march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars571
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$40.03+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 5, 2015
A story about a daughter of Greek immigrants, and her falling in love with someone completely different from her, ethnically and culturally. How the two cultures clash is absolutely hilarious.
No big star actors, but don't let that scare you: these actors do a superb job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
So much fun! I've seen this several times and love it. What a clever take on the big family that meddles and the drive for independence. Lovely and romantic, but hilarious. Nia Vardalos is amazing in this role, but all of the actors shine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
My Big Fat Greek Wedding is a really funny, witty movie. The acting is first class, complimented by a great script. Whenever I use Windex now I can't help but smile and think of this movie! And, refreshingly, the movie does not rely on "coarse language" for effect, nor is there any violence. What a treat, easily viewed every few months without it going stale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2006
Toula (Nia Vardalos) is a thirty something, single American Greek girl, and, in the eyes of her family, rapidly becoming over the hill. She herself is bored with her monotonous life, with nothing to do other than work as a waitress in her family's restaurant. One day a man walks into her restaurant and Tula's life is about to change forever. The instant attraction she feels seems to somehow give her the push she needs to climb out of her rut, and she promptly enrols on a college course, learns how to use make up and dress well and, best of all, gets a new job in her Aunts travel agency.

It is while she is working there that the stranger, Ian, reappears in her life. What follows is a heart-warming tale of two people falling in love whilst trying to overcome their differing ethnic backgrounds. Tula's family are determined she should marry a 'nice Greek boy' whilst Ian's, (John Corbett), family are very uptight, middle class and horrified by Tula's outgoing, lively, loud and, above all, large family.

The show stealer is Michael Constantine as Mr Portokalos, who believes everyone secretly wants to be Greek and whose favourite occupation is to tell people the origins of words ...of course, in his eyes they all stem from the Greek language, even kimono! His other favourite pastime is using Windex cleaner for everything from cleaning to treating wounds, and recommending the same to anyone who will listen. Constantine plays this role with real humour but also pathos.

The downside of the DVD is the complete lack of extras; it doesn't even have subtitles, which is very annoying when you're hard of hearing. That apart, this is a very funny, yet touching film, that is suitable for all the family to watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2004
My Big Fat Greek Wedding is the Greek-American take on love, work, food, drink, school, language, religion, fashion and dating among other things. As the title suggests, it features a massive cast of relatives, half of which are called "Nick".
Toula (Nia Vardalos) is a 30 year old Greek-American waitress at her parents restaurant. Her folks want her married and with children. She is shy, a little ashamed of her family, and looking for something new in her life. She lands a job at a Greek-American run travel agent and meets Ian Miller (John Corbett), a handsome, long haired guy, and a non-Greek to boot. HE'S something new! Toula falls in love with him, secretly dates him, and eventually gets proposed to by him. A clash of cultures follows as the wedding draws near!
The love element is just the icing on the cake. What this film is really about is Greek-Americans and their way of life, which may often seem strange and silly to outsiders but really is close knit, fun loving and family centred. I have some Greek friends, and though living in Australia they're slightly different here, the attitudes, the values, the oddities and the relatives are pretty similar to those shown in the film. It's not that exaggerated or played up upon, as a lot of other Hollywood films often are.
If anything, maybe it's a little downplayed. My Greek friends are a lot louder and larger than life that this cast. A little more entertaining too, actually. Maybe because of this, "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" it didn't really have a big impact on me. I'd seen all these cultural elements before, so it wasn't a novelty, and since I'm not a Greek immigrant myself (or a child of), it was harder to relate to. Still, that's just me. This film is warm hearted, funny and insightful, and you can tell that everyone involved had a lot of fun recreating a Greek-American household.
If you liked this film, you may also like to see "The Wog Boy", a slightly sillier movie about the life of a workshy Greek-Australian.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2004
This movie is so fun and in many ways a real look at life from a Greek perspective. Funny Greek American interplay is throughout the movie. Yet anyone who is a second generation American will see the concern on the faces and in the actions of the Greek family for their daughter.
The movie is dark and drab at first, a little boring in fact, yet that sets the pace for the movie because you will see the before and after on our star.
As with many movies, the WASP family is portrayed as boring, rigid and cold. Too bad that the son does not speak up on the behalf of his family. Hey, they are descended from the American farmer, probably. They tamed this land.
However, from the Greek grandma (Ya Ya) to the insanity within the house among the children, it gives a good glimpse of Greek family life.
This is a fun, light hearted movie that has a few tugs at your heart in places. If you want a good laugh, a good time and a couple of tears, this is a movie for you. For the family too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2004
I first saw My Big Fat Greek Wedding alone on the big screen. I had no idea that it would be such a hit.
Nia Vardalos does an incredible job about bringing out the humor in what it means to be a Greek American. I laughed before things were even said in the movie -- the Greek school scene, the Greek "boys" her dad wants her to marry, the brother, and the pomp & circumstance of the wedding. This is a funny movie, I think for non-Greeks, but for Greeks, it's a must. You have to see this movie. How often does anyone make a movie about Greek Americans anyway??
That being said, the dialogue could have been improved. Ian was a bit boring and flat of a character. I suppose that was the point, seeing as we were supposed to "see" Toula better. I think if Vardalos had realized what a hit she had on her hands, there would have been more polish on the movie. As it is, it is a diamond in the rough -- more or less.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2003
Canadian-Greek comic actress Nia Vardalos delivers a a wonderful performance to her personally scripted MY BIG FAT GREEK WEDDING. This was inspired by her real-life wedding. I saw this movie in a theatre on Thanksgiving Day 2002 and really enjoyed it. Joey Fatone of the singing group N'Sync appears in the film as Angelo. I bought this VHS tape for my mom shortly after its release and gave it to her for her birthday in June. Vardalos' character Toula has been often pressured by her father since she was 15 years old to get married and 15 years later,she finally did. Toula met Ian Miller,portrayed by John Corbett,star of HBO's Sex and the City,at the travel agency which she at one point in the film found employment. After a whirlwind courtship,they married. Miller is an American man. Toula is first seen as a nerdy plain Jane which was why she couldn't fall in love. So later she trashes the glasses and installs contact lenses in her eyes. She beautifully styles her hair and applies make-up,including lipstick. If she hadn't done those things,Ian wouldn't have fallen in love with Toula. But then again,Ian could have fallen for her because of her inner beauty. Lainie Kazan and Michael Constantine are Vardalos' parents in the film. Gia Carides plays Vardalos' sister. After the wedding,we see Toula and Ian about five years later,with their son beginning kindergarten. Vardalos' real-life husband is Ian Gomez who is Canadian-Hispanic. They met while they were cast members on Second City TV in their native Canada. This film inspired the short-lived CBS sitcom "My Big Fat Greek Life" which only lasted about two months and precisely six episodes according to tvtome.com. Kazan,Constantine and Carides were all part of the TV cast. There were different characters though. Vardalos' TV character is Nia Portakolos with Steven Eckholdt playing her husband. There were also flashbacks in every episode where we see Nia as a child and her younger-looking mom and dad. This blockbuster,like every other,deserves a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2004
I love this movie it is the perfect date movie because even guys will laugh during it. My Big Fat Greek Wedding is the story of a woman who begins dating a man of whom her family does not approve of because he is not greek. So in order to get married they must make all sorts of changes in their lives and get her father's approvel and during the changes all sorts of accidents happened. This movie is all right for all ages as long as kissing and romance is not to "icky" of a concept for them it is full of comedy and all sorts of family friendly humor. I hope that this review has helped you in making a decision about this movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2003
Laugh out loud funny, touchingly real and emotional, this simple love story will make you want to stand up and cheer. The actors are not big names, which makes this even more enjoyable. If you are single you'll find yourself yearning for the chance to meet your dream mate. And if you're married, you will relive the magic of meeting and falling in love all over again. When this couple first meets, you keep your fingers crossed that they will fall for each other. Despite the clumsiness of the girl, who is really not homely, just a bit out of style, you can't help but find beauty in her. Hilarious scenes of family hysteria over the details of the big event such as wedding inviations, bridal party plans and guest lists will keep you rolling. You don't have to be Greek to relate to this one. Not your average comedy, this story has heart and soul and you will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse