boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Auto Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide
Start reading Middle School: Get Me out of Here! - Free Preview on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for

Middle School: Get Me out of Here! - Free Preview (The First 19 Chapters) [Kindle Edition]

James Patterson , Chris Tebbetts , Laura Park
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 9.27
Kindle Price: CDN$ 0.00 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 9.27 (100%)
Sold by: Hachette Book Group Digital, Inc.
This price was set by the publisher

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books even without a Kindle device with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Paperback CDN $9.20  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel, please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description


A #1 New York Times Bestseller
An Indiebound Bestseller
One of Barnes & Noble's Best Books of 2012

Praise for Middle School: Get Me out of Here!:
"Patterson and Tebbetts have created strong characters and relationships throughout the novel. Rafe has his triumphs and failures, but he's a realistic kid whom readers would want as a friend and coconspirator." (School Library Journal)

"Will be enjoyed by middle-grade boys, particularly reluctant readers." (VOYA)

"Short chapters and a partially graphic format are sure to appeal." (Booklist)

Praise for Middle School, The Worst Years of My Life:
A 2012 Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers title

* "As Patterson artfully weaves a deeper and more thought-provoking tale of childhood coping mechanisms and everyday school and family realities, readers are drawn into a deeper understanding of and compassion for the main characters." (School Library Journal, starred review)

"A keen appreciation of kids' insecurities and an even more astute understanding of what might propel boy readers through a book.... a perfectly pitched novel."
(Los Angeles Times)

"Cleverly delves into the events that make middle school so awkward: cranky bus drivers, tardy slips, bathroom passes and lots of rules.... Hopefully, this isn't the last we hear from Rafe Khatchadorian."
(The Associated Press)

"It's a chatty, funny, engaging book, one that often addresses the reader directly. It's filled with energetic cartoons... that will appeal to your little rebel, depicting teachers as dungeon-keepers, matadors and flying dragons. Patterson... knows how to structure a plot and builds in some surprising--even touching--twists.... Rafe is the bad boy with a heart of gold." (The New York Times)

"The book's... dynamic artwork and message that 'normal is boring' should go a long way toward assuring kids who don't fit the mold that there's a place for them, too." (Publishers Weekly)

"Incredibly detailed and imaginative illustrations . . . add depth and humor. . . . an enjoyable story that even the most reluctant readers should enjoy." (Library Media Connection)

"There is substance as well as appeal here.... Patterson deftly manages the pace of revelations that take readers deeper into Rafe's fragile trust.... Readers ready for something else in the same vein but more substantive than Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Peirce's Big Nate should be introduced to Rafe."
(Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books)

Product Description

James Patterson's winning follow-up to the #1 New York Times bestseller Middle School, The Worst Years of My Life--which the LA Times called "a perfectly pitched novel"--is another riotous and heartwarming story about living large.

After sixth grade, the very worst year of his life, Rafe Khatchadorian thinks he has it made in seventh grade. He's been accepted to art school in the big city and imagines a math-and-history-free fun zone.Wrong! It's more competitive than Rafe ever expected, and to score big in class, he needs to find a way to turn his boring life into the inspiration for a work of art. His method? Operation: Get a Life! Anything he's never done before, he's going to do it, from learning to play poker to going to a modern art museum. But when his newest mission uncovers secrets about the family Rafe's never known, he has to decide if he's ready to have his world turned upside down. (Includes over 100 illustrations.)

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 6009 KB
  • Print Length: 71 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1512395463
  • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (April 3 2012)
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group Digital, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006YC7A0Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,372 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Oct. 31 2013
By Melissa Greenberg TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Great preview of another great one by James Patterson. I always enjoy his books no matter if its for kids or adults!
Was this review helpful to you?
Report abuse
1.0 out of 5 stars not sure who this book is intended for Feb. 19 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
can't find anything good about this book. not something i would read to my kid. bad writing and poor story if it has one.
Was this review helpful to you?
Report abuse
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Jan. 7 2014
By SelmaP
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is funny and perfect for kids. I would recommend this book to whoever likes a good laugh and whoever is a kid.
Was this review helpful to you?
Report abuse
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle school get me out of here Sept. 19 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It was a ok book middle school get me out of here every one should read it I red it four times
Was this review helpful to you?
Report abuse
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.3 out of 5 stars  3,328 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a very good book! Nov. 4 2012
By Jon Edwards - Published on
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really liked it! I think it was really interesting and had a lot of suspense. You should read it!
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!! June 8 2012
A Kid's Review - Published on
Format:Kindle Edition
I love reading these kind of books. If you like Diary of a Wimpy Kid you will love this book I know I did!!!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Nov. 3 2013
By hottie - Published on
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is good for all ages . It has a good sense of humor.I didn't like when it was over but it was brilliant.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness Dec 25 2012
By Brianna Borysewicz - Published on
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is the best the best book yet! I was up all night reading the first and second book! These are obviously my 2 most favorite books! It had so much detail and I just love all the characters like, Rafe,Georgia,Jeanne and all of the other ones too. Like I said this is the best book ever!!

Brianna Borysewicz
P.S. sorry if you cannot pronounce my last name.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why didn't this great playwright write more than one novel? Aug. 8 2015
By Rick O - Published on
Why didn’t this great playwright write more than one novel? The leader of Great Britain’s (he was Irish) Aestheticism movement produced the definitive “giving pleasure through beauty” novel of all time. His character, Dorian Gray, was beautiful and wished to stay that way. Everybody adored him...even the men. Maybe Oscar lost his desire to write after being convicted of ‘gross indecency’ and sentenced with two years of hard labor. He died destitute at the age of 46. Why did writers like Wilde, Poe and Stevenson have to die so young and so poor. Alive today, they would all be rich sad. Wilde’s prose was fabulous but strangely not as descriptive as the writers of his time. Maybe Oscar Wilde is the missing link that I have been looking for: who started the new way of writing and ended the descriptive writing era? Can it be Oscar? Like all the novels of the era, it was first published by the way of installments in magazine form within Lippincott’s Monthly Magazine in 1890. Many Britains were outraged because they felt his novel violated public morality. He defended his story in a preface when it was published as a novel in 1891. Wouldn’t the Victorians be shocked if they lived in today’s world? So what’s this story about?

Artist Basil Hallward met Dorian Gray at a party in Lady Brandon’s mansion. The novel opens with Basil painting Dorian’s portrait with Lord Henry Wotton in attendance. The three become great friends as the novel progresses, often dining together at various posh clubs and restaurants. They are high society. Does Basil have a crush on Dorian? After the portrait is finished, Lord Henry tells Dorian, “Ah! realize your youth while you have it. Don’t squander the gold of your days, listening to the tedious, trying to improve the hopeless failure, or giving away your life to the ignorant, the common, and the vulgar. These are the sickly aims, the false ideals of our age. Live! Live the wonderful life that is in you!” On page 28 Dorian says, “How sad it is! I shall grow old, and horrible, and dreadful. But this picture will remain always young. It will never be older than this particular day of June...If it were only the other way! If it were I who was to be always young, and the picture that was to grow old! For that-for that-I would give everything! Yes, there is nothing in the whole world I would not give! I would give my soul for that!” His wish came true.

Dorian falls in love with the beautiful but destitute actress Sibyl Vane. He asks her to marry him. Sibyl’s mom and her brother, James Vane, suspect Dorian’s motives. James tells Sibyl that he will kill “Prince Charming” (the only name they know Dorian as) if he hurts his sister in any way. James leaves for Australia the next day in an attempt to better his life. Dorian takes his friends Basil and Lord Henry to the theater to see Sibyl act in Romeo and Juliet . Since she now knows what true love is (with Dorian), her acting is horrible. Dorian is embarrassed and tells Sibyl that he never wants to see her again. Later, Dorian sees that his painting now has a sneer. He decides that he will make up with Sibyl. Too late, she commits suicide. He seems indifferent and goes to the opera with his friends. He decides to hide his painting from everyone and has it brought upstairs to his old playroom and covers it with a purple curtain. “No one could see it. He himself would not see it. Why should he watch the hideous corruption of his soul?” The portrait was getting nasty looking.

The reader never truly learns the time span, but it seems that Dorian was 18 when the novel began and 38 when it ends. At the end, Dorian still looks 18 until the final page (ouch!). Wow, this novel was exciting, similar to the drama of Robert Louis Stevenson’s, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1886). There is so much to ask: Does James Vane come back from Australia and learn what happened to his sister? If so, what does he do? What happens to Dorian’s portrait painter and friend, Basil, when he sees the painting aging? Does Lord Henry remain friends with Dorian? And who is Alan Campbell and why does he commit suicide? Sometimes I wonder why I just don’t read the classics exclusively. I guess it is because I’m looking for the next Oscar Wilde, or whatever. Read this novel at your own risk. I did.
Search Customer Reviews

Look for similar items by category