Marvellous Hairy and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Marvellous Hairy on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Marvellous Hairy [Paperback]

Mark A. Rayner
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 13.94
Price: CDN$ 13.61 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 0.33 (2%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, July 31? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $5.50  
Paperback CDN $13.61  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

July 20 2010
So hair is sprouting in unspeakable places and you can no longer carry a tune, but if you're a surrealistic artiste with an addiction to Freudian mythology and guilt-free sex, turning into a monkey has its upsides. Nick Motbot may be evolving as a novelist, but his friends aren't too sure about his DNA -- at least, not since Gargantuan Enterprises started experimenting with it. And once they figure out what's happening to him, they decide to set things right. MARVELLOUS HAIRY is a satirical novel about a group of friends sticking it to the man the only way they know how, with equal parts grain alcohol and applied Chaos Theory.

Product Details


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wild and wacky ride April 22 2011
Format:Paperback
I knew I wanted to read this book when I heard the author read from it at WorldCon in Montreal. For one thing, the section he read from was set in a drugstore. Now, my husband is a pharmacist, and believe me, the vast comedic possibilities of drugstores are a gold mine most satire and humour writers seem to miss. The fact that Mark Rayner had recognized this made me respect him instantly. The reading only got better from there, by turns funny, absurd, and poignant, and I knew I wanted to know more.

I wasn't disppointed. This book is not going to be for everyone; you have to be open to the surreal, the absurd, and alarmingly incisive reflections of the corporate world, and be able to laugh at them all. Don't pick it up if you're opposed to some...er...ribaldry (let's just say I haven't lent this book to my mother or my 16-year-old daughter), or if you dislike reading about monkeys, lizards, cross-species genetic manuipulation, ghosts, corporate greed, or chaos theory.

However, if you do like the things listed above, as well as absurdist humour, fast-paced writing, clever wit, mockery of institutions, a bit of slap-and-tickle, loyalty, love, and a chronicling of the gradual descent from human to simian brain, then you should really enjoy Marvellous Hairy.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satiric sci-fi Dec 22 2010
Format:Paperback
Fans of Phillip K. Dick or Phillip Jose Farmer should definitely check out this book. Always vibrant, often hilarious and profane (even a little dirty at times), the novel is a brisk, enjoyable read. While the plot is outlandish and absurd, the characters - particularly the narrator - keep the story grounded. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Marvelous June 3 2012
Format:Paperback
Marvellous Hairy is a wonderfully written tale that engrosses you from beginning to end. Rayner throws a lot at you, packing the story with characters, subplots, and information, but does so tastefully. Instead of being overwhelmed, I was just captivated with Rayner's writing.

Rayner packs in the characters in this novel, but gives the reader a guide as to who everyone is at the beginning. Much like a Shakespearean play, which I reckon Rayner pulled a lot of inspiration from, a list of characters is provided to remind the reader who everyone is and their relation to each other. I was especially thankful for this, as I could follow the novel perfectly without getting confused.

The novel is entertaining and witty, but with the additional themes of the strength of friendship and the dangers of corporate greed, among others. The comedy and serious parts balance each other out and contribute to an overall great piece.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback