strip and comic panel categories, and Wiley Miller is the only cartoonist to win a Reuben in his first year of syndication.

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant characters Feb. 12 2009
By Parka HALL OF FAME TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Length: 0:10 Mins
Lucy and Danae is a series that spin out of Non Sequitur by Wiley Miller. They are two of my favourite characters. A conceited little girl named Danae with her incredibly sarcastic donkey friend Lucy.

The jokes are hilarious. The chemistry between those two are just amazing. Life is almost always wacky with them around.

Included are the collection of comic strips, dailies and Sunday coloured panels, that have appear on the daily strips.

For fans of Wiley Miller, I have no hesitation recommending this book. It's brilliant.

Visit my Amazon profile for other reviews.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  15 reviews
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Death Before Conformity!" April 29 2005
By wiredweird - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Danae, the queen of attitude.

She's the one who wraps herself in an American flag, so that any offense against her whim of iron is an offense against all that America stands for. She's the one who feels that explosives, combustibles, and Ken dolls have a natural affinity for each other. She's the one who wants to preach the pleasures of the Taliban to the Jehovah's Witnesses, which she describes as "enlightening the deserving."

Then there's Lucy, the pygmy pony. I'm not sure what to say about Lucy, except that she's the best critter in comics since Calvin's Hobbes went off to that "Best Of" collection in the sky.

Wiley's cartoons always present a warped, cynical, and utterly accurate view of the world. He keeps Danae around as the voice of his most thoroughly warped accuracy. I gues that's part of what earns her a whole branch of her own in Santa's "naughty or nice" division - the branch that keeps putting in for overtime and hazard pay.

This collection brings over a hundred pages of dailies and Sunday color funnies. I could wish that the Sunday strips were a bit bigger - some are small enough to interfere with easy reading. And, as with every other Wiley collection I've seen, the back cover comes way too soon.

Still, this one is worthwhile for every comics fan and essential for Wiley fans. In fact, it might even turn youinto a Wiley fan - but then you'll have the book already and be way ahead of the game. Go ahead, enjoy Danae in all her dark-clad glory.

//wiredweird
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lucy and Danae rock, but this compilation doesn't March 16 2006
By J. Yabut - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I've been following Danae's antics in the Nonsequitur strip for the past 3-4 years. In fact, she was the reason why I started reading Nonsequitur, period. She reminds me of a smarter (though she also gets poor grades) female version of Calvin (you know, the boy with the stuffed tiger).

Introducing Danae to Lucy was one of the best things to happen to that strip. Danae found her match in a smart-talking horse, who also managed to temper Danae's cynicism a *little*. Even though Lucy happens to be a talking horse, she isn't totally "humanized" like other talking critters. She retains many animal-like characteristics, like her tendency to "drop a load" in not-so-appropriate settings - like Danae's classroom (it isn't possible to housebreak a horse, right?)

On to this first compilation: I must say, I was a bit disappointed. There seems to be many strips that are missing; stories stop and start without any rhyme or reason. If I remember correctly, though the strip is called "Nonsequitur", the Lucy and Danae stories were actually a bit organized. Part of the problem is that this collection only includes panels that feature both characters - when during the course of the strip, a lot of action happened in the absence of either Lucy or Danae. Maybe if this was a collection focusing on Danae - with Lucy as a bonus - it would've been a little more coherent.

My other complaint is that this collection is too darn short, and they tried to hide the lack of content by spreading a single strip over a whole page. It's not $12 worth of dailies.

I'm still a fan of Lucy and Danae, and will continue to follow their exploits. I just hope that the next compilation (if there is one) is a bit more substantial. Two out of five stars.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection! June 4 2006
By beanbug - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Wiley Miller has become one of my favorite cartoonists. He's one of those unusual cartoonists who uses both continuing characters with a storyline and non-character gags in the same strip. He's also more than a little political, which may not be to everyone's tastes.

This book gathers the strips featuring Danae, cunning and willful daughter out to get her own way, and her horse, Lucy. Laugh out loud funny social satire at its best! (A personal favorite: Danae trying to shock her father by wanting to go door to door to Jehovah's Witnesses and preach the joys of joining the Taliban.)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant characters Dec 31 2008
By Parka - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Lucy and Danae is a series that spin out of Non Sequitur by Wiley Miller. They are two of my favourite characters. A conceited little girl named Danae with her incredibly sarcastic donkey friend Lucy.

The jokes are hilarious. The chemistry between those two are just amazing. Life is almost always wacky with them around.

Included are the collection of comic strips, dailies and Sunday coloured panels, that have appear on the daily strips.

For fans of Wiley Miller, I have no hesitation recommending this book. It's brilliant.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Share a giggle Sept. 1 2008
By Mrs. S. M. Mcintosh - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
If you enjoyed Calvin & Hobbes, this will really tickle your funny bone.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback