Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

CDN$ 11.62 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by music4sure Ca

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
cddvd4u_ca Add to Cart
CDN$ 11.59
nagiry Add to Cart
CDN$ 14.15
dodax-online Add to Cart
CDN$ 14.62
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Lyla

Avishai Cohen Audio CD
3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
Price: CDN$ 11.62
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 9 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by music4sure Ca.
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


1. Ascension
2. Lyla
3. How Long
4. The Watcher
5. The Evolving Etude
6. Structure In Emotion
7. Handsonit
8. Come Together
9. How Long (Reflected)
10. Eternal Child
11. Simple Melody

Product Description

Product Description


Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
3.3 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars This Album Grooves Dec 3 2003
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
Avishai's new album is an impressive achievement and is similar to his previous albums in that it is loaded with worldly rhythms and hummable melodies. It is very different sonically though with Cohen's use of synthesizer, keyboards, and electronic effects combined with acoustic instruments. The album also showcases Cohen's prowess on the electric bass more prominently, particularly on "Handsonit" a number which features a fleet fingered melody with electric bass and horns giving way to a soulful bridge and a great trumpet tradeoff. "Eternal Child" finds Avishai back on Acoustic Bass in a duet with Chick Corea, and his own Piano solo "Structure in Emotion" is an interesting piece as well. Go check this out.. a forward thinking album by a distinctive artist.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding. Period. Feb. 15 2004
By Hock
Format:Audio CD
I bought Lyla after hearing the title track and 'Ascension' on the radio so this is my first exposure to Mr. Cohen. This album has a dark, ambient quality that I have noticed in recent works from Brad Mehldau, coupled with choral vocals and trumpet that evoke Donald Byrd's "A New Perspective".
The tracks are extremely versatile with Avishai handling both acoustic and electric basses as well as various keyed instruments including Fender Rhodes piano.
This is a wonderful, accessible album to even the newcomer to jazz. Highly recommended. Avishai Cohen is one cool cat.
Was this review helpful to you?
1.0 out of 5 stars A Big Disappointment Jan. 29 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
I was given this album as a present and am thankful that I did not pay for it. Instead of the daring Jazz music I had known Cohen's previous albums to be, this mish-mash of an album left me deeply disappointed. Is he a pianist or vocalist or bassist?
Who cares anymore...
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.7 out of 5 stars  7 reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Album Grooves Dec 3 2003
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Avishai's new album is an impressive achievement and is similar to his previous albums in that it is loaded with worldly rhythms and hummable melodies. It is very different sonically though with Cohen's use of synthesizer, keyboards, and electronic effects combined with acoustic instruments. The album also showcases Cohen's prowess on the electric bass more prominently, particularly on "Handsonit" a number which features a fleet fingered melody with electric bass and horns giving way to a soulful bridge and a great trumpet tradeoff. "Eternal Child" finds Avishai back on Acoustic Bass in a duet with Chick Corea, and his own Piano solo "Structure in Emotion" is an interesting piece as well. Go check this out.. a forward thinking album by a distinctive artist.
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding. Period. Feb. 15 2004
By Hock - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
I bought Lyla after hearing the title track and 'Ascension' on the radio so this is my first exposure to Mr. Cohen. This album has a dark, ambient quality that I have noticed in recent works from Brad Mehldau, coupled with choral vocals and trumpet that evoke Donald Byrd's "A New Perspective".
The tracks are extremely versatile with Avishai handling both acoustic and electric basses as well as various keyed instruments including Fender Rhodes piano.
This is a wonderful, accessible album to even the newcomer to jazz. Highly recommended. Avishai Cohen is one cool cat.
5.0 out of 5 stars great compositions, and some great electric fretless work that ... Aug. 9 2014
By JOHN - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
I've just recently started to check Avishai's music out again. I had his first cd, but I never could really get into it. I think either my musical ear has matured over the years, or his music has developed into something so much more than it once was. This cd has a lot of groove, great compositions, and some great electric fretless work that I never realized he did. I only heard Avishai on acoustic and never realized that he did any electric playing. This is a great cd that has me hooked. I've been buying all of his stuff and I will continue picking up the rest soon.
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Brother Cohen for doing what you do! Dec 14 2013
By MsMel - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Brother Cohen continues to express himself by letting his passions guide him. He plays what moves him versus what people want him to play or expect him to play. Beautiful performance. Keep doing your thing!
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy an Avishai Cohen album, just not this one. Sept. 15 2005
By MEAS - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Cohen remains one of my favorite contemporary composers and musicians, but amony his body of work there are a few duds. This is one of them. "Unity" is another. While even on these albums there are moments of raw brilliance, there is a tendency to become to groove-oriented, become bogged-down, even, dare I say it, smooth.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback