Marvellous Hairy and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 14.84
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Marvellous Hairy Paperback – Jul 20 2010


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 14.84
CDN$ 7.62 CDN$ 5.07

2014 Books Gift Guide
Yes Please is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas


Product Details

  • Paperback: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Monkeyjoy Press (July 20 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0986662704
  • ISBN-13: 978-0986662706
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 1.6 x 20.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 381 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,206,714 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Cleremy Jart on Oct. 21 2010
Format: Paperback
Not knowing what to expect when I opened the novel, I thought it would be hard to find surprise; I could not have been more wrong. The book jumps at a quick pace between plot lines and sub-plots. It was almost enough to make me need a rest to breathe after some chapters, but it was thoroughly enjoyable nonetheless.

The story is very engaging, and the characters have a feel almost real enough to think that the author was simply transcribing them from people he knows. The plot, however, puts any thoughts of 'reality' to rest. Based in a believable setting but with unbelievable science (much of the fun!), the book makes for an entertaining read.

It's not a difficult read, so don't be scared by its off-beat subject matter or dialogue (particularly Tundra's...). Go and get a copy!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
I've just finished this gallimaufry of a novel. At times and in differing degrees `Marvellous Hairy' is confused, funny, outrageous, and strident. Our narrator, Robbie Goodman, is frequently overwhelmed by the cacophonous voices of his fellow travellers, and I sometimes couldn't be sure who was telling me what. Did it matter? Not really: there is only one destination for this novel and readers will arrive there, or they won't.

I have mixed feelings about this novel: at times the action was overwhelmed by dialogue and description. The various elements of the story, believable, unbelievable and sometimes just bizarre fit together well and make their own form of sense. Following Nick Motbot's evolution, seeing the various bad guys get their comeuppance while the good guys get their just rewards is entertaining. It's not all comic relief, there are some serious issues as well: just ask Nick Motbot about his inner monkey.

But be warned. This is not a linear narrative and unless you are willing to laugh at the ridiculous and are tolerant of the silly this may not be a book for you. Some days, I'm quite sure, it wouldn't be a book for me.

`Hey, I said this wasn't a classy story.'

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By randerson on Dec 22 2010
Format: Paperback
Fans of Phillip K. Dick or Phillip Jose Farmer should definitely check out this book. Always vibrant, often hilarious and profane (even a little dirty at times), the novel is a brisk, enjoyable read. While the plot is outlandish and absurd, the characters - particularly the narrator - keep the story grounded. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.


Feedback