NO COLDER PLACE (Bill Smith/Lydia Chin novels Book 4) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading NO COLDER PLACE (Bill Smith/Lydia Chin novels Book 4) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

No Colder Place [Audio Cassette]

S. J. Rozan , Sky Vogel
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $5.00  
Hardcover --  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Audio, CD --  
Audio, Cassette, July 1998 --  

Book Description

July 1998 Chivers Sound Library American Collections
P.I. Bill Smith goes undercover on a Manhattan construction site plagued by a series of thefts and misfortunes. With his sometimes-partner Lydia Chin, Smith finds himself in the midst of a much more serious case--one of fraud and murder that could reach into the deepest and most secret levels of the underworld.
--This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Product Details


Product Description

From Amazon

S. J. Rozan is a New York architect who knows how to design a fine mystery novel: by doing her homework, using the best quality materials, and keeping the surprises coming until the very end. In her fourth book about unlikely detective partners Lydia Chin and Bill Smith, Rozan plants Smith high up in the clouds, laying brick on a troubled building site while Chin gets a job as a secretary in the construction bosses' trailer. Both see plenty of action, as what at first appears to be a simple case of a few crooked construction workers becomes a much more complicated story of twisted family relationships. Previous Chin/Smith outings available in paperback include Mandarin Plaid, China Trade, and Concourse. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Kirkus Reviews

It's a lucky thing for p.i. Bill Smith that he's got construction experience; it's a perfect cover for him to get close to masonry foreman Joe Romeo--who's suspected of bookmaking, mob connections, and a lot worse--at the same time that he's keeping an eye on the suspicious series of accidents at the new 40-story apartment building that's rising at Broadway and 99th. In no time at all Bill's succeeded in persuading his partner, Mike DiMaio, that he isn't much of a mason, and he's placed his first off-track bet with Romeo. But don't count on his collecting very soon, since Romeo promptly joins missing crane operator Lenny Pelligrini and mortar mixer Reg Phillips as the latest casualty of the Armstrong building. At the same time that Bill's turning up evidence linking the cycle of violence to Louie Falco (mobbed-up childhood friend of Chuck DeMattis, the colleague who hired Bill to go undercover), Bill's partner Lydia Chin, also undercover at the Armstrong site, overhears hints that implicate general contractors Dan Crowell Sr. and Dan Crowell Jr., and take-no-prisoners Denise Armstrong herself points the finger at employment-coalition agitator Chester Hamilton. Is there any builder or subcontractor or unaffiliated lowlife in New York who doesn't have a finger in the Armstrong pie? Despite the epidemic of corruption, Rozan's focus on the tragic Armstrong building makes this the sharpest, clearest, most purposefully focused of her four Smith/Chin mysteries (Mandarin Plaid, 1996, etc.). (Author tour) -- Copyright ©1997, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel.... July 10 2003
Format:Audio Cassette
I want to preface my review of "No Colder Place" by stating that this is the FIRST book I've read in the series, and that I quite enjoyed it, even though, at times, I felt.... That the book had some flaws.
Bill Smith (yes, this is his real name), is a Private Investigator, hired to help a friend with a problem at a construction site with employee theft. Bill and his Chinese-American Partner Lydia (no readers we cannot forget that Lydia is Chinese, this is mentioned at least a half a dozen times), go on the job to investigate.
Employee theft, is just the tip of the iceberg, and as Bill and Lydia investigate, they uncover a sinister web of corruption and betrayal.
I really enjoyed the writing style of Ms. Rozan. Her female characters are especially well done. Bill on the other hand, seemed a bit.... Stereotypical. He has no love life, drinks, and smokes (his smoking is described again and again to the point of tedium), (PLEASE get this guy the patch), and just seems like every other tough-guy detective I've ever read... With one exception. Even though he's tough, he seems a tad.... Feminized. This isn't a bad thing, it just seems strange. Also, I couldn't understand why Bill was so reticent to admit his feelings for Lydia. It just seemed odd.
Overall, a great story. Well worth the read. I'm going to keep my eyes peeled for more Rozan books.
Was this review helpful to you?
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
.

Chuck DiMathis asks fellow New York City private detective Bill Smith to take on a case that he was hired to solve, but has no time to work on. Crowell Construction is losing a vast load of supplies and equipment at an alarming rate for pilferage. Even a front loader has been stolen. A twenty-two years old construction worker has also vanished without a trace. Bill accepts the job and goes undercover, working as a brick mason at the company's current construction site. His sometimes partner Lydia Chin works in the front office as a secretary trying to learn what she can from an management/administration level.

The investigation turns ugly when the murdered corpse of the missing worker is found inside an elevator shaft. Soon after that the lead suspect takes a swan dive off the building during a contrived, well designed "rio
t". Lydia and Bill realize that someone has set them up as pawns in a chess game. Knowing that they are being maneuvered by a grandmaster does not stop the duo from trying to insure that justice occurs even though their
actions take them to places that put Bill and Lydia in grave danger.

NO COLDER PLACE is a hard boiled crime novel in the tradition of
McBain and McDermid. The term Black Noir was coined with a story like
this in mind. The tone of the novel is gritty and bleak as it reflects
the dark s ide of human nature. The only hope for Bill's redemption lies with
Lydia, a fact that the intrepid private investigator realizes but is
unable to act upon because he cannot shake his social lethargy. This
novel would make a great movie in the tradition of Marlow (THE BIG SLEEP or FAREWELL, MY LOVELY).

Harriet Klausner
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book in a good series Dec 28 1999
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This is the fourth Rozan novel I have read (I am reading them in order) and it was very enjoyable. Rozan may not write truly excellent novels (five stars), but she consistently writes very good ones (four stars). This book would rate five stars if it wasn't for a few minor flaws. For example, after a worker is injured, Smith is the only one out of a large crowd of contruction workers who has the sense to apply basic first aid. That seemed a little unbelievable to me. Also, there is a final revelation at the end of the book that I thought would be something major but it wasn't, really. That is nitpicking, however. Bill and Lydia are very entertaining, as always. The other characters are interesting and well-developed, the plot is complex and believable and the dialogue is well-done. In my opinion, Rozan is definitely one of the best mystery writers in the business today.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Gratifying Read Jan. 12 2000
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
I've finally looped back and read No Colder Place, the only one of S J Rozan's books that I had managed to miss. I was not disappointed . I think what I enjoy so much about this author's work is the perspective that a major female author is once again bringing to the Mystery/Detective genre. Rozan brings a woman's interest in the nuances of interpersonal dynamics, and in No Colder Place, she combines that with her knowledge as an actual working architect. Not every author could get me thoroughly engaged in a murder mystery surrounding a construction site. But this one can - in fact, she actually put me in the gratifying position of feeling knowledgeable about what was happening in and around the construction site. And as always, Bill and Lydia are a wonderfully unique and complex pair of sleuths. I can't help myself - I LIKE these guys!
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of S. J. Rozan ... so far April 28 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
No Colder Place was my introduction to S. J. Rozan's books (I have subsequently read all of her work), and it's a breathtakingly fine piece of writing. Of her two leading series characters, Bill is, by far, my favorite. This talented, clever, brooding, somewhat lovelorn man is a superb creation. Bill lives; he breathes audibly. When he sits down to his piano to learn a piece of music, you can almost hear the melancholy classical notes pouring into the atmosphere.
In this book, his undercover role as a bricklayer is so real that you can almost feel the ache in his spine and the soreness of his hands. It remains, to date, my favorite of Rozan's books. It has my highest recommendation. This is an author at top form, doing what she does best--giving us the wonderful Bill, deep in his element.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most recent customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to the customer reviews, I'm now a fan!
I had never heard of Rozan before and had chosen this one based on the customer reviews...I was certainly not disappointed! Read more
Published on June 16 2000 by "samchris"
1.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
I read a lot of detective and action/adventure novels, and I bought this one based on Amazon's recommendation. Read more
Published on Jan. 16 2000 by Martin
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Dennis Lehane!
I picked up this book because I heard Dennis Lehane raving about Rozan's writing in an interview. He was right! Atmospheric, almost poetic images -- of a construction site! Read more
Published on Nov. 4 1999
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry I waited!
I didn't bother with this book, although it won the Anthony for Best Novel, because I'm not a construction worker or a New Yorker. Read more
Published on Oct. 31 1999
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture of city life
A Bill Smith (as opposed to Lydia Chin) book. I just loved the insider's view of the construction world. Read more
Published on Oct. 29 1999
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish (zero stars)
I bought this book based on some favourable on-line reviews but I didn't get past the first chapter. Read more
Published on July 22 1999
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time reading this sad excuse for a thriller
What a waste of time. The author has no conception of writing thrillers. I guess she never heard of Michael Connolly or James Lee Burke who write fine prose, intricate plots and... Read more
Published on Feb. 25 1999
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!
This is the fourth in the Lydia Chin/Bill Smith series and I liked it as much as the first three. I like the way Rozan switches the point of view of each book, the first from... Read more
Published on Nov. 20 1997
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback