Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools
CDN$ 84.98 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 108.60
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Missa Regali Ex Progenie; Magn

Price: CDN$ 84.98
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
5 new from CDN$ 31.75 4 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Performer: the; Carwood; Skinner Cardinall's Musick
  • Composer: Fayrfax Robert
  • Audio CD (June 29 1999)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Asv
  • ASIN: B00000IYMN
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #109,217 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Lauda Vivi Alpha Et O
2. Antiphona Regali Ex Progenie
3. Gloria
4. Credo
5. Sanctus/Benedictus
6. Agnus Dei
7. That Was My Woo
8. Alas, For Lak Of Her Presens
9. Magnificat Regali

Product Description

Robert Fayrfax (1464-1521), one of the younger composers represented in the famous Eton Choirbook, was evidently a protégé of Henry VIII himself. While not as flamboyant (or difficult to sing) as that of older Eton composers such as William Cornysh, Fayrfax's music has a sweetly tranquil quality--along with features typical of large-scale English church music at the time: intricate rhythmic interplay, alternation between full five- or six-voice choir and reduced-voice sections sung by soloists (high soprano/low bass is a favorite combination), and relative indifference to using the music to reflect specific sentiments of the text. The featured work on this disc (the fifth and final volume in ASV's Fayrfax series) is the Mass "Regali ex progenie," built around the titular chant melody stated in long note-values in the tenor voice--the cantus firmus structure more common on the Continent than in England. The Cardinall's Musick sings with reliable precision and clear, hearty tone; on earlier releases (in this series and others), Andrew Carwood has tended toward a slowish pace that dulls this music's ornate extroversion, but not here: his vigorous tempos maintain momentum and energy without seeming heavy-handed or vulgar. --Matthew Westphal

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star