Not Your Mother's Weeknight Cooking: Quick and Easy Whole... and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Not Your Mother's Weeknight Cooking on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Not Your Mother's (R) Weeknight Cooking: Quick and Easy Wholesome Homemade Dinners [Large Print] [Paperback]

Beth Hensperger

List Price: CDN$ 39.70
Price: CDN$ 38.30 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: CDN$ 1.40 (4%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $9.99  
Hardcover CDN $18.87  
Paperback CDN $11.64  
Paperback, Large Print, Feb. 5 2010 CDN $38.30  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Feb. 5 2010
Weeknight dinners that rock! No disrespect to Mom, award-winning author Beth Hensperger has gone her one better with this collection of fast, wholesome, tasty weeknight meals that updates the classics and offers dozens of new classics-in-the-making. From Chicken Pot Pie to Spicy Chicken with Cilantro and Mushrooms, from Horseradish Meatloaf to Lamb Curry with Apples and Apricots, from Scampi to Fabulous Fish Tacos, Not Your Mother's Weeknight Cooking makes it easy to prepare and enjoy delicious food any night of the week. Everyone's raving about the Not Your Mother's series

Frequently Bought Together

Customers buy this book with Not Your Mother's Casseroles CDN$ 13.83

Not Your Mother's (R) Weeknight Cooking: Quick and Easy Wholesome Homemade Dinners + Not Your Mother's Casseroles
Price For Both: CDN$ 52.13

One of these items ships sooner than the other. Show details

  • This item: Not Your Mother's (R) Weeknight Cooking: Quick and Easy Wholesome Homemade Dinners

    Usually ships within 3 to 5 weeks.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping. Details

  • Not Your Mother's Casseroles

    Usually ships within 2 to 3 weeks.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Paperback: 554 pages
  • Publisher: ReadHowYouWant; Large Print 16 pt edition (Feb. 5 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1458765652
  • ISBN-13: 978-1458765659
  • Product Dimensions: 2.8 x 25 x 17.5 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 Kg
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,945,382 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"A moving story about true love and haunting grief." --Adriana Trigiani, author of Big Stone Gap

"A love of the handicraft in question is not a prerequisite for appreciating [Knitting] . . . The finished product has a subtle beauty." The Washington Post

"Compelling . . . There is a lot in this book for anyone who ponders the big questions of life: the nature of friendship, the need for meaningful work, the comfort of sharing grief." Bookpage

"A quiet, literary book exploring grace, loss, suffering, community, and forgiveness." --Christianity Today

"What could be better than a good story about knitting? Anne Bartlett's Knitting fits the bill." --Creative Knitting

"Well-crafted . . . thoughtful and genuine." --Australian Book Review

"A beautiful novel that is, at its heart, about forgiveness." --Book Sense Notables

"The believable, well-constructed dialogue captures the tension and tenderness of friendship. And the words the characters don't share with each other electrify the scenes." -Sydney Morning Herald

"A sweetly winning tale." --Kirkus Reviews Kirkus Reviews

"An enthralling story about the healing power of friendship." Library Journal

"I loved Knitting. It's simply magnificent. The relationships are beautifully, delicately offered and the story is as reaffirming as anything I've read in years." --Terry Kay, author of To Dance with the White Dog

"Reading Knitting is an experience as sensual and mystical as plunging your hands into skeins of wool and color . . . A joyful narrative of creating and connecting." --Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab's Wife

"A wonderful tale . . . both beautiful and deeply satisfying." --Connie May Fowler, author of Before Women Had Wings

"In the tradition of Anita Brookner and Barbara Pym, Anne Bartlett has written a sly, stirring look at women's lives." --Meg Wolitzer, author of The Wife
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Beth Hensperger, a New Jersey native who has lived in California since her teens, has been educating, writing, and demo-lecturing about the art of baking for over 30 years. In the last few years, she has shifted focus to countertop appliance-driven cookbooks that embrace adapting traditional and professional recipes for the home cook: the bread machine, the rice cooker, the microwave, and a four-volume compilation specifically for use with the electric slow cooker, stressing personal creativity in preparation and selection of ingredients. Hensperger is the author of over 22 cookbooks, including the best-selling Not Your Mother's Slow Cooker Cookbook series, which includes NYMSC Recipes for Entertaining, NYMSC Family Favorites, and NYMSC Recipes for Two, along with the blockbuster first volume, Not Your Mother's Slow Cooker Cookbook. Her other books include highly-acclaimed titles such as The Bread Lover's Bread Machine Cookbook, The Ultimate Rice Cooker Cookbook, NYM Microwave Cookbook, and NYM Weeknight Cooking. She is also the author of The Bread Bible (Chronicle Books), winner of a James Beard Award in 2000. She has twice been nominated for the Julia Child/IACP Cookbook Award. Hensperger wrote a San José Mercury News food column for twelve years, “Baking with the Seasons.” She is a contributor to dozens of national and online cooking & lifestyle magazines, such as Food & Wine, Rachael Ray Magazine, Veggie Life, Cooking Light, Working Woman, Victoria, Prevention, and Family Circle, and is a sought after newspaper and radio interviewee speaking on slow cooking, bread baking, and entertaining. She lives in the San Francisco Bay area. Visit her website at www.bethhensperger.com and blog at www.notyourmotherscookbook.com.
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  17 reviews
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, Healthy, Delicious! April 16 2009
By Avid reader - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Many cookbooks promise "quick, healthy, and delicious" recipes, but few deliver. This one does! Henspserger is well-known for her reliable and innovative books on crockpot cooking. She has another winner with this book on weeknight cooking.

You'll find streamlined recipes for family favorites: Chicken Noodle Soup, Chicken Parmesan, Shrimp Scampi, Baked Crab Cakes, Flank Steak Beef Broccoli, Salisbury Steak with Garlic Mashed Potatoes, and many more. For the adventurous, there are recipes with exotic names that are actually easy to prepare - Chinese Spaghetti with Pork Sauce, Paillards of Chicken with Sauteed Cherry Tomatoes (a favorite at our house), Lobster and Asparagus Benedict, Duck Breast Salad. I like the balance in the book between the familiar and the unexpected.

With few exceptions, ingredient lists are short, the emphasis is on fresh foods, and ingredients could be found in a typical grocery. I loved the special sections on helpful topics, such as "About Vinegars", "Tips for Great Pizza", and "Steamed Seasonal Vegetables", to name a few.

I buy a lot of cookbooks. Most are good for a quick read and for trying a few recipes that stand out. This one is different. I expect to be using it for many years.

To begin, try the Olive Oil Cornbread and the Sour Cream Cornbread with Cheddar and Corn Kernals - both are outstanding!
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weeknight Variety With Ease Nov. 3 2008
By Rita Marbury - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Coming up with tantalizing meals that are nutritionally sound night after night after night is difficult at best, and Beth Hensperger is an expert at making it easy and fun to treat your family on any ordinary Wednesday night (or Tuesday, or Thursday, or even (shudder) Monday. Hensperger's latest offering is Not Your Mother's Weeknight Cooking, and if she were my mother, I would never have left home. For instance, Beth's Mexican Chicken with Beer Glaze and Sweet Potato Fries whips up in about an hour, and is deliciously spicy, using a spice blend that Jacquie McMahan shared with Beth. I love that Beth gives credit where credit is due as well. If you have ever moaned, "I don't know what to fix tonight," buy this book. It will help a great deal.
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home-cooked meals need not be the exclusive province of stay-at-home moms Oct. 9 2008
By Midwest Book Review - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Home-cooked meals need not be the exclusive province of stay-at-home moms. Not when there is Beth Hensperger's "Not Your Mother's Weeknight Cooking", an outstanding collection of 150 easy, nutritious, delicious dishes that are stress-free preparations of contemporary recipes for dinner dishes that are 45 minutes or less in preparation. Enhanced with a four-color insert showcasing finished dishes, the recipes range from Herb-Coated Tilapia; Spicy Chicken with Cilantro and Mushrooms; Scallops of Pork with Raisins and Sherry Vinegar; and Pan-Sauteed Lamb Chops with Blackberry Sauce; to Ravioli with Mushrooms and Sweet Peas; Peggy's Chipotle Sweet Potato Soup; Double Tomato Baby Lentil Salad with Olives; and Gold Beef Burgers with Cold Pea Salad. Each recipe features the Cooking Method, Prep Time; and Cook Time. The itemized ingredients list and the step-by-step cooking instructions make each recipe thoroughly 'kitchen cook friendly'. Palate pleasing and appetite satisfying, "Not Your Mother's Weeknight Cooking" is especially recommended for time-constrained working women (and men!) wanting to enjoy meals that are several cuts above dumping something out of a can or popping something into a microwave.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me feel gourmet! Oct. 18 2009
By Amanda C. Mcginley - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
So far I have enjoyed all the recipes I have tried. The herb coated tilapia, shrimp provencal, and the black bean soup are just a few that I have loved so far. I do not consider myself very proficient in the kitchen. I need a recipe to make anything good. With this cookbook I feel like I'm eating a gourmet meal even though it was so easy to make. I also have her slow cooker cookbook and have enjoyed that too!
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy with a touch of gourmet May 17 2009
By IDF - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Skimmed the book and tagged many interesting recipes. Tried one egg dish and it was good. Recipes are clear concise and to the point.

Look for similar items by category


Feedback