CDN$ 30.38 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Rarewaves-US

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 30.38
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Classical Music Superstore
Add to Cart
CDN$ 34.99
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: marvelio-ca
Add to Cart
CDN$ 41.91
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: thebookcommunity_ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Mozart: Early Symphonies

Price: CDN$ 30.38
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Rarewaves-US.
4 new from CDN$ 30.38 3 used from CDN$ 37.42

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 26 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: RCA
  • ASIN: B00030GMPY
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #329,616 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Molto Allegro
2. Andante
3. Presto
4. Allegro
5. Andante
6. Presto
7. Allegro Assai
8. Andante
9. Presto
10. Allegro
See all 19 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Menuetto & Trio
4. Molto Allegro
5. Allegro Maestoso
6. Andante
7. Menuetto & Trio
8. Allegro
9. Allegro
10. Andante
See all 20 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa25f1354) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa26a1fcc) out of 5 stars Superb performances of Mozart's earliest symphonies Dec 30 2004
By John Kwok - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Nikolaus Harnoncourt was amazed by the technical brilliance of the young Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, when he conducted, and then later recorded, these early symphonies with his Concentus Musicus Wien, the period instrument ensemble which he founded decades ago. I concur with Harnoncourt's assessment; these symphonies do not sound at all like work composed by a novice composer, especially one who hadn't quite yet reached adolescence. Instead, under Harnoncourt's splendid direction, these symphonies sound like excellent examples of Classical music (I refer to the classical music style then in vogue, not all of "classical" music.) at its height, similar in their complexity to those of Haydn, for example. Here Harnoncourt has made a very persuasive case as to why these early symphonies should be performed more often, noting Mozart's genius in composing such intricate scores in the liner notes, and aided immensely by the Concentus Musicus Wien's excellent playing. The sound quality is absolutely first rate, since these symphonies were recorded in the state-of-the-art Teldec Berlin recording studio (For some reason, the liner notes refer to it as the Teldex Berlin studio.). Without question, this two CD set should appeal to fans of Mozart and of course, Harnoncourt.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa25dfe94) out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful July 27 2010
By JJA Kiefte - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I had long been looking for the Jeffrey Tate set of the complete symphonies, ordered the very last one to be had at frightful expense, was delivered the wrong set (which I returned) and finally decided on the two volumes of early symphonies by Harnoncourt instead. I have one set of the later symphonies on period instruments by the Mozart academy under Jaap vd Linden which I have never really warmed to, mainly because of the scraggy sound of the band, so I nourished some trepidations when I found out that this collection too was played on period instruments. But the reviews on British Amazon were quite positive so I pushed the order button and that was that. I must say that I have not regretted the purchase yet. The music is de-light-ful (why are those later symphonies deemed to be superior to these youthfully exuberant works I wonder?), an excellent backdrop for relaxation, cooking, reading, studying, driving the car (turn up the volume, open your windows and sunroof and show those tykes with their boom-boom-boom sound machines blasting away that this guy is getting all the attention of the ladies on the zebra crossing; well those over forty-five with the a taste for the mildly eccentric anyway). And is one really in need of all Mozart's symphonies? If Tate comes along at a more reasonable price, I might say yes. Until then, both the Harnoncourts are more than adequate.
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa25e24f8) out of 5 stars A Grand Tour of the Jungles of Borneo Oct. 10 2011
By Bernard Michael O'Hanlon - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Mozart's earliest symphonies are deeply appealing to anyone who remembers their boyhood. They encapsulate the exhilaration of being so young and alive. Moreover, in this instance it was a charming idea to ask Harnoncourt's grandchildren and the conductor himself to recite letters written by the Mozarts during their Grand Tour.

But the charm ends there.

If you want to hear these miraculous works being conducted by the Wild Man of Borneo, look no further. Harnoncourt is at his gruffest. He leeches all the grace from these works. Nor has Harnoncourt mellowed over the years: his trademarks as a conductor - the wilful tempos and explosive accents - have yet to abate even as the clock winds down.

Both Mackerras on Teldec Mozart The Symphonies and indeed Bohm on DG Mozart: The Symphonies are better attuned to the youthful elation of these works.