Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen All-New Kindle Paperwhite Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars120
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$14.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 10, 2004
Hercule Poirot has been enjoying his retirement. His main concern of each day is planning the menu for his next meal - it is a pity that one can only truly enjoy three meals a day! His old friend Inspector Spence asks him to look into a case for him. Mrs. McGinty, a charwoman in a small village was brutally murdered. Spence has already caught the murderer, (the woman's lodger) a jury has found him guilty and the date for the execution has been set. The only problem is that the good inspector has doubts.
Poirot agrees to look into the matter and sets off for the village of Broadhinny, where the crime took place. He takes up residence in the only available lodging in town, a very disorganized bed and breakfast, suffering dreadfully from the terrible accomodations and worse meals and begins working on the case. While there Poirot mets an old friend, Ariadne Oliver, famous mystery novelist who was in Broadhinny working on a stage adaption of her work. In the end of course, Poirot solves the crime and sees that justice is served.
The mystery here is a recurring theme of Christie's, an old crime that has resurfaced years later and requiring many old secrets to be revealed. The only problem with this particular novel is that it is quite complicated with many characters and their stories that tend to become a bit difficult to keep straight. On the plus side we are treated to yet another visit with Ariadne Oliver, always a delight. We are also introduced to the Summerhayes family, a wonderfully disorganized group that really diserve their own book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon February 4, 2011
I'm sure that I read "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd," by Agatha Christie, decades ago, but I'd more or less forgotten the plot when I picked it up again at the beginning of February. This is from 1926 and is one of the early Hercule Poirot tales, in which our Belgian sleuth has retired to a small village, King's Abbot, to grow marrows. His quiet retirement is interrupted by the sudden murder of the wealthy local man, Roger Ackroyd, and he has no shortage of suspects in his quest to solve the case. In fact, there may be too many motives for him to be able to sort it all out....Agatha Christie is, of course, considered the Queen of Crime and this book is the one that truly cemented her popularity among readers; as such, it is of course a classic. The plotting is tight, the characters are well-drawn (if a bit stereotypical for the period) and the clues (or "clews" as they're called here) are fairly disbursed. I'm pleased that I figured out - or remembered - who the murderer was, but really one reads Christie for comfort more than to test one's deductive abilities. Recommended, especially on a cold winter's night!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
When I first reached for the book I didn't expect it to be a controversial read. Six hours later, I was agape, in denial and most certainly scandalized. Without giving away the plot, suffice to say that Dame Agatha had written her ultimate masterpiece when she decided to write "...Roger Ackroyd".
For first-time readers: Don't be fooled by the length of the novel. The clues are there, sprinkled neatly and merrily along with the darned red herrings. You have to read it slowly, as it was with most of her novels.
The story: a doctor was called by Roger Ackroyd to discuss an important matter, but before he could divulge it further he was interuppted by the evening post. The matter was left there, and the doctor went home, seeing his host a bit disturbed. When he got home another call came in and announced that Mr Ackroyd was dead. Thus Poirot came into the scene and began nosing around. The solution was truly one of the most surprising in literature history.
The novel became the measuring rod for future mystery and detective novels, although its controversy is undeniable. My suggestion is that you ignore the controversy for the moment and concentrate on the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2004
Hercule Poirot has lost interest in the dective business since the departure of Hastings to South America. He has retired to a small village to grow vegetable marrows and live a quiet life. He discovers that vegetable marrows do not grow in an orderly manner and that crime does not limit itself to the city.
The village is buzzing with gossip about the suicide of a local well to do widow and then is sent reeling by the murder of Roger Ackroyd, the wealthiest man in town. Poirot is drawn into these problems by Ackroyd's niece, Flora and finds himself not only dealing with murder but also with blackmail, petty theft and romance.
In Hastings absence the story is told by the local doctor who is also a next door neighbor of Hercule Poirot.
When this novel came out in 1926 it was immensely popular and somewhat controversial in that it broke one of the 'rules' for a good dectective novel (and you will have to read the book to find out which one). THE MURDER OF ROGER ACKROYD ranks with AND THEN THERE WERE NONE (AKA TEN LITTLE INDIANS) and MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS as Christie at her most orginal.
This story is also significant in that one of the characters, Caroline, the doctor's sister, has been credited by Christie as being the forerunner of Miss Marple. The soon to be familiar Christie theme of small towns as hot beds of intrigues both large and small is seen here for the first time.
This book has aged very gracefully, the first time reader of today will probably be just as surprised as the readers of the 1920's were. As always with a Christie the clues are all there fairly laid out for the reader to follow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2003
Agatha Christie is recognized throughout the world as being the "Queen of Crime". It is undoubtable that this holds true, especially in her ingeniously written, classic mystery novel, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. The story is told through the 1st person point of view, so the narrator, James Sheppard ( the local doctor ), is one of the main characters. He introduces all the characters in the small English town of King's Abbot, where the story is set: Mrs. Ferrars, Flora, Ralph Paton, Ursula Bourne, Hector Blunt, Colonel Carter, the formidable Belgian detective, Hercule Poirot, and many more.
The story begins with the suicide of Mrs. Ferrars, which stirrs confusion; Rumors say that she poisoned her first husband, that someone was blackmailing her, and that she had a secret liaison with Roger Ackroyd. The mystery surrounding her death appalls everyone even more when Roger Ackroyd is brutally stabbed to death a few days later. Hercule Poirot, accompanied by Dr. Sheppard, set out to trace the tracks of a very sharp and devious killer.
I found it extremely captivating up to the very end, which I found was the best part of the novel. There are so many twists in the plot, red herrings, clues, and foreshadowing, yet the solution to the crime completely eludes the reader until told. All the characters and their different possible motives, which Agatha Christie carefully presents, are subject to questioning; therefore, at one point or another, I suspected almost everyone to have committed the murder.
What I loved most is that I was caught off-guard many times while reading. I have a vague idea in my head and then when I turn the next page, I'm proved wrong. Agatha Christie has an unbelievable imagination and talent that she is able to make such a simple detail become the turning point in the mystery. You are always expecting the opposite of what truly happens,and I think that is what is brilliant about her writing, and especially this novel.
In the end, when you are told the conclusion to the story, the shock is so tremendous that it creates a smile on the reader's face. Automatically, you realize how obvious the answer was and how from the very beginning, the cards were layed out on the table face-up, yet you are still incredibly decieved.
I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone and everyone who wants to have an insightful and captivating time trying to unravel the mystery of the death of Roger Ackroyd!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2003
Agatha Christie is not the greatest writer on the face of the earth. Her prose is adequate (at least fast moving, though). However, her imagination and plotting abilities are unbelievable. There are so many surprise plot twists and turns that we see day after day in modern movies and such that she invented.
Her THE ABC MURDERS really introduced the serial killer to a wide audience, for example. As did A PALE HORSE. She also spent much time with her archeologist husband in Egypt and the ancient middle-east, and many of her books are full of lovely detail and settings from this part of the world. You'd be hard pressed to find a more delightful writer, who decade after decade came up with one whopper of a surprise ending after another. I've read ALL of her books, and probably only guessed the murderer correctly maybe 10% of the time.
THE MURDER OF ROGER ACKROYD, a fairly early novel of hers, gave us perhaps THE classic surprise ending to a whodunnit EVER. It's been done since, but never better, except perhaps in Christie's own haunting novel ENDLESS NIGHT. I read this novel twenty years ago, having heard it had a great ending, and I tried like heck to figure it out. But I never dreamed the solution that was presented could be it. WOW! Unless you're a totally jaded reader of whodunnits, this is a must read.
Now remember, Christie was practically from the Victorian age. Her books are chaste and not terribly violent or action packed. Lots of talking and looking for clues. Not much chasing or fighting or shooting!! These are sedate, rainy-day reads. But don't think her books are just for fuddy-duddies or "old folks." I think they are a fascinating slice of social history, and a darn fine brain-teaser. And THE MURDER OF ROGER ACKROYD would be a GREAT introduction to Christie.
(Other books of hers I especially recommend, THE MYSTERIOUS AFFAIR AT STYLES [her very first book], ENDLESS NIGHT, DEATH COMES AS THE END [set in ancient Egypty!!], THE ABC MURDERS & MURDER IN MESOPOTAMIA [set at an archelogical dig and just dripping with authenticity])
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2003
After reading "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd", I can see why Agatha Christie is one of the greatest mystery writers to have ever lived. This book is written through the eyes of Dr. James Sheppard, who has been called when his patient, Roger Ackroyd, is murdered. Dr. Sheppard has recently lost a patient named Mrs. Ferrars who was engaged to the deceased. Before her death,
she confided some personal information to Dr. Sheppard which gave him an inside track on the identity of the murderer. The victim's adopted son Roger, seems like a likely suspect, so his fiance Flora hires a retired detective, Hercule Poirot, to find the real killer. In his precise and logical way, Poirot does just that, uncovering the truth bit by bit as he interviews the possible suspects. They are all present--the family members who stand to gain financially from Ackroyd's death, the butler, the efficient private secretary, the housekeeper, the parlor maid, and a mysterious stranger. Only one of them is guilty and Poirot works his magic in this cleverly convoluted story. It is amazing to see that this book was written in 1926 and it is just as interesting today as it was almost 80 years ago.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2003
Death comes to the town of Broadhinny. On November 22, Mrs. McGinthy, a widow of sixty-four who worked in various village houses as a daily domestic, is found murdered, knocked in the back of the head, in her cottage parlour. Her bedroom has been ransacked, the floorboards pried up. Police find her savings, thirty pounds' worth, hidden under a stone behind the house. Suspicion falls immediately on her boarder, the "sometimes cringing and sometimes truculent" James Bently. But Superintendent Spence is not sure James did it, so he calls his dearest friend Hercule Poirot to help.
Mrs. McGinthy's Dead is a very complex story. Maybe a bit too complex to be good. The story evolves on a high pace, but in my opinion the outcome is one of the most disputable of Agatha's long and successful career. What seems to be a clear case at first, becomes a hodgepodge of intrigues and secrets. Finally, just a few pages before the end, a certain vital clue is discovered. Without this clue, it is truly impossible to find the murderer - unless your first name is Sherlock, of course. So "fairness" is not directly a word I would associate with this book. "It had not been an interesting murder," the Belgian sleuth things to himself at a certain point, but it gave me a nasty headache to find out what really happened. Next time I will read something lighter, I guess.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2003
Having to read this book for my Crime Stories class at my college, I knew that I should read it before it was assigned so as to actually enjoy it and not have the classic case of "assigned-book-equals-boring-book"-syndrome that too many students have to suffer. I read it about two weeks before it was assigned, and finished it today. Oh my god, that was amazing!
Written in a complex (not to mention dated) style, this book is narrated by one James Sheppard, a small-town doctor in Victorian England. He introduces us to the town and its characters (which, I might add, there are a LOT of), and the whole mystery itself. It also features the super detective Hercule Poirot, in his fourth adventure (yes, this is part of a series...fortunately it doesn't seem to involve any of the other books except through vague mentions).
As to the mystery, I won't get too into it, it involves the suicide and possible blackmail of a woman, a wealthy man's murder, and...okay, just read it and find out for yourself. It's just so interesting; it's a quick read, and once you put this book down...just...I can't begin to describe it. Let's just say that I could not believe how everything turned out in the end. Read it, and I hope you enjoy it as much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2002
Somehow, I've always been given the impression that Agatha Christie never fails to surprise you. "The champion deceiver of our time" is what she is described as, on the back of her book. I set out to find whether that truly was the case.
Agatha Christie wastes no time at all in the beginning. She is quick to introduce all the characters (which are quite a few), set up the story, and make you get a feel of what the novel is about. Later in the plot, she introduces interesting clues, and small details, which will constantly play with your thoughts on whom the murderer could possibly be.
The novel starts off with the death of an attractive widow Mrs. Ferrars. She is told to have died of an overdose of veronal (some kind of poison). The mystery surrounding her death baffles everyone. After all, who would want to kill her, a widow who meant no one any harm? Or did she? Or maybe she was not killed at all. How then, did she die?
The mystery surrounding Mrs. Ferrars is still fresh in everyone's mind, when suddenly Roger Ackroyd, the man she was said to be planning to marry, too is killed brutally. Stabbed with a knife from behind, Roger Ackroyd dies with secrets in his heart that no one knows of. Did he find out who the secret of Mrs. Ferrars death, or were there more secrets that he was hiding? (I won't answer those questions or it'll ruin your fun of reading the book).
The novel is written in first person, by one of the main characters in the story - Dr Sheppard. He is with Hercule Poirot as he undertakes the quest of finding the murderer. He accompanies Poirot in every endeavor that he takes to uncover clues and find possible suspects. Agatha Christie offers a very interesting insight into how someone who has nothing to do with crime and investigation arranges and rearranges the possible occurrence of events.
After having read most of the book, I was convinced that there wouldn't really be any surprises in this one. All the characters, their motives, and their actions were made evident through the clues the author meticulously provided. I had a somewhat rough idea of who would have committed the murder and why (after all, we all have brilliant imaginations). But Agatha Christie yet again, did not disappoint me. She caught me completely off-guard with an ending that only she could have thought up.
Christie's style of making something seem so simple, and yet be able to bring out something completely unforthcoming, is one of the best things about her writing. You're always expecting something to be different, for the story to reach some sort of anti-climax, yet you cannot put your finger on it. And when the truth is revealed, it is so obvious and yet so cleverly concealed. This is what sets her writing apart from others.
In many mystery novels, I get the feeling that the reader was not given enough clues to be able to figure out who the culprit really was. Such is not the case with Christie's novels. Though not readily apparent, she provides all the details necessary to find necessary clues right from the start. Only in the last chapter will you be able to see her clever use of words, and the way that she has been hiding nothing from the readers.
After reading this novel, I feel that I have achieved great value for the time and money that went into buying this book. It is indeed, an incredible find. I definitely recommend it to all you mystery lovers out there.
"The champion deceiver of our time" - Indeed, this statement does hold true.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
And Then There Were None
And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (Mass Market Paperback - March 29 2011)
CDN$ 8.50

Murder on the Orient Express: A Hercule Poirot Mystery
Murder on the Orient Express: A Hercule Poirot Mystery by Agatha Christie (Mass Market Paperback - March 29 2011)
CDN$ 8.50

Peril at End House: A Hercule Poirot Mystery
Peril at End House: A Hercule Poirot Mystery by Agatha Christie (Paperback - Oct. 25 2011)
CDN$ 12.35