Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 8, 2002
I've played a few hundred golf courses in my life, probably a few thousand rounds. Not one round goes by that I don't wonder about golf course design or fantasize about being a golf course designer even though I know next to nothing about it. In this book, Jack does a great job of walking people like me through his thinking, his influences, his philosophy, how he actually creates the final product. He even shares his screw-ups which is I thought was pretty big of him.
If you're like me and you've ever fantasized about designing golf courses, get this book. It really brings you into the creative recesses of one of the great golf course designers of all time. The photos alone are worth the price, but Jack's thinking and his thoughtfulness form the core of this must-have book for all golfers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2003
One of what is becoming a library of works on golf course designs written by leading architects - fun thing here is that not only do you hear from Nicklaus the architect but also get more insight into Nicklaus the golfer (something not found in books by Trent Jones, Trent Jones II or Fazio in their books).
What is surprising are the sometimes very technical descriptions of drainage, irrigation and agriculture that you don't find in books of the other leading architects. As with the other books of this type on the market, lots of great pictures, lots of great stories and narratives about designing of particular courses and just generally interesting stuff about golf and golf courses.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2002
While some will argue whether Jack Nicklaus has been supplanted by Tiger Woods as the greatest golfer in history,there should be no debate about the place that Chris Millard occupies among golf writers. He is at the top of his game in this outstanding book with witty prose and masterly pacing. Mr. Millard's writing captivates the reader, be he or she a scratch golfer or duffer. At the same time, it provides keen insights into what made Jack Nicklaus a legend that will endure. The book plays like a championship Nicklaus course, but with no bunkers or water hazards to divert the reader from the round of his/her life. Simply put: it's outstanding.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2003
This book is a masterpiece. It is very rich in its contents. It is not only interesting and historic but explains the creativity of design and the thought process that goes into designing a great golf course. Millard, Nicklaus, and Dye who could come up with better names in the Golf World. Millard in his beautiful wit and writing, Nicklaus in his play and design and Dye with his creativity. A must read for anyone who has played the game of golf. The photography and pictures are beautiful. Read,relax, and enjoy this wonderful book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2002
Of all the books I have read by Jack Nicklaus, this is the most accessible. Who would have thought that the subject of golf course design could evoke such excellent writing and superb description. Nicklaus has finally teamed with a writer to match the caliber of his own golfing and design ability.
I only wish that Nicklaus -- or his Boswell, Millard -- would have taken the time to compare Nicklaus's style to the classic links-style courses such as Saint Andrew's and Fenwick.
A great write and a great read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2002
Nicklaus is STILL the greatest golfer of all-time. How amazing that he's also one of the top two or three, perhaps the top designer period in golf course design.
Neat insights in here into the Bear's thinking. I'll never look at a golf hole quite the same way. Great pictures, great behind the scenes stories. Loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2002
I don't play much golf, but the book makes you want to get out on a golf course, with or without your sticks. The photos and writing are as clean and graceful as the courses themselves, and the book helps you understand the "why's" behind the design decisions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2002
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse