Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen All-New Kindle Paperwhite Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide
C.F.E. Weyse: Key Masterp... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

C.F.E. Weyse: Key Masterpieces

Price: CDN$ 26.80 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 10.54 3 used from CDN$ 11.74

Deal of the Day: The Beatles in Mono (14LP 180g Vinyl Box Set)
While supplies last, get "The Beatles in Mono" (14LP 180g Vinyl Box Set) for $229.99 today only, as Amazon's Deal of the Day. This offer is valid today only, November 24, 2015, while supplies last. Offer only applies to products shipped from and sold by See more

Product Details

  • Performer: Fischer; Schmidt; Danish National Chamber Orchestra; Schonwandt; Royal Danish Orchestra; Hedegaard; Milling; Bellincampi
  • Composer: Weyse C.E.F.
  • Audio CD (July 27 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Mpd
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #211,966 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Delicious Danish Jan. 29 2011
By Craig M. Zeichner - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The music of Christoph Ernst Friedrich Weyse (1774-1842) isn't very well known outside of his native Denmark and that's too bad. Weyse wasn't one for traveling, so his music really didn't have an opportunity to take root on the continent, but a number of 19th century musical luminaries (Liszt, Moscheles, Clara Schumann) did come to Denmark to visit him (no doubt to hear his considerable pianistic skills). Bottom line is, Weyse was a musical conservative whose interests did not extend beyond Mozart, so he was kind of left behind when Beethoven and others stormed ahead in (at the time) new music. Thankfully, this excellent collection introduces the delightful Weyse to the wider world and there's lots to like.

Weyse is best remembered as a song composer (the great Danish tenor Aksel Schøtz was an advocate and recorded several of his songs) and this 2-CD collection is filled with some top-notch songs. Weyse's melodic talent is considerable and his "Evening Songs" of 1838 charm with their unaffected sweetness. Soprano Else Torp and tenor Mathias Hedegaard make a strong case for them. Hedegaard is also the soloist in three orchestral songs with chorus that are equally lovely. Weyse wrote seven symphonies and they sit squarely in the classical tradition. If you enjoy the symphonies of Haydn or the early symphonies of Schubert, you will be right at home here. Weyse's piano works are represented by the fine Piano Sonata No. 6 in B flat major and a set of virtuoso Etudes. A large-scale Christmas Cantata closes things out. Weyse's vocal writing is quite fine and features some marvelous choral writing, including a brilliant closing fugue. Like I said, the performances are uniformly excellent and there isn't anything here that won't inspire you to check out more by this delightful composer. Go for it!

Look for similar items by category