and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
CDN$ 16.49
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mosby's Comprehensive Review for the Canadian RN Exam, 1e Paperback – CD, Mar 26 2009


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, CD, Mar 26 2009
CDN$ 114.00 CDN$ 10.01

There is a newer edition of this item:


Amazon.ca First Novel Award - 6 Canadian Novels Make the Shortlist



Product Details

  • Paperback: 768 pages
  • Publisher: Mosby Canada; 1 Pap/Cdr edition (March 26 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1897422059
  • ISBN-13: 978-1897422052
  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 21 x 26.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 Kg
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #84,913 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • See Complete Table of Contents

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful By T. Davies on May 5 2009
Format: Paperback
Having trained (degree) as a nurse in the UK it was not as straightforward as persumed when having to sit the Canadian CRNE exam purely because their training is completely different to that of the UK's. The CRNE exam revision book is good but only a book full of practice question.

Mosby's Comprehensive Review for the Canadian RN Exam has a chapter on each category that is covered in the exam which explains the thinking, purpose, rationale and information behind each one, there are then a set of approx 30 practice question at the end of each chapter specifically on that subject (answers included).

At the end of the book is a set of really useful appendices covering the competencies, medical terminology, laboratory & diagnostic tests & values, mathematical formulas. Also the book has two practice exams and a short answer exam for you to do each having the answers supplied

The CD also goes through the competencies and has another two practice exams and a couple of short practice questions.

Well worth it if you did not do your nurse training in Canada.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By J on March 10 2011
Format: Paperback
No no, it's not perfect.

I bought this book back in July and passed the CRNE first time round this past February. Delivery took only 3 days (it's usually fast, especially if you live in the city).

The contents are detailed and the practice questions after every chapter and the exams at the end are very helpful. I had some problems with typos and minor mistakes in a few practice questions. I mean, they're easy to catch if you're paying attention, but if you're not, they could mess you up (writing down that a certain condition causes alkalosis when it's actually acidosis? Come on.) Don't even bother with the appendix section with the lab values and just use the values they taught you in school. There must be something wrong with formatting, because the values don't line up properly with what they're supposed to be. I mean, in what universe is BUN level 44~144micromol/L?

Naturally, I contacted the editor of the book to see if there were any corrections available. She said she wasn't aware of any mistakes in the book and would I forward her things that I found so that she could run them by her editing team? O_o Right. I'm supposed to take time out of studying to do your job.

Overall, this is a nice study guide to use to prepare for the CRNE.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By P. MacKenzie on May 20 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a pretty thorough book and gives a lot of detail considering the vast amount of knowledge you must draw from to write the exam. My only wish is that Amazon would clarify that 'Super Saver Shipping' generally means 'Super Long Waiting' as this item took forever to get here and I found myself cramming at the last minute.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Study bugs on Oct. 16 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I was educated outside Canada. I picked up this book as my sole study guide for my CRNE in Last June, too bad, there are some printing errors! I spotted about 3 or 4 mistakes, but if you know nursing well and long, you will be able to spot the errors easily. For example,the first pair of the infant teeth errupt from center lower, not upper, etc. overall , The book is awesome for review your nursing fundamental knowledge. It is meant for the exam, unlike the thicker second edition which meant for the nursing students during their academic use. We all love this thin 1 st edition as it briefly highlights the important topics in our nursing exam.some of the questions and answers are not upto date. But it is ok. The CrNE questions won't be like that. Use it as a good reading material and reference is the best. You may look for some used one, it does not matter. I don't mind the used books, as long as the questions are not dirty, I can use the old books, it will save me a lot of $ and I don't have to worry for the resale value.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Steph on Jan. 16 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I used this book for a month straight before the exam. It gives you information on such a wide range of nursing areas. It has questions after each chapter and then more at the back of the book. It also provides a bit of history and information on layout about the CRNE exam within the first chapter of the book. The test questions gets you ready for exactly how the questions on the CRNE exam are set up. Even after passing the exam, I've used this book for reference in practice.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Georgela N. Rasadu on May 2 2009
Format: Paperback
This is a great tool for the people who are preparing for the CRNE exam. It's a comprehensive material very useful.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Charles Sendegeya on Dec 5 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I bought this book for my sister to do her prep for Canadian RN exam. Happy to see the book has comprehensive coverage of all body systems.
I'd hoped to see a CD in the box (as had been indicated online), but there was none! So I guess we shall resort to the book app.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
Overall, this is a very good review book. However, the RN exam itself does not go into detail of less common diseases, and you need to be mindful of that if you're gonna read this book front to back (e.g. you will not be tested on diverticulitis). And yet, in some ways, in did not go in-depth enough, for example in the Health and Wellness section, which takes up a large portion of the exam, was barely 30 pages in the book. Having recently written the CRNE, I can honestly say that this book was not very helpful overall. But it is good for your own reviewing of the different areas of nursing with all the different diseases and conditions.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback