Start reading Nudge on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
 
See larger image
 

Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness [Kindle Edition]

Richard H. Thaler , Cass R. Sunstein
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 19.00
Kindle Price: CDN$ 14.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 4.01 (21%)
Sold by: Penguin Group USA
This price was set by the publisher

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Paperback CDN $13.72  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

"Fundamentally changes the way I think about the world. . . . Academics aren't supposed to be able to write this well." —Steven Levitt, co-author of Freakonomics

"[An] utterly brilliant book. . . . Nudge won't nudge you-it will knock you off your feet." —Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness

"Nudge is as important a book as any I've read in perhaps twenty years. It is a book that people interested in any aspect of public policy should read. It is a book that people interested in politics should read. It is a book that people interested in ideas about human freedom should read. It is a book that people interested in promoting human welfare should read. If you're not interested in any of these topics, you can read something else." —Barry Schwartz, The American Prospect

"This book is terrific. It will change the way you think, not only about the world around you and some of its bigger problems, but also about yourself." —Michael Lewis, author of Moneyball

Product Description

For fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions



More than 750,000 copies sold



A New York Times bestseller

An Economist Best Book of the Year

A Financial Times Best Book of the Year




Nudge is about choices—how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make—ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources—and show us how sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining—a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

Product Details


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Fascinating Nov. 27 2009
By Morris
Format:Paperback
I loved this book! I have a business background but I now work extensively in the area of health promotion. I found the information in the book really practical and helpful. There were all kinds of excellent ideas about things organizations and people can do to (subtly) influence their employees/family/friends to make better decisions, whether we want them to choose healthy food choices in the company cafeteria or make sound and sensible decisions with their retirement savings. For example, you can encourage a parent to have an operation by saying: "there is a 90% chance you will have a full recovery". If you don't want them to have it, just tell them: "there is a 10% chance you'll die".

I have receommended this book to several others; I also dug up an earlier book from Cass Sunstein (the co-author) called "Why Society Needs Dissent" which I stongly recommend also.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Efficient June 3 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The principles described in this book are useful in the modern context to achieve efficient and efficacious results in public management.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Solutions June 7 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One reasons that hardware stores are my favourite stores is that I get to view hundreds of solutions to common problems. I enjoy simply wandering down the isles, marvelling at the genius on display. Nudge offers a similar collection of genius.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category