Mielck: Symphony in F Mi... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Mielck: Symphony in F Minor;

Price: CDN$ 20.51 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
6 new from CDN$ 20.51

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 24 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ondine
  • ASIN: B00009IAY7
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #45,318 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I. Andante Maestoso-Allegro Energico
2. 2. Allegro Non Troppo
3. 3. Andante Cantabile
4. 4. Finale: Allegro
5. Andante Cantabile-Allegro Vivace

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa5c9c120) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6a49ed0) out of 5 stars An excellent piece of Finnish classical music June 14 2008
By Kaukoranta Heikki - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Symphony in F minor represents national romantic phase in Finnish music. The composer accomplished this symphony in the age of 20 and was deceased by tuberculosis at the age of 22. Mielck studies composing in Berlin 1895-94 where he was influenced by Max Bruch. This work is dark in its colours, even pathetic utilizing heavy brass sections and large strings. The Concert Piece for Violin and Orchestra Op. 8 represents more calm and lighter side of the composer. John Storgårds does an exellent job in interpreting this late 19th century symphohy not underevaluating the performance of Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sakari Oramo.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa5a871b0) out of 5 stars Brilliant First Effort... Oh What Could Have Been! Feb. 4 2014
By Scott Bruneau - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I was highly intrigued reading a short bio of Mielck. Especially interesting was a note that Sibelius, hearing this symphony was inspired to try his hand at a symphony. There was such brilliance in this young man whose life was cut short so early by tuberculosis. Listening to this symphony, One wonders what more he could have done having done such fine composition on his first! I suggest anyone that loves the symphonic form to purchase this CD and enjoy Ernst Mielck's first and only symphony. Listen, savor it and wonder oh wonder what could have been. There are parts of this that genuinely grab your heart and make you soar for a moment and that spiritual thrill is worth the price. The wonder is an easy second to it. As for the Finnish Radio Symphony orchestra... very fine impassioned playing.