Marvellous Hairy and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Marvellous Hairy on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Marvellous Hairy [Paperback]

Mark A. Rayner
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
Price: CDN$ 14.52 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Tuesday, October 28? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $5.50  
Paperback CDN $14.52  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

July 20 2010
So hair is sprouting in unspeakable places and you can no longer carry a tune, but if you're a surrealistic artiste with an addiction to Freudian mythology and guilt-free sex, turning into a monkey has its upsides. Nick Motbot may be evolving as a novelist, but his friends aren't too sure about his DNA -- at least, not since Gargantuan Enterprises started experimenting with it. And once they figure out what's happening to him, they decide to set things right. MARVELLOUS HAIRY is a satirical novel about a group of friends sticking it to the man the only way they know how, with equal parts grain alcohol and applied Chaos Theory.

Product Details


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully irregular Oct. 21 2010
Format:Paperback
Not knowing what to expect when I opened the novel, I thought it would be hard to find surprise; I could not have been more wrong. The book jumps at a quick pace between plot lines and sub-plots. It was almost enough to make me need a rest to breathe after some chapters, but it was thoroughly enjoyable nonetheless.

The story is very engaging, and the characters have a feel almost real enough to think that the author was simply transcribing them from people he knows. The plot, however, puts any thoughts of 'reality' to rest. Based in a believable setting but with unbelievable science (much of the fun!), the book makes for an entertaining read.

It's not a difficult read, so don't be scared by its off-beat subject matter or dialogue (particularly Tundra's...). Go and get a copy!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars `Release your inner monkey.' Aug. 2 2010
By Jennifer Cameron-Smith TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
I've just finished this gallimaufry of a novel. At times and in differing degrees `Marvellous Hairy' is confused, funny, outrageous, and strident. Our narrator, Robbie Goodman, is frequently overwhelmed by the cacophonous voices of his fellow travellers, and I sometimes couldn't be sure who was telling me what. Did it matter? Not really: there is only one destination for this novel and readers will arrive there, or they won't.

I have mixed feelings about this novel: at times the action was overwhelmed by dialogue and description. The various elements of the story, believable, unbelievable and sometimes just bizarre fit together well and make their own form of sense. Following Nick Motbot's evolution, seeing the various bad guys get their comeuppance while the good guys get their just rewards is entertaining. It's not all comic relief, there are some serious issues as well: just ask Nick Motbot about his inner monkey.

But be warned. This is not a linear narrative and unless you are willing to laugh at the ridiculous and are tolerant of the silly this may not be a book for you. Some days, I'm quite sure, it wouldn't be a book for me.

`Hey, I said this wasn't a classy story.'

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satiric sci-fi Dec 22 2010
Format:Paperback
Fans of Phillip K. Dick or Phillip Jose Farmer should definitely check out this book. Always vibrant, often hilarious and profane (even a little dirty at times), the novel is a brisk, enjoyable read. While the plot is outlandish and absurd, the characters - particularly the narrator - keep the story grounded. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback