Mass In B Min has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Mass In B Min
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Mass In B Min Original recording remastered, Import

Price: CDN$ 16.03 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
12 new from CDN$ 8.75 3 used from CDN$ 10.68

Product Details

Disc: 1
1. Kyrie eleison
2. Christe eleison
3. Kyrie eleison
4. Gloria in excelsis Deo
5. Laudamus te
6. Gratias agimus tibi
7. Domine Deus
8. Qui tollis peccata mundi
9. Qui sedes ad dextram Patris
10. Quoniam tu solus sanctus
See all 14 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Et incarnatus est
2. Crucifixus
3. Et resurrexit
4. Et in Spiritum Sanctum Dominum
5. Confiteor unum baptisma
6. Et expecto resurrectionem
7. Sanctus
8. Osanna in excelsis
9. Benedictus
10. Osanna in excelsis
See all 17 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Interesting Early Karajan Sept. 5 2009
By Virginia Opera Fan - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Karajan's early recording of many standard repertory items have always impressed me as more interesting than his later re-makes - after, perhaps, being Karajan went to his head. So it is with this 1952/3 recording of the B Minor. Rhythms are well sprung and while slow by current standards, the tempos aren't as lugubrious as Karajan's DG stereo effort of over a decade later. The cadential retards sound mannered today as does the prolonged final chord in the "Dona nobis pacem."

Choruses were recorded in Vienna with the Vienna Singverein and Orchestra. Solos were recorded in EMI's Abbey Road studios using Legge's Philharmonia and a singers including a relatively young Schwarzkopf and a very young Gedda. Schwarzkopf and Gedda are the stand-outs in the quartet, both in very fresh voice. Hoffgen is a very good alto, but suffers in comparison to the Kathleen Ferrier of the "bonus" tracks included in the issue. The only criticism of Rehfuss is that the lowest notes just aren't in his voice.

The Vienna orchestra is Ok, but comes off second best to Legge's hand picked Philharmonia forces. The Singverein sopranos won't win any prizes for tonal beauty or pinpoint accuracy, but the choral singing is by and large pretty good. The Vienna sessions aren't exactly helped by the harsh and dry sound of the Musikvereinsaal in comparison to the more colorful sonic picture achieved in the London studio. Interestingly, the bonus experimental recordings of Karajan's rehearsals for a 1950 broadcast of the Mass in some ways sound more mellifluous than the later sessions. Speaking of those rehearal excerpts, the singing of Kathleen Ferrier is extraordinary in tonal beauty and intensity and makes me appreciate anew just what a great artist the world lost in her early death.
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Von Karajan Dissapoints Dec 31 2007
By Dinergrl - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I love this piece. Unfortunately, this recording suffers in many areas. The sound is muddled. The soloists are just OK. But the primary sin is the choral singing - the heart and soul of the piece. The chorus is unprepared, or just incompetant. The choir is so muddled that one can barely make out the musical lines. Not a chance on discerning the words.

What a shame for Bach and Von Karajan lovers. Go with the old, but beuatiful Eugene Jochum recording.