A Million Suns: An Across the Universe Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading A Million Suns: An Across the Universe Novel on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Million Suns: An Across the Universe Novel [Hardcover]

Beth Revis
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 21.00
Price: CDN$ 15.16 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 5.84 (28%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Monday, July 28? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $15.16  
Paperback CDN $9.50  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Jan. 10 2012 Across the Universe (Book 2)
Book 2 in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Prometheus!

GODSPEED WAS FUELED BY LIES. NOW IT IS RULED BY CHAOS.

It's been three months since Amy was unplugged. The life she always knew is over. Everywhere she looks, she sees the walls of the spaceship Godspeed. But there may just be hope: Elder has assumed leadership of the ship. He's finally free to act on his vision--no more Phydus, no more lies. But when Elder learns shocking news, he and Amy must race to discover the truth behind life on Godspeed, all the while dealing with the love that's growing between them and the chaos that threatens to tear them apart.

Beth Revis catapulted readers into the far reaches of space with her New York Times bestselling debut, Across the Universe. In A Million Suns, Beth deepens the mystery with action, suspense, romance, and deep philosophical questions. And this time it all builds to one mind-bending conclusion: THEY HAVE TO GET OFF THIS SHIP.
 

Frequently Bought Together

A Million Suns: An Across the Universe Novel + Shades of Earth: An Across the Universe Novel + Across the Universe
Price For All Three: CDN$ 39.40

Show availability and shipping details

  • In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Shades of Earth: An Across the Universe Novel CDN$ 8.00

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Across the Universe CDN$ 16.24

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

PRAISE FOR A MILLION SUNS:

"A fast-paced, action-packed follow-up . . . that explores not only the nature of authority and loyalty but fear of the unknown and fulfilling one's personal destiny. --LA Times

"Setting and plot are the heart and soul of this ripping space thriller, and they're unforgettable." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Revis just might make straight-up sci-fi cool again." --Booklist

PRAISE FOR THE ACROSS THE UNIVERSE TRILOGY:

"Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable--I've found a new favorite!" —Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth "A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." —Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely "A horrifying and deliciously claustrophobic masterpiece that's part sci-fi, part dystopian, and entirely brilliant." —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy and Supernaturally

About the Author

Beth Revis lives in rural North Carolina with her husband and dog, and believes space is nowhere near the final frontier. Across the Universe is her first novel.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By Darlene TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
I received this audiobook for review from the publisher. I did not receive any compensation for my review, and the views expressed herein are my own.

When I reviewed Across the Universe, I said that I thought that it was a solid series opener even though it didn't knock my socks off. Apparently, Revis was just getting warmed up because A Million Suns totally rocked!!

The second in the series picks up 98 days from when Amy was awakened from the cryo chamber. Orion, the ship's previous Elder, sends Amy on somewhat of a scavenger hunt to search for clues to discover the secrets that Eldest was trying to hide. Although he tried to do the right and noble thing, it appears that ruling without Phydus may be clearly more difficult than he envisioned. The inhabitants awaken from their drugged-up stupor and some residents cause dissension. Total chaos abounds: People stop working, the food supply becomes low, some become violent, crimes commence which results in a police force being established, and some troublemakers try to start a rebellion. Everything that can go wrong does go wrong. Add to that a psychopath who is killing people and making it look like Elder is eliminating the dissidents. What a recipe for disaster!

Revis had me literally on the edge of my seat! There was so much tension and dischord, and Bartie is a brilliant antagonist. Aside from Elder, I think that he was my favourite character. His arguments were very persuasive and reasonable and, under different circumstances, I would have loved him. However, because he was against Elder, I just couldn't side with him.

My only complaint is my irritation with Amy. Her emotions keep waffling back and forth regarding Elder. Does she love Elder, or not?
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revew from Esther's Ever After Jan. 12 2012
By Brenna TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
If you didn't already know that Beth Revis is a genius, you should realize this after reading A Million Suns. I'm always worried with sequels that they won't live up to the crazy expectations I have for them, since I loved the first book so much. But in my (not so humble) opinion, AMS is better than Across the Universe... SO MUCH BETTER. Every little thing that left me feeling unsatisfied with in AtU is dealt with in AMS. LOVED IT.

These characters have been put in near impossible situations, where they're forced to make life altering choices. It isn't easy, and there's very little wiggle room. And you keep asking yourself "can they do this? I can't possible see a way out of this mess!" Maybe there is, and maybe there isn't. Even after reading the book, I'm not so sure myself. Nothing's easy or simple, and morality (like many real life situations) isn't black and white, but rather varying shades of grey.

I know some reviews of AtU mentioned that the chemistry between Elder and Amy really wasn't "there". Well, it's here and it's arrived now. And it's hot (but still, very much appropriate for their age and the age of targeted readers). They both really bloom as characters and individuals, but as friends as well. One thing I really loved is that similar to Ally Condie's Crossed (as mentioned in my review of it), there is the question of how important it is to allow a choice in love. Exactly what does love have to do with choice? Both books come to similar conclusions, but I think it's a fascinating story they tell as they explore this. It really made me wonder whether I truly believed that myself.

And for Harley fans, I can promise you that he's involved in his own way.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and keeps you reading. July 2 2014
By Brooke289 TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
I really enjoyed the second book of the series. It is hard when you read a trilogy that you love. A person always compares others of the same genre and style to that, however in it's own right I really enjoyed the first two books. They haven't been mind blowing best books ever, but are worth a read and I go through them quickly. I look forward to the third book and hope it ends the series well.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback