Marvellous Hairy and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 13.61
  • List Price: CDN$ 13.94
  • You Save: CDN$ 0.33 (2%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Marvellous Hairy Paperback – Jul 20 2010


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 13.61
CDN$ 7.11 CDN$ 6.84

Join Amazon Student in Canada


NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Monkeyjoy Press (July 20 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0986662704
  • ISBN-13: 978-0986662706
  • Product Dimensions: 1.6 x 12.5 x 20 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 381 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #982,408 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By S. D. Ramsey on April 22 2011
Format: Paperback
I knew I wanted to read this book when I heard the author read from it at WorldCon in Montreal. For one thing, the section he read from was set in a drugstore. Now, my husband is a pharmacist, and believe me, the vast comedic possibilities of drugstores are a gold mine most satire and humour writers seem to miss. The fact that Mark Rayner had recognized this made me respect him instantly. The reading only got better from there, by turns funny, absurd, and poignant, and I knew I wanted to know more.

I wasn't disppointed. This book is not going to be for everyone; you have to be open to the surreal, the absurd, and alarmingly incisive reflections of the corporate world, and be able to laugh at them all. Don't pick it up if you're opposed to some...er...ribaldry (let's just say I haven't lent this book to my mother or my 16-year-old daughter), or if you dislike reading about monkeys, lizards, cross-species genetic manuipulation, ghosts, corporate greed, or chaos theory.

However, if you do like the things listed above, as well as absurdist humour, fast-paced writing, clever wit, mockery of institutions, a bit of slap-and-tickle, loyalty, love, and a chronicling of the gradual descent from human to simian brain, then you should really enjoy Marvellous Hairy.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By randerson on Dec 22 2010
Format: Paperback
Fans of Phillip K. Dick or Phillip Jose Farmer should definitely check out this book. Always vibrant, often hilarious and profane (even a little dirty at times), the novel is a brisk, enjoyable read. While the plot is outlandish and absurd, the characters - particularly the narrator - keep the story grounded. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Laura Haggart on June 3 2012
Format: Paperback
Marvellous Hairy is a wonderfully written tale that engrosses you from beginning to end. Rayner throws a lot at you, packing the story with characters, subplots, and information, but does so tastefully. Instead of being overwhelmed, I was just captivated with Rayner's writing.

Rayner packs in the characters in this novel, but gives the reader a guide as to who everyone is at the beginning. Much like a Shakespearean play, which I reckon Rayner pulled a lot of inspiration from, a list of characters is provided to remind the reader who everyone is and their relation to each other. I was especially thankful for this, as I could follow the novel perfectly without getting confused.

The novel is entertaining and witty, but with the additional themes of the strength of friendship and the dangers of corporate greed, among others. The comedy and serious parts balance each other out and contribute to an overall great piece.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.


Feedback