Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools
Neumann;V-Sudfunk Sinfoni... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Neumann;V-Sudfunk Sinfonieorch [Import]

List Price: CDN$ 29.99
Price: CDN$ 5.92 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 24.07 (80%)
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 5.91 4 used from CDN$ 36.99

Today Only: Up to 69% Off "Clint Eastwood 40 Film Collection," "Hill Street Blues: The Complete Series," and More
Today's Deals in Movies & TV: See all Includes "Clint Eastwood 40 Film Collection," "Hill Street Blues: The Complete Series," "The Mel Brooks Collection," and More. Offer valid December 1, 2015, while supplies last. Learn more

Product Details

  • Format: Classical, Color, DVD-Video, NTSC, Import
  • Language: German
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • Region: All RegionsAll Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Arthaus Musik
  • Release Date: June 26 2007
  • Run Time: 99 minutes
  • ASIN: B000PA9NWG
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Vaclav Neumann - In Rehearsal

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
An Historical Document but Not For Everybody Aug. 11 2007
By J Scott Morrison - Published on
Václav Neumann was conductor of the Czech Philharmonic for about twenty-five years and made many significant recordings with that marvelous orchestra. Here he is conducting the Stuttgart Sudfunk-Sinfonieorchester, a good but not great orchestra at the time of these recordings (1968 for the Smetana, 1969 for the Beethoven). The primary interest in this DVD is Neumann's rehearsal technique. Neumann is a perfectionist who is able to maintain a congenial (and collegial) and yet firmly instructive attitude with his musicians as they rehearse these thrice-familiar works. He makes a real effort to breath new life into these pieces and particularly in the Bartered Bride overture seems able to do that.

The DVD consists of two parts: rehearsal and then performance (before an audience) of each of the two pieces, Beethoven 'Leonore No. 3 Overture' first and then the Smetana. Unfortunately these archival films are not in the best shape and although efforts to restore them have been made there is still difficulty with jerky black-and-white video at times and only marginally acceptable mono sound. The result, then, is that this DVD will be of value primarily for people who have a particular interest in the working methods of Neumann, and given the big reputation that he still has there may be a fair number of them. I honestly don't think the casual music-lover will find this DVD of much interest. For those who have only a moderate interest in rehearsal footage there are more modern and thus more aesthetically satisfying DVDs. For instance, there is a DVD in modern video and audio featuring rehearsals by Salonen, Gardiner, Gergiev, Boulez and Von Dohnanyi also available here at Amazon.

Sound: Mono; Dialog in German with Subtitles in English, French, Spanish; Running time: 99 minutes. Region code: 0

Scott Morrison