Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2004
"Mrs. Miniver" is one of those non-factual, war time propaganda tear jerkers that has proven itself to be enduring and immensely entertaining. Upon its release, Winston Churchill declared the film more influential in getting America involved in WWII than a fleet of destroyers. The plot concerns Mrs. Miniver (Greer Garson) the atypical English housewife quietly enduring the hardships of war and capturing a downed Nazi pilot in her begonias in the process. It sounds hoaky but actually the story is incredibly stirring. Walter Pigeon, Garson's frequent costar, is cast as her tender husband, Clem. Richard Ney plays her slightly opinionated son, Vin who rises to the occasion and becomes a flyer for the RAF. Aside: Ney and Garson were carrying on an affair during the filming that eventually resulted in a disastrous marriage and a quicky divorce. Oh well, at least the relationships in the film are perfect. Of merit is Teresa Wright's outstanding performance as Carol, Vin's doomed fiancée.
Previously issued versions of this film were near perfect so it's really no surprise to discover that this DVD carries on in the same tradition. Quite simply: the picture is outstanding. Blacks are deep and solid. The gray scale is beautiful and well balanced. There is hardly a scratch or a bit of grit or grain to distract. The soundtrack is equally impressive in MONO but very, very nicely balanced. A bit of a disappointment comes from the fact that no one at Warner Brothers had the foresight to do a "making of" featurette. All we get is a couple of short subjects and a stills gallery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2003
This is by far not your typical war movie. I love war movies. I have the vast majority of war movies on DVD or VHS. I have been anxiously awaiting some of the older classic war movies like "The Enemy Below (1957)", "African Queen (1951)", "Mrs. Minniver (1942)", and "The Pied Piper (1942)" to come out on DVD. I am delighted to see this will be available in February.
No movie that I have seen about WWII tells a better story of how the English endured so much hardship and personal loss for so many years. This could easily have been a very depressing movie but it has many lighter and uplifting moments that balance out the sorrow and make you feel good at the end of the movie. If you bought this just because of the award nominations it received you should consider yourself pretty smart. If you buy it because of the good reviews from people here at Amazon you are intelligent. If you bought it because you only buy the best movies, and this is a great movie with a boat load of extras, well there aren't words to describe how gifted you are.
If you enjoy movies that take a more personal look at the impact of war on families you will like this movie. Far from being boring as some family movies drag when they get into far to many personal details. This movie has plenty of action with the Battle of Dunkirk, German bombings and strafings, and a enemy parachutist on the loose. Mrs. Miniver reminds me a little of a tough woman like Maureen O'Hara in the John Wayne movies. Her strength is a little more sophisticated but nonetheless you know it is there. She is the kind of woman you know can weather the storm and you are happy to have her with you. The DVD includes Greer Garson academy award footage, photos, and a couple wartime shorts. The movie itself makes it a great buy, but with these bonuses it's a steal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2004
This IS [or was] a wartime propaganda film, but one extremely well directed and played. In fact, Adolph Hitler stated that this was be best propaganda film produced by our side during WW II. The only ovely emotional and melodramatic moments typical in such films are the concluding scenes in the church. Otherwise, the approach is restrained, believable and thoroughly entertaining.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 27, 2012
I picked up Mrs. Miniver from the public library after being told that the main character (Kay Miniver) was inspiring. I'm so happy I did; I thoroughly enjoyed watching this movie and was sorry when it was over, even though it is over two hours long.

Released in 1942, it provides a fascinating glimpse into warmtime life in Britain, and really captures the stalwart spirit of the times. The story is moving, and I cried more than once before it was over. Furthermore, Kay Miniver is indeed an inspiring character - she is the epitome of grace, poise, and feminine charm even in extremely stressful times. She never complains and is a source of joy and comfort for those around her.

As I already mentioned, I really enjoyed this movie and it has put me in the mood to check out some more old black and white films - I'm sure there are more gems out there to be found that you rarely hear about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2004
Great movie; interesting tidbit: Richard Ney (Mrs. Miniver's older son "Vin") was 27 at the time this movie was released; Greer Garson was 38. They married in 1943 and the studio was afraid of negative publicity about it! They divorced in 1946.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
This a a rare classic film. Won the Oscar for best picture of 1944 And deservedly so. It follow the tale of an English family facing the upcoming WWII with the German empire. It is filled with relationship drama, love, and tender sentiment producing a fully satisfying film. Greer Garson won her best actress award for the title role, to which she deliver the longest award acceptance speech in Academy history. I love this film and I have watched it many times. The transfer to bluray is beautiful. This film has been lovingly preserved. Enjoy this treat for yourself!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was very moving when we saw it during the war. A stellar performance by both Greer Garson and Walter Pidgeon. Garson comes across well as the English lady, particularly in confrontation with the Nazi airman. The owners of the little pleasure boats who contributed to this massive evacuation of Dunkirk in WWII had guts to spare, as did the thousands of soldiers saved.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
Great movie in war time, keeping their loving family safe from harm and yet trying to live a normal life with flower shows cooking meals going to church .its a must see movie ! has lots of love warmth and sadness brings you to tears . love all the actors and actress's top performance!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
Greer Garson is one of my favorite Actresses, she lights up the screen.
A wonderful war time movie. Would recommend it for any age.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2009
For, and at, its time, this film warranted a 5 star+ rating - without question. Today, regretfully, I feel it necessary to deduct a star due to the film's (understandable) lack of factual integrity.

Mrs Miniver was an admirable film, superbly crafted and directed and supremely well acted by a marvelous cast of professionals. The film was produced (1942)in the United States as a propaganda film aimed to counteract the overall desire in America for isolation and, also, combat considerable German support and sympathies - then prevalent in the United States.

(Due to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, this film was made redundant as far as its main purpose went. Nevertheless, as a film depicting the travails of citizens of the United Kingdom in war time, it succeeds magnificently - if not entirely accurately!)

The apparent stinginess of praise for this movie is largely due to the rather pathetic 'special effects'. These, of course, were far from the brilliant special effects so common these days. Sadly however, from the historical accuracy point of view, they detract quite greatly. Too, some aspects of the war are transposed in time - or made unclear.

The fact remains that, as a most interesting story brilliantly told in cinematography, this film is one of the finest made. The story can be fully appreciated to this day while the unusually (for Americans) modest attitude to stoic bravery is hugely relevant in the enjoyment of this film.

The film garnered very many awards - and justly so. It ranks high in the many lists of 'best', in cinema history. Like worthy books are said to be 'must read', this film is certainly a 'must see'!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Random Harvest [Import]
Random Harvest [Import] by Leroy/Colman (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 13.26