Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Nailed by the Heart [Paperback]

Clark
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover CDN $26.08  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Product Details


Product Description

Book by Clark, Simon

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars My 100-word book review March 21 2007
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Nailed by the Heart, Simon Clark's debut novel, is a gripping, visceral story of ancient evil and supernatural powers, which I found occasionally reminiscent of John Carpenter's movie The Fog. I liked the story's location, a half-derelict fort at the very edge of the sea, and encountered plenty of uncomfortable and scary moments as the forces of evil started to close in on the good folks. This is not for the squeamish, as it contains some stomach-churningly gruesome scenes, and the writing does have a few rough edges, as befits a first novel. However, it is definitely worth a look!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Sacrifice and red zombie warriors July 28 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
The Stainforth family moves to a small town on the coast after buying an ancient fort that they plan to turn into a hotel. They soon discover that all is not right with the little town and the fort by the sea (of course, because this is a horror novel, after all), and find that they, and especially the young child David, are in mortal danger when these creepy, red, warrior, zombiesque creatures rise out of the sea and plant themselves outside the walls of the fort. The inhabitants of the town also take refuge within the walls of the fort, and then actual zombies show up, adding to the intensity of the confrontation.
I enjoyed this one. Clark is very good at evoking a strong sense of atmosphere in his tales and at describing images that are frightening on an almost primal level. He brings to life the coastal fort and the creatures that pop up out of the water and fog to threaten it. I give the book 4 instead of 5 stars because it reads a little choppily in parts, as if it were perhaps edited badly, and because the underlyting theme of sacrifice comes across as a bit forced in places. It is still quite a creepy book.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressive First Novel June 21 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I've read Simon Clark before (Darker, Blood Crazy). This book is better than Blood Crazy, but not as well thought out as Darker. That being said, it was an enjoyable read with some good atmosphere and a pace that keeps up its rhythm until the powerful end. Simon could work on developing his characters a little more, but I was completely satisfied with the experience. This author promises to be one to look out for in the world of horor. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars great? bad? good? April 25 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
okay. writing style: good. and the descriptions here is really great. the plot: a family settles down on a place that used to be a sacred site in heathen times. things has always happened around here, and now there's acceleration. something is coming. there are people in the water, living dead, out to kill. in the end the people must make a stand. yes, the descriptions are great. but the way the people's last stand was written..... i don't care for the people making a last stand - concept normally, and the creatures passivity and the way they were sometimes put in the background, i certainly didn't like. and there was something about the plot concerning the god i just couldn't buy. when the plot started evolving very much around the god, i lost much of my interest. so my feeling are mixed.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Brooding and creepy! Sept. 21 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
"Nailed By the Heart" is the first Simon Clark's novel published in the States. It most certainly won't be his last!
His tight, well-crafted plot is fueled by terrific characters with which the reader can sympathize.
The plot revolves around an ancient curse that hangs over the English seacoast village of Out-Butterwick. The locals speak of an ancient god who periodically demands a sacrifice from the townsfolk in order to leave them and their village intact.
When the villagers become concerned that the Stainforth family coming into the community to repair and revive an old coastal "hotel" will anger the god with their plan, the plot really takes off. Soon, strange zombie-like creatures are spotted in the surf along the seafort and the family and villages must band together against the assault that ensues.
Without giving away too much plot let me just say that the rest of the novel deals with the townfolk's attempt to survive the onslaught. The Stainforth family is presented with the ultimate sacrifice with their lives and those of the villagers hanging in the balance.
Fans of Dean Koontz, Clive Barker, and Robert McCammon will certainly find a new star in Simon Clark. His novels are becoming more prolific here in the US, so enjoy!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Simon Clark continues England's long list of .... Aug. 19 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
excellent horror writers. Clark is the latest in a long line of brilliant english horror writers. James Herbert, Clive Barker, and now Mr Clark has made it to the US of A.

Clark's style is a cross between Herbert and Barker. Herbert's style is darker and not as violent as Barker's early books. Barker was an in your face, no holds barred attack on the senses. Clark is somewhere in between the two; although he is darker than Herbert.
This novel is a parent's worse nightmare. The couple moves to an english village by the seaside and the town is full of mysterious going-ons. I don't want to give away too much, but this novel is GREAT!
People that like happy endings and light horror fare need to take note: DO NOT READ THIS NOVEL!! Clark's writing is crisp and easy to follow, but he is not, I repeat, not to be taken lightly. This guy's writing is DARK!!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one frightening horror novel! June 7 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
So far, I've read three of Simon Clark's other books and enjoyed them immensely. "Nailed by the Heart" is the most recent of his books and one of the most frightening. Its the story of a family who moves to a small coastal town to live in an old sea-fort they planned to remodel into a hotel. The Stainforth's, however, have no clue that their new home is shared with an ancient god demanding sacrifice. And they have no idea that there is something else in the water ready to try to seize the old god's power.
This one is terrifying and atmospheric. I always enjoy books by the sea and this has all the eerie effects of such a setting.
There are animated corpses and the frightening Saf Dar that makes this one very suspenseful. Good characters, interesting story and all the chills makes this a superb book. So far, I've read all of his books that have been released in the states and I await his next one.
A great horror novel as well as suspense novel. A+
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback