CDN$ 11.62 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by music4sure Ca
Quantity:1

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 11.99
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: cddvd4u_ca
Add to Cart
CDN$ 12.00
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: usedsalesca
Add to Cart
CDN$ 12.47
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Rarewaves-CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
Colour:
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
      

Lyla


Price: CDN$ 11.62
Only 9 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by music4sure Ca.
14 new from CDN$ 11.62 1 used from CDN$ 29.59

Artists to Watch
Artists to Watch
Be the first to hear about the hottest emerging artists. Featuring ten new artists each month, Artists to Watch will help you stay in the know when it comes to up-and-coming artists. See all of this month's picks

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 15 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sunny Side
  • ASIN: B0000C505T
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #54,207 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Ascension
2. Lyla
3. How Long
4. The Watcher
5. The Evolving Etude
6. Structure In Emotion
7. Handsonit
8. Come Together
9. How Long (Reflected)
10. Eternal Child
11. Simple Melody

Product Description

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

By A Customer on Dec 3 2003
Format: Audio CD
Avishai's new album is an impressive achievement and is similar to his previous albums in that it is loaded with worldly rhythms and hummable melodies. It is very different sonically though with Cohen's use of synthesizer, keyboards, and electronic effects combined with acoustic instruments. The album also showcases Cohen's prowess on the electric bass more prominently, particularly on "Handsonit" a number which features a fleet fingered melody with electric bass and horns giving way to a soulful bridge and a great trumpet tradeoff. "Eternal Child" finds Avishai back on Acoustic Bass in a duet with Chick Corea, and his own Piano solo "Structure in Emotion" is an interesting piece as well. Go check this out.. a forward thinking album by a distinctive artist.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Hock on Feb. 15 2004
Format: Audio CD
I bought Lyla after hearing the title track and 'Ascension' on the radio so this is my first exposure to Mr. Cohen. This album has a dark, ambient quality that I have noticed in recent works from Brad Mehldau, coupled with choral vocals and trumpet that evoke Donald Byrd's "A New Perspective".
The tracks are extremely versatile with Avishai handling both acoustic and electric basses as well as various keyed instruments including Fender Rhodes piano.
This is a wonderful, accessible album to even the newcomer to jazz. Highly recommended. Avishai Cohen is one cool cat.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By A Customer on Jan. 29 2004
Format: Audio CD
I was given this album as a present and am thankful that I did not pay for it. Instead of the daring Jazz music I had known Cohen's previous albums to be, this mish-mash of an album left me deeply disappointed. Is he a pianist or vocalist or bassist?
Who cares anymore...
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 8 reviews
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
This Album Grooves Dec 3 2003
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Avishai's new album is an impressive achievement and is similar to his previous albums in that it is loaded with worldly rhythms and hummable melodies. It is very different sonically though with Cohen's use of synthesizer, keyboards, and electronic effects combined with acoustic instruments. The album also showcases Cohen's prowess on the electric bass more prominently, particularly on "Handsonit" a number which features a fleet fingered melody with electric bass and horns giving way to a soulful bridge and a great trumpet tradeoff. "Eternal Child" finds Avishai back on Acoustic Bass in a duet with Chick Corea, and his own Piano solo "Structure in Emotion" is an interesting piece as well. Go check this out.. a forward thinking album by a distinctive artist.
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Outstanding. Period. Feb. 15 2004
By Hock - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I bought Lyla after hearing the title track and 'Ascension' on the radio so this is my first exposure to Mr. Cohen. This album has a dark, ambient quality that I have noticed in recent works from Brad Mehldau, coupled with choral vocals and trumpet that evoke Donald Byrd's "A New Perspective".
The tracks are extremely versatile with Avishai handling both acoustic and electric basses as well as various keyed instruments including Fender Rhodes piano.
This is a wonderful, accessible album to even the newcomer to jazz. Highly recommended. Avishai Cohen is one cool cat.
great compositions, and some great electric fretless work that ... Aug. 9 2014
By JOHN - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I've just recently started to check Avishai's music out again. I had his first cd, but I never could really get into it. I think either my musical ear has matured over the years, or his music has developed into something so much more than it once was. This cd has a lot of groove, great compositions, and some great electric fretless work that I never realized he did. I only heard Avishai on acoustic and never realized that he did any electric playing. This is a great cd that has me hooked. I've been buying all of his stuff and I will continue picking up the rest soon.
Thank you Brother Cohen for doing what you do! Dec 14 2013
By MsMel - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Brother Cohen continues to express himself by letting his passions guide him. He plays what moves him versus what people want him to play or expect him to play. Beautiful performance. Keep doing your thing!
This brother is bad! Oct. 4 2014
By James Johnson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Hello KPLU it is time our jazz station in Seattle got with it and start playing the music of the new lions who were inspired by the greats. This recording is amazing!

Look for similar items by category


Feedback