Marrying the Mistress and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Marrying the Mistress on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Marrying The Mistress [Audio Cassette]

3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.



Product Details


Product Description

Book by Trollope, Joanna

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars MARRYING THE MISTRESS April 11 2012
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
The book showed signs of water damage in that there were moldy spots on the upper ends of the dust cover and on the spine of the book itself. Otherwise the book was fine.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love & Divorce in England Aug. 19 2002
Format:Hardcover
Previous to now I resisted reading Joanna Trollope's books although I don't know why. Then a friend recommended Marrying the Mistress and now I have found a new author to explore further. In the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, Trollope introduces us to ordinary people who are faced with changes and new challenges in their lives. And like Binchy and Pilcher, Trollope's characters become like family members who we come to appreciate and love.
Marrying the Mistress begins near London when Judge Guy Stockdale announces to his wife of 40 yeas that he wants a divorce. Not only does he want a divorce but he has already made plans to marry a woman, a 31 year old lawyer, who has been his mistress for the last seven years. As readers we now begin to see this revelation from different perspectives, the judges, his wife Laura, their two sons, a daughter-in law, grandchildren and finally Guy's mistress, Merrion. While sides are drawn over this dilemma, most of the characters would agree that the mistress is quite lovely. But as the plot develops and Guy's wife, at first pitiful and dependent becomes more assured leaving the reader to wonder what will happen next. When a series of startling events occur we watch as these people's lives are further disrupted and the changes in their lives have far reaching consequences.
Joanna Trollope, a resident of England and a descendant of Anthony Trollope, has a keen ear and eye not only for characters, but for their homes and surroundings areas. When the story takes place in Guy and Laura's suburban home we feel as if we are there and can see Laura's wonderful garden and the their dogs barking. And when Guy first meets Merrion during a train ride to London, we are seated next to them and privy to this meeting.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed first Trollope read Sept. 15 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Well, I enjoyed this. It's my first Joanna Trollope book and I thought she did a great job of showing the story from many points of view. A quick, easy and enjoyable read.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Versus Family Ties, Redux Aug. 26 2002
Format:Hardcover
Anyone who is familiar with Joanna Trollope's work knows that a theme she has visited in the majority of her books is the rippling effect of one's supposedly private actions on others. In her world, no man is an island, and everybody is ultimately responsible for the effects of his or her life decisions on those who are near and dear.
That's the premise behind "Marrying the Mistress," the story of a dignified and esteemed judge, Guy Stockwell, who announces out of the blue that he intends to divorce his wife of 40 years, Laura, and marry his heretofore secret mistress of 7 years, Merrian. The shockwaves from this decision, which the judge and Merrian had considered very private and personal, affect everyone in their lives, whether they want it to or not.
Thus, Laura, the self-centered, clinging, deliberately obtuse "wronged wife," becomes even more annoying, and drops all of her problems in the lap of her son Simon, a lawyer in his 30s with a wife and three children of his own. Laura plays the guilt card so successfully that Simon becomes hopelessly entwined in his parents' troubles. He cannot extricate himself, and this in turn puts dangerous pressure on his marriage. His wife, Carrie, feels that she now has to fight her mother-in-law for Simon's love and attention--and she is right. Carrie and Simon's older two children, teenaged Jack and Rachel, are terribly affected by their parents' unhappiness, and their younger sister starts to suffer from days-long headaches.
Simon's gay brother Alan, who has finally met the love of his life, just wants everybody to be happy so he can bask in the glow of his new relationship. His role is to continually smooth things over, only to have the "smoothing" rejected or ignored.
Merrion, the mistress, is much younger than Guy.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Paperback
This book give a complexity of how family and community are affected by Guy's announcement to leave his wife of forty years for a much younger woman. Laura Stockdale, the wife, has become her husband's shadow leaning on her married son Simon at his family's disapproval. Her neighbor Wendy encourages her to get on with her life but she refuses and is determined to make Guy pay for what he has done. Simon, the older son, lets his parents' breakup become an obsession which nearly destroys his family. Alan, Simon's other son, takes the breakup well.
Merrion Palmer, Guy's mistress of seven years, never had a real sense of what makes up a family. Despite her strong characteristcs, she yearns for a male dominant figure. Merrion grew up with her mother and grandmother. She was too young when her father died and her stepfather hardly exists.
This is the first novel I read of Ms. Trollope's and I have to say I was very impressed with her style of writing. The relationship between Guy and Merrion isn't sexually candid, but it does detail why married spouses do have affairs.
Was this review helpful to you?
By margot
Format:Paperback
I kept waiting for the development of the relationship between Guy Stockdale and Merrion Palmer once the news of their passionate 7 year affair became public knowledge. What I got was the relationship of Carrie Stockdale to every other character in the book. I found myself being more and more irritated as I progressed with the story. I would not have bothered to even consider reading it if I had known the protagonist was going to be the over-bearing , opinionated , inconsequential daughter-in-law. I was hoping for a love story that followed THE COUPLE through their relationship and their processing of the reactions from everyone all around them. I could have been interested in the wife who, after devoting an adult lifetime to one man, was left high and dry without a clue. I was not in the least bit interested in Carrie and Simons spoiled children and their relationship with each other. That would have been another book, which in no way would have been of interest to me.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Her Best
If you are a Joanna Trollope fan, this will seem as if she simply phoned it in. Maybe this novel suffers in comparison to the others because the characters here aren't as fully... Read more
Published on Aug. 9 2001
3.0 out of 5 stars HO-HUM
Marrying the Mistress was a disappointing read. Trollope gives family life good detail, but neglects to portray any sympathetic characters. Read more
Published on Oct. 10 2000 by Faireheart
2.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite authors, but not my favorite book
I loved "The Spanish Lover" and that inspired me to read more of her books. Unfortunetly, I was disappointed in this one. Read more
Published on Sept. 24 2000 by Suzanne E. Anderson
4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes Slow
I found this book to be a bit slow in places, I couldn't quite get into the characters until about half way through. Read more
Published on Sept. 22 2000 by Mary Stanley
5.0 out of 5 stars True to life
This is the first book by Joanna Trollope that I've read and I really enjoyed it. Her characters are so well written and so true to life. Read more
Published on Aug. 2 2000 by C. L. Scheer
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!
Loved this book! By the time I was done, I felt as though I knew these characters intimately. This was the first time I had read one of her books and I am going to definately... Read more
Published on July 24 2000
5.0 out of 5 stars Marrying the Mistress
Trollope departs from her usual device of following two paths resulting from a single starting point (the twin sisters in Spanish Lover, etc. Read more
Published on July 14 2000 by Vera
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback